Curse you head-fi....considering DAC options
Apr 10, 2010 at 5:00 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

mookowz13

100+ Head-Fier
Just when I think I'm done upgrading you guys pull me back in...I managed to fly home and listen to my home setup last weekend which, as nice as it was, seemed a little lacking despite the fact that I've been running portable for the last 3 months.

Here are my current options:

Option 1: Amp is fine, upgrade the DAC
Option 2: DAC is fine, upgrade the amp
Option 3: Run away, quickly, nothing is wrong with my system, RIGHT?!

I'm starting a new job in May so I'm actually not too concerned with option 3 at the moment (the family and g/f may think otherwise...) and I'm leaning towards Option 1 since I think my headfive is pretty good compared to the limited selection of amps I've heard (Compass, Little Dot MkV) and I know the Silverstone EB01 outputs a little quiet.

Now here's my dilemma, what the heck should I get? I listen mostly at the computer so USB only isn't a problem, but having different inputs is nice if I do want to move it around to other systems. My budget is probably about $300-400 including shipping and it looks like my best bet will be shopping on ebay.

-Keces HA-151
-Valab NOS DAC
-Yulong DAH1
-Musiland MD10
-Little Dot DAC MkII

I've read a fair amount on the Keces and Valab so I'm not as concerned with those, I'm just wondering if anyone has any input on the other 3 or any other possible options I might have.

Thanks guys, and my wallet hates you.

Apr 10, 2010 at 5:13 AM Post #3 of 7
You might want to look into Pico as well. Despite it's size, it measures quite well against full size DACs.

Apr 10, 2010 at 5:19 AM Post #4 of 7
Thanks I'll have to look into the V-DAC as well.