DAC with analog inputs
Oct 29, 2008 at 8:50 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 33

Toadfart

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Posts
3
Likes
0
I was about to order a Zero DAC with OPA627 upgrade but realized I have a SACD player as a source. So I have a special requirement for my future DAC purchase. It needs to have an analog input, as the DSD signal from the SACD can not be sent via digital. I remember seeing a DAC that featured an analog input, but can't remember which it was. Here is my list of equipment.

Little Dot MKiii
AKG K701

Thanks in advance.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 9:05 AM Post #3 of 33

StanleyB1

Banned - Shares IP addresses with DC Lee Herandu
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Posts
265
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by QQQ /img/forum/go_quote.gif
It's makes no sense for DAC to have analog INPUTS.


Not entirely true. It depends on what the DAC manufacturer does with the analog signal from the inputs.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 9:19 AM Post #4 of 33

xenithon

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 17, 2005
Posts
3,598
Likes
1,778
I tend to agree with QQQ. A standalone DAC would not have analog inputs. It may, however, have analog inputs if
a) it is also a headphone amp, e.g., Grace m902, Meier Opera/Symphony
b) it is also a preamp, e.g., Benchmark DAC-1 Pre
c) it is an ADC, e.g., Apogee Rosetta, Lavry Blue
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 9:45 AM Post #5 of 33

poo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Posts
1,133
Likes
15
I guess something like the Benchmark DAC1 PRE might fall into the 'analog input' category you mention, though as others have mentioned your description seems a little misleading.

Can you better explain the feature you are after so we can help you?
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 9:53 AM Post #6 of 33

xenithon

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 17, 2005
Posts
3,598
Likes
1,778
Essentially I think he needs a DAC which can convert digital signals to feed the Little Dot MKiii, and also needs a way to get analog from the SACD player to the LD (e.g., if the amp only has a single set of inputs).

In my opinion, I would not look strictly for a DAC which also has analog inputs (generally what you are looking for is a combination DAC / pre-amp). I would rather look at keeping your DAC and getting a source selector such as that from Mapletree Audio. Also, if you wish to upgrade DAC's, you are limited to (the very small group) of DAC/pre combos.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 2:40 PM Post #8 of 33

Pars

Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Posts
4,127
Likes
54
Quote:

Originally Posted by QQQ /img/forum/go_quote.gif
What can DAC do with analog input signal?


It would have to have an A/D to digitize it, then D/A back to analog... makes no sense at all. Otherwise, all it could do was pass it through as analog? If what he is trying to do is take the SACD to an amp that only has one set of inputs, then a switchbox is probably more what he needs.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 4:16 PM Post #9 of 33

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
I am with QQQ as well.
It makes no sense having analog inputs on an external DAC. Cause if it did, then first of all it would not be a DAC. Second of all, if it for some strange reason had, then the sound signal would go like this.

Digital (SACD) -> Analog -> Digital -> Analog -> Amplifier -> Headphone/speakers

All these conversions between Digital/Analog can't be good for the sound quality.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 4:35 PM Post #10 of 33

silverrain

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
2,249
Likes
13
I think the OP just needs to know of a DAC that also has the capability of accepting a "pass-through" analog input, so it can be connected to the HP amp.
Or, the OP can sell the existing amp, and get one with a built-in DAC, with an input-selector switch.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 4:56 PM Post #11 of 33

xnothingpoetic

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Posts
2,343
Likes
15
I read the title and just lol'ed
biggrin.gif
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 5:09 PM Post #12 of 33

Toadfart

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Posts
3
Likes
0
It's obvious that sending an analog input to a DAC would not accomplish anything. Maybe I needed to rephrase and state that I need a DAC with multi analog selection capability so that I do not have to swap cables to my amp when I want to listen to SACDs.

Some of you were smart enough to catch it, some of are not so smart.
tongue.gif
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 5:19 PM Post #13 of 33

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toadfart /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Some of you were smart enough to catch it, some of are not so smart.
tongue.gif



...or perhaps the OP (
wink.gif
) were not smart enough to formulate a sentence that made complete sense to all of us?
wink.gif
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 7:01 PM Post #14 of 33

HeadphoneAddict

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Posts
17,425
Likes
791
Quote:

Originally Posted by QQQ /img/forum/go_quote.gif
It's makes no sense for DAC to have analog INPUTS.


It does if you are using it as a pre-amp, like the DAC1 Pre.
 
Oct 29, 2008 at 7:15 PM Post #15 of 33

Sherwood

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Posts
4,026
Likes
100
Location
Chisinau, Moldova
A few questions that might help get you the most for the least:

1) Do you plan on ever using anything other than the SACD player as a source? If not, just get a good SACD player and use analog exclusively.

2) What's your price range? Since you were looking at the Zero, I'm going to guess less than $250. For that price you're likely better off with just the SACD player's analog outs.

3) If you still insist on getting a DAC, what do you want out of it? More bass, cleaner treble, more blinky lights, less money?

There are a bunch of options, though most of them are a little pricy. The only cheap one that comes to mind is the E-MU 0404 USB. It has two Microphone inputs which can effectively be used as stereo inputs with RCA-TS converter plugs. I use this exact method (well, almost) for needledrops and get very good performance.

The E-MU goes for about $200 new.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top