Cigars
Dec 18, 2004 at 11:33 PM Post #3 of 39
Quote:

Originally Posted by hongda
Any cigar smokers out there? I'm looking for some recommendations. I'm just beginning. Tips on cutting, lighting?

Quit.

BW

Dec 18, 2004 at 11:40 PM Post #4 of 39
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bill Ward
Quit.

BW

rolleyes.gif

If he wants to do this to himself, let him. It's not illegal.
rolleyes.gif

Dec 18, 2004 at 11:54 PM Post #5 of 39
I enjoy both cigars and pipes

being in Canada, it's easier to find a Cuban cigar than a dominican
being said
the Cuban cigar companies are the authentic names, and have the origional trademark logo's and bands (unlike the dominican who is owned by a large swedish monopoly (pardon my ignornace but I forgot the name)

I prefer:
Montecristo, Romeo Y Julieta, H uppman, and Cohiba
from the cuban line
With the Romeo Y Julieta I prefer a corona size, the Montecristo the No4, if I'm smoking a Cohiba (which is quite a treat) I'll puff on a torpedo or a churchill size

ironically however, due to the lack of quality control, you can find a wide range of flavors between exactly the same cigar
It is not uncommon with Cubans, where as the domnicans who generally use a hybrid cuban seed and have better cured wrappers, usually are more consistant

relative to them all, the cubans do have more spicey flavor

Honduran Cigars are generally stronger (higher in nicoteen) so if you aren't a smoker, you will probably get dizy, usually a good Honduran is a Don Thomas

I like nicuraguan cigars, as they produce a couple good maduro's (of which I prefer)
Maduro's are the darker more chocolate looking cigars, they generally have a smoother and sweeter taste
I buy the Thomas Hindas torpedo's maduro's as they are a good value and a great smoke

oh, yah humidor's are important, get one relative to the size you want
don't buy a huge 300 cigar box and spend like a grand on it if you don't need
however a larger box is easier to maintain the humidity and temperature