Cheap commuting cans
Dec 4, 2012 at 6:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

elpsycongroo

New Head-Fier
I'm currently commuting by train to school every day for a couple of hours. Looking to grab some cheap ~100 dollar cans with decent sound isolation for listening to while travelling. I'm a musician and so I care more about sound quality than isolation, but obviously my headphones can't leak too much or I won't be able to hear a thing. I listen to everything from smooth jazz to electro/dubstep to classical, so I'm looking for a well-rounded pair of headphones with decent bass (although they don't need to be basshead-worthy by any means). I mostly listen from my laptop and phone. Currently all I have is a cheap pair of JVC HA-S600s.

Headphones I'm currently looking at (again, note the $100~ price range):
KRK KNS-6400
Shure SRH 440
Fischer FA-003
Fostex T50RP
AT M50s

Any suggestions? :)

Jan 18, 2013 at 8:44 AM Post #2 of 15
well the fischer´s/HM5 seal off real good and have been said to be a poor mans HD600. but if you´re in a rural region people might look at you funny with these cans on your head. i´m just burning my HM5 in, but can say that vocals really shine here. they´re also good to drive with portable equipment.
the T50RP are hearable if you sit next to someone listening with them and i think they`re harder to drive with any portable equipment.
i just ordered a HD650 so am eager to compare to my modded T50RP.

Jan 18, 2013 at 9:32 AM Post #3 of 15
Quote:
Headphones I'm currently looking at (again, note the $100~ price range):
KRK KNS-6400
Shure SRH 440
Fischer FA-003
Fostex T50RP
AT M50s

Any suggestions? :)

The FA003 and Brainwavz HM5 are the same headphone. The HM5 is less expensive, isolates really well, great overall signature, and well rounded, it's on the warm side of neutral, but not overly bassy and not overly bright either.

Very best,

Jan 18, 2013 at 11:21 AM Post #4 of 15