Custom fit for existing earbuds vs. new custom buds
Apr 12, 2011 at 4:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

Jazzun

New Head-Fier
Hello, everyone! I am new to this web site, and I'm happy to find a site with so many experienced audiophiles.  I currently have a 5-year old pair of Ultimate Ears Super-fi 5 earbuds.  I've been very happy with the sound, but the fit has always been a problem.  I am considering an upgrade to custom-fit earbuds, and I have a question for the community here.

Should I use a company like EarSound Customs or AverySounds and have my UE Super-fi put into a mold, or go with a newer pair like Entymotic H5? 

I like the low-cost solution of getting molds for the UEs.  They are good earbuds with great sound, and I would expect to have even more clarity with all of the ambient noise isolated.

But I'd hate to spend the $150+ only to find that the sound has been affected or, worse, have the phones die and leave me with a useless mold.

Has anyone used a good service provider to make a mold for an existing pair of earphones?

Apr 18, 2011 at 3:01 PM Post #2 of 5
OK, I guess I'm on my own here.  If I asked a question that was already covered elsewhere, my apologies.  There is a lot of information on this site, and I was just trying to find some opinions on whether custom earpieces for an existing earbud set were anywhere near as good as a custom-designed set like Ultimate Ears custom fit or JH.  I'm sure that the custom designed buds are superior, but also come with a big cost.

I decided to go with the Westone AC2.  I get the earmolds made this week, and the new phones should arrive a few weeks after that.  I'll post my impressions once they come in (although I wonder if anyone wants to read from a newbie, based on the no-reply track record).

Apr 19, 2011 at 12:42 AM Post #3 of 5