Chameleon DAC listening and modifications
post-12386842
Post #1,141 of 1,154

ReelDeal

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
98
Reaction score
10
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Posts
98
Likes
10
I know there are various people who do mods on different gear. Are there people who do mods on the Chameleon? I have absolutely NO diy skill. 
 
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-12581093
Post #1,142 of 1,154

CJG888

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
310
Location
Braunschweig
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Location
Braunschweig
Posts
1,998
Likes
310
Sorry if this had already been mentioned in the thread, but I couldn't find it on searching.
 
What is the consensus on the best capacitors (type and value) to replace the stock WIMA output coupling caps? I'm considering either Jensens or Obbligato (not sure which value would be appropriate and still fit in the box, though.
 
Please don't suggest direct coupling the output, because my headphone amp doesn't have DC blocking caps on the input!
 
Basically, will the 10uF Obbligatos (30 x 75 mm) fit inside the enclosure?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12647494
Post #1,143 of 1,154

CJG888

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
310
Location
Braunschweig
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Location
Braunschweig
Posts
1,998
Likes
310
Just received mine, and put in the Obbligatos. First impressions are very positive, especially on jazz and opera (used with a Shinrico D3S as source, into Audio-gd SA-31SE and Hifiman HE-400i).

 
     Share This Post       
post-12653750
Post #1,144 of 1,154

CJG888

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
310
Location
Braunschweig
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Location
Braunschweig
Posts
1,998
Likes
310
Very good synergy with Grados (modded SR225i with Cocobolo cups).
 
     Share This Post       
post-14679223
Post #1,146 of 1,154

errnst

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
63
Reaction score
14
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Posts
63
Likes
14
Are these Teradak units still being manufactured? It's really hard to find good review about these dacs
These DACs were always sold on ebay, look up teradak dac on ebay. I could not find any chameleon dacs there, the ones that are there are the 8 DAC chip version. I have been running one of those units for the past decade. The threads here about the Valab NOS DAC and the Chameleon DAC fizzled out some years ago shortly after a format change on this site. There is still some good info in the threads if you have time to go through them.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Suppa92
post-14679896
Post #1,147 of 1,154

Suppa92

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
139
Reaction score
38
Location
Sri Lanka
Joined
May 19, 2018
Location
Sri Lanka
Posts
139
Likes
38
These DACs were always sold on ebay, look up teradak dac on ebay. I could not find any chameleon dacs there, the ones that are there are the 8 DAC chip version. I have been running one of those units for the past decade. The threads here about the Valab NOS DAC and the Chameleon DAC fizzled out some years ago shortly after a format change on this site. There is still some good info in the threads if you have time to go through them.
They use decades old Philips ladder dac chips right?
Are they sound good like modern ladder dacs/ multibit dacs even they use such old chips?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14680024
Post #1,148 of 1,154

errnst

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
63
Reaction score
14
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Posts
63
Likes
14
They use decades old Philips ladder dac chips right?
Are they sound good like modern ladder dacs/ multibit dacs even they use such old chips?
TDA1543 is the Dac chip. They use 8 of them in parallel, the Chameleon used 16 in parallel. those chips are fed straight to output.
They sound great, mine is modified. Many people on these threads thought these units are top notch. In my limited experience with Dacs, this one sounds best.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14680034
Post #1,149 of 1,154

errnst

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
63
Reaction score
14
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Posts
63
Likes
14
They use decades old Philips ladder dac chips right?
Are they sound good like modern ladder dacs/ multibit dacs even they use such old chips?
These DACs were always sold on ebay, look up teradak dac on ebay. I could not find any chameleon dacs there, the ones that are there are the 8 DAC chip version. I have been running one of those units for the past decade. The threads here about the Valab NOS DAC and the Chameleon DAC fizzled out some years ago shortly after a format change on this site. There is still some good info in the threads if you have time to go through them.
here is a link to the 16 chip unit
https://www.ebay.com/itm/1pc-TeraDa...h=item3fae9ec78c:g:CDoAAOSwiiVbxycb:rk:8:pf:0
 
     Share This Post       
post-15528463
Post #1,150 of 1,154

CJG888

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
310
Location
Braunschweig
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Location
Braunschweig
Posts
1,998
Likes
310
I’ve recently dug mine out again and am using it regularly. I had forgotten how good it was.

Current setup:

Meridian 207 (as transport) -> Swoboda silver coax -> Chameleon (Obbligato output caps, Supra mains lead) -> Chord Company Clearway I/C -> Audio-gd SA-31SE (set to high gain!) -> Beyerdynamic DT-880/600.

Is anyone else still using theirs on a regular basis?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15528976
Post #1,152 of 1,154

rhodes54

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
165
Reaction score
2
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Posts
165
Likes
2
Yes, mine is still playing. Never had any troubles with it. Sounds good as long as you use the upsampler. Can also compete with current dacs in terms of sound quality, but certainly not when it comes to specs :sweat_smile:.
 

Attachments

     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: CJG888
post-15529483
Post #1,153 of 1,154

CJG888

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
310
Location
Braunschweig
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Location
Braunschweig
Posts
1,998
Likes
310
That is a serious re-casing job there!

I’m tempted to do the same myself (to use bigger output caps).

BTW, what are you using as an upsampler?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15530426
Post #1,154 of 1,154

rhodes54

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
165
Reaction score
2
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Posts
165
Likes
2
I mean the build-in upsampler print (The one that can be taken out and bypassed). Without the upsampler huge amounts of distortion start from the midrange and upwards. It might sounds 'smooth', but it's pure distortion.

The biggest step up was the seperated power supplies and better clocks
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: CJG888

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top