Broken Klipsch S4, any solutions?
Jun 18, 2010 at 12:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

tomscy2000

Headphoneus Supremus
Hey everyone, I've been reading head-fi for a few months now but am still very new to the hi-fi world, and this is my first time posting. I've been using my Image S4 since February and despite concerns of its build I quite like them, so you can imagine my horror when the left ear suddenly cut out on me tonight. I was actually more worried about my right side failing on me because the strain relief had split apart on that end (yes, that problem), but to my consternation, it was the left side that died. From what it seems to me, there is either some kind of connective problem or a short circuit rather than driver failure (not surprising), since the sound comes back for flashes when I fiddle with the casing.

I understand that this type of problem along with the one about the strain relief has been reported by multiple S4 owners, but this isn't an indictment of Klipsch build quality, but rather an inquiry into what I can possibly do to repair my earphones. I live in Taiwan at the current moment, so it isn't an option for me to trek to the nearest Best Buy and exercise my warranty (I bought them in the states), and as far as I'm concerned Klipsch has no business interests in Taiwan. What I'd like to know is if it is possible to 'recable' the S4s or if the effort isn't worth it. I guess a question like this is targeted more toward people who live in the area, but I thought I'd give it a try. I just think that it's a shame to have to replace these things after only four months of use.