Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-15481668
Post #39,901 of 40,046

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,366
Reaction score
2,427
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,366
Likes
2,427
And if i wanna use the coax or toslink input and not the usb input?

Seems like this one is the right no? https://www.dysonaudio.com/collecti...hord-mojo-75-ohm-digital-jumper-trrs-ts-3-5mm
There is more info in the FAQ in post #3
Here are the signal paths for an appropriate Co-Axial cable to connect Fiio X3ii and X5ii DAPs to Mojos Co-Axial digital input:


(pin-out identities based upon these: www.head-fi.org/t/784602/14985#post_12467535 )

IMPORTANT: James (CEO of Fiio) has privately confirmed to me that the above diagram is definitely correct for X3ii, X5ii, and X7


Alternatively, if you wish to use a stereo TRS plug at the Mojo end (instead of the mono TS plug in the above picture, which is really all that is required), then the pin connections would be as follows:


(pin-out identities based upon this: www.head-fi.org/t/784602/18675#post_12651727)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Deolum
post-15481751
Post #39,902 of 40,046

Deolum

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
14
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Location
Germany
Posts
78
Likes
14
There is more info in the FAQ in post #3
Here are the signal paths for an appropriate Co-Axial cable to connect Fiio X3ii and X5ii DAPs to Mojos Co-Axial digital input:


(pin-out identities based upon these: www.head-fi.org/t/784602/14985#post_12467535 )

IMPORTANT: James (CEO of Fiio) has privately confirmed to me that the above diagram is definitely correct for X3ii, X5ii, and X7


Alternatively, if you wish to use a stereo TRS plug at the Mojo end (instead of the mono TS plug in the above picture, which is really all that is required), then the pin connections would be as follows:


(pin-out identities based upon this: www.head-fi.org/t/784602/18675#post_12651727)
Thanks. So the cable i linked should work right?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15481769
Post #39,903 of 40,046

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,366
Reaction score
2,427
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,366
Likes
2,427
Thanks. So the cable i linked should work right?
I use optical instead of coaxial, so have no experience using the cables.
However the manufacturer advertises them as suitable, and they are better placed than me.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Deolum
post-15481808
Post #39,904 of 40,046

Deolum

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
14
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Location
Germany
Posts
78
Likes
14
I use optical instead of coaxial, so have no experience using the cables.
However the manufacturer advertises them as suitable, and they are better placed than me.
Can you link me a fitting optical for Fiio to Mojo too?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15483118
Post #39,906 of 40,046

Noelito3

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Location
Spain
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Location
Spain
Posts
4
Likes
1
Hello. I have the Ibasso IT01 iems and I am thinking of buying the Mojo Chord. Is it worth it or with my iems I will not be able to get the most out of Mojo? Should I save to buy some better iems? Will Dragonfly Black be enough? Thank you.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: surfgeorge
post-15483289
Post #39,907 of 40,046

joshnor713

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
1,020
Reaction score
510
Location
Seattle Area
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Location
Seattle Area
Posts
1,020
Likes
510
Hello. I have the Ibasso IT01 iems and I am thinking of buying the Mojo Chord. Is it worth it or with my iems I will not be able to get the most out of Mojo? Should I save to buy some better iems? Will Dragonfly Black be enough? Thank you.
Upgrading headphones gives you more sound quality improvement than sources (unless your source is absolute crap). To me, it doesn't make sense having $70 IEMs and a $400-$500 dac/amp. Your IEMs will sound better but the dac/amp won't magically turn them into high-end IEMs.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15484207
Post #39,908 of 40,046

Devodonaldson

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
471
Location
San Pedro, California
Joined
May 5, 2016
Location
San Pedro, California
Posts
1,035
Likes
471
Hello. I have the Ibasso IT01 iems and I am thinking of buying the Mojo Chord. Is it worth it or with my iems I will not be able to get the most out of Mojo? Should I save to buy some better iems? Will Dragonfly Black be enough? Thank you.
I disagree with the previous post. I have a dragonfly red and ifi xdsd and chord mojo. I've used with tfz no 3, kz as10, and CA Solaris. I hear a positive difference with each using the Mojo. The $80 as10 benefits from the Mojo over the XDSD. Smoother, more dynamic, just overall better sounding. Not all about price of iem or headphones
 
     Share This Post       
post-15484603
Post #39,909 of 40,046

maserluv

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
39
Reaction score
18
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Posts
39
Likes
18
Hey Guys,

As of now, I’m using the mojo via usb from my iMac. I’m not sure, but why does the Green Lit Button (192 I think) always sound better than the rest of the sampling rate regardless of YouTube, Spotify and online Radio listening?

Do you guys having the same experiences as mine?
Regards Wayne
 
     Share This Post       
post-15484817
Post #39,910 of 40,046

surfgeorge

Member of the Trade: 3D Printed Accessory Designer
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
1,235
Reaction score
979
Location
Austria
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Location
Austria
Posts
1,235
Likes
979
Hello. I have the Ibasso IT01 iems and I am thinking of buying the Mojo Chord. Is it worth it or with my iems I will not be able to get the most out of Mojo? Should I save to buy some better iems? Will Dragonfly Black be enough? Thank you.
Is it worth buying the Mojo for the IT01? Difficult...
I'd agree that if you have $500 you'll get the better overall sound if you buy a good $300 IEM and a $200 DAC
And I'd argue that this is better than buying a $500 IEM and listening from a phone.

But if you are planning to get other IEMs in the future and want to invest in a good source, then the Mojo is a great choice.
I bought it 2 years ago and have since bought headphones and IEMs, always knowing that the Mojo is getting the best out of them. And the price range of my IEMs is $200-$500 (used), so in the "moderate" price range...
Never looked back. Mojo was the best investment in on my journey
 
Last edited:
post-15488238
Post #39,911 of 40,046

RiseFall123

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
440
Reaction score
52
Location
Italy
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Location
Italy
Posts
440
Likes
52
I have a question for you who use Chord Mojo.

I actually use the Mojo for everything:

- Raspberry 4 Pi / RoPieee via USB (for headphones and for the 2ch hi-fi setup)
- TV via optical cable out for films and videogames (for the 2ch hi-fi setup)

So I don't have any "desktop" DAC right now, Mojo is the DAC for all my audio needs.

I wonder: it worth a try to start to look at a real "desktop" dac for my 2 channels hi-fi setup usage?

In the range of 1000 dollars/euros do you think I can really make a step-up in the SQ or I should stick to the Mojo... according to you?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-15488428
Post #39,912 of 40,046

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,366
Reaction score
2,427
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,366
Likes
2,427
I have a question for you who use Chord Mojo.

I actually use the Mojo for everything:

- Raspberry 4 Pi / RoPieee via USB (for headphones and for the 2ch hi-fi setup)
- TV via optical cable out for films and videogames (for the 2ch hi-fi setup)

So I don't have any "desktop" DAC right now, Mojo is the DAC for all my audio needs.

I wonder: it worth a try to start to look at a real "desktop" dac for my 2 channels hi-fi setup usage?

In the range of 1000 dollars/euros do you think I can really make a step-up in the SQ or I should stick to the Mojo... according to you?
If you are intending to keep your Mojo, then you could consider a second hand 2Qute or Qutest for your 2ch setup (owners do report a step up in audio quality because of the galvanic isolation of the usb input).
If instead you are considering selling your Mojo, and looking for a one-box solution for both headphone and 2ch setup, then I suggest keep your existing setup.
I use the Mojo and Hugo 2 interchangeably, depending on battery level and my mood, and enjoy them both. If you sold your Mojo, then I would suggest getting a Hugo 2, but that is well outside your budget.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-15488443
Post #39,913 of 40,046

kkrazik2008

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
80
Reaction score
53
Location
USA
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Location
USA
Posts
80
Likes
53
If you are intending to keep your Mojo, then you could consider a second hand 2Qute or Qutest for your 2ch setup (owners do report a step up in audio quality because of the galvanic isolation of the usb input).
If instead you are considering selling your Mojo, and looking for a one-box solution for both headphone and 2ch setup, then I suggest keep your existing setup.
I use the Mojo and Hugo 2 interchangeably, depending on battery level and my mood, and enjoy them both. If you sold your Mojo, then I would suggest getting a Hugo 2, but that is well outside your budget.
Hi, since you own both the Mojo and Hugo 2 I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind elaborating on what kind of upgrade one would be experiencing. I have the mojo, and have been eyeing the Hugo 2 for some time but can’t determine if the cost justifies it. With your experience with both, I am hoping you can give some better insight?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-15488451
Post #39,914 of 40,046

joshnor713

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
1,020
Reaction score
510
Location
Seattle Area
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Location
Seattle Area
Posts
1,020
Likes
510
Hi, since you own both the Mojo and Hugo 2 I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind elaborating on what kind of upgrade one would be experiencing. I have the mojo, and have been eyeing the Hugo 2 for some time but can’t determine if the cost justifies it. With your experience with both, I am hoping you can give some better insight?
I'm on the same boat. Have been curious about the Hugo 2 lately. I think the KSE1200 could resolve the extra detail. It's just $500 vs $2500 is asking a lot.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-15488465
Post #39,915 of 40,046

MrPanda

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
296
Reaction score
162
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
296
Likes
162
If you are intending to keep your Mojo, then you could consider a second hand 2Qute or Qutest for your 2ch setup (owners do report a step up in audio quality because of the galvanic isolation of the usb input).
If instead you are considering selling your Mojo, and looking for a one-box solution for both headphone and 2ch setup, then I suggest keep your existing setup.
I use the Mojo and Hugo 2 interchangeably, depending on battery level and my mood, and enjoy them both. If you sold your Mojo, then I would suggest getting a Hugo 2, but that is well outside your budget.
How much of an improvement do you consider the Hugo 2 over the Mojo? I know the question requires some subjectivity and metaphor... :)
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 13, Guests: 25)

Top