Comply foam tips help (needed)
Feb 15, 2011 at 8:51 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

d3fu5i0n

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

Firstly, yes I'm new to Head-Fi, but anyway, my question:

So my UE TripleFi 10's that I ordered have arrived from the states to the UK (will only get them for my b-day though 
razz.png
)

Now, I've looked to check that everything has arrived correctly, and I did think you were supposed to get one set of comply's as standard, however I got two (grey ones of course though).

Now when I need to change them later on [as long as I like comply's], should I look to get the T-500s or the TX-500s?

I know the difference is the ear-wax guard/filter, but I've heard that sound production and throughput can be hampered by the filter. Can it?
I'm mainly confused as the Comply website calls the T-500s "Personal Audio" and the TX-500s "Audiophile". I really don't understand, and if anything, I'd expect it to be the other way around. I'm guessing it's just marketing as the TXs are more expensive.

Hope you guys can give me some guidance on this.

Feb 15, 2011 at 10:05 PM Post #2 of 9
Hello d3fu5iOn,

I recieved my triple.fi 10's a couple of weeks ago (Secondhand, no Comply's supplied).
I ordered T-500's and recieved them last night.
They sounded terrible. Its like they absorb the sound of the lows, mids and highs.
I suspected that as they have quite a bit of extra foam after the end of the triple.fi nozzle, that this may be absobing a lot of the sound.
This morning I trimmed off the extra foam, and the turned the tips around and put them on backwards ( With the tips on backwards the foam finishes perfectly flush with the nozzle.

Result - Slightly less comfortable, but the sound is now back to exactly what the sounded like with the silicons. In a word PERFECT. 

Sorry, but have had no experience with the TX-500's, couldn't find them in Aus.

Feb 15, 2011 at 10:19 PM Post #3 of 9