Chord Electronics Qutest DAC - Official Thread
Jan 9, 2018 at 2:16 PM Post #17 of 5,860

maxh22

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Posts
1,348
Likes
428
This DAC really is the Qutest little bugger Chord has produced.

It looks like a BluQute is the cheapest road to a million taps, now the question remains, with the stock (or upgraded PSU) will it make Dave's power supply refinements and componentry largely irrelevant in a two channel setup?
 
Jan 9, 2018 at 2:17 PM Post #18 of 5,860

dawktah2

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Posts
1,059
Likes
329
Location
Indiana
Where to buy in US?

"Qutest supports all major commercially available file formats up to 768kHz PCM and native DSD tracks to 512 (Octa-DSD)." :ksc75smile::ksc75smile::ksc75smile:
 
Last edited:
Jan 9, 2018 at 2:25 PM Post #19 of 5,860

AndrewOld

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Posts
918
Likes
783
This DAC really is the Qutest little bugger Chord has produced.

It looks like a BluQute is the cheapest road to a million taps, now the question remains, with the stock (or upgraded PSU) will it make Dave's power supply refinements and componentry largely irrelevant in a two channel setup?

The cheapest road to a million taps would be a stand alone M Scaler without a redundant cd mechanism and unnecessarily over engineered case. And a way of connecting it that didn’t involve two dozen ferrites. That would good engineering too.
 
Last edited:
Jan 9, 2018 at 3:02 PM Post #20 of 5,860

JWahl

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Posts
1,174
Likes
399
Location
Central Mississippi
Some of us already own UpTone Audio UltraCap LPS-1 and it's relatively easy to add an adapter for StarQuad DC power cables

However, it's very important to find out whether Qutest is consuming more than 5 watts or otherwise. LPS-1 is only good enough for 5.5 watts.

Regarding 2Qute, we're able to get away with two units of LPS-1 connected in parallel (7V + 5V = 12V) to provide up to 13.2 watts continuously. Actually the manual stated 0.5A @ 12V or 6 watts

https://chordelectronics.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/2Qute-User-Manual.pdf#page=4

I checked the site for the LPS-1 and it looks like it's limited to 1A of current. It seems that the Qutest needs 2A since it's running at the lower 5V.
 
Last edited:
Jan 9, 2018 at 3:06 PM Post #21 of 5,860

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
20,092
Likes
2,129
Jan 9, 2018 at 3:07 PM Post #22 of 5,860

dawktah2

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Posts
1,059
Likes
329
Location
Indiana
I'm guessing the "filter" button is what changes the output voltage, or maybe a more complex hold "input" then hit "filter...?"

EDIT: Just read Chord page, press both together.
 
Last edited:
Jan 9, 2018 at 4:01 PM Post #23 of 5,860

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,682
Likes
8,356
A 2A supply is shipped with qutest, but it will work fine with a 1A 5V supply.

To set the OP voltage you press the two buttons together when it's starting up - display in rainbow mode - then qutest will remain in that level. Pressing the buttons together will change the brightness of the display when in normal or working mode.
 
Jan 9, 2018 at 4:20 PM Post #24 of 5,860

dawktah2

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Posts
1,059
Likes
329
Location
Indiana
A 2A supply is shipped with qutest, but it will work fine with a 1A 5V supply.

To set the OP voltage you press the two buttons together when it's starting up - display in rainbow mode - then qutest will remain in that level. Pressing the buttons together will change the brightness of the display when in normal or working mode.

Thank you so much I am ready to buy as soon as its available in US!
 
Jan 9, 2018 at 7:59 PM Post #26 of 5,860

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
20,092
Likes
2,129
I really hope the US price will be matched to the UK!

Here's a nice wallpaper.

01-Chord-QUTEST.jpg
 
Jan 9, 2018 at 10:06 PM Post #27 of 5,860

dmance

Member of the Trade: AudioWise Inc
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Posts
492
Likes
498
Location
Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
i see that Qutest measures slightly differently than Hugo2

Hugo2 vs Qutest (from Chord website)
  • Channel separation: 135dB at 1kHz 300Ω vs 138dB at 1kHz 300ohms
  • Signal to noise ratio: 126dB ‘A’ Weighted vs 124dB A-Weighted
  • THD and noise at 3v RMS: 120dB at 1kHz 300ohms ‘A’ weighted (reference 5.3v) vs THD (2.5v RMS ref 3v): 117dB 300ohms A-Weighted
  • THD: <0.0001% 1kHz 3v RMS 300Ω vs 0.0001% 1kHz 2.5v RMS 300ohms

Id be interested to have @Rob Watts comments.
 
Last edited:
Jan 9, 2018 at 10:40 PM Post #29 of 5,860

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
20,092
Likes
2,129
Does Qutest support Blu MK2 M-scaler?

Yes. That's what the dual BNC inputs are for.

With this combo, you get all 1,015,808 taps, though the Qutest is obviously not as good as the DAVE.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top