...Bought the Sony MDR-XB500, true audiophile cans!
Apr 16, 2013 at 7:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Syndicat3

100+ Head-Fier
Just kidding, of course. Now that I have your attention...

I just bought the Sony MDR-XB500 for about $50 because of InnerFiedlity's review and this thread

An audiophile friend recommended the ATH-M50 which was recently on sale for $99 USD, but I am a basshead and I instead opted for portable, exaggerated, fun headphones for electronic & rap that I hear can EQ well. Luckily, I can return the XB500s within 30 days, S&H included, if they turn out to be complete and utter garbage.

Here is my reasoning for opting for these headphones: I am an FL Studio amateur and I already have the ATH-M20, which I think I can use for somewhat accurate monitoring. The M50 looks like a very safe, overly recommended headphone that's isn't portable. I was concerned that I'd get it and quickly my interest would steer towards upper mid-range headphones that I've been looking at (Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro & HiFiMAN HE-400, for example). While I wouldn't be interested in purchasing them right now, I might in the future, so rather than spending thousands on headphones in between, I could just shell out for the DT990s or HE-400s and then focus on properly amping it.

Did I done goof picking up these bass canons? My only reference is a Logitech G35 so, clearly, I am an audiophile virgin. 

Apr 16, 2013 at 7:31 PM Post #2 of 18
Quote:
Just kidding, of course. Now that I have your attention...

I just bought the Sony MDR-XB500 for about $50 because of InnerFiedlity's review and this thread

An audiophile friend recommended the ATH-M50 which was recently on sale for $99 USD, but I am a basshead and I instead opted for portable, exaggerated, fun headphones for electronic & rap that I hear can EQ well. Luckily, I can return the XB500s within 30 days, S&H included, if they turn out to be complete and utter garbage.