Beyerdynamic Dt 770 pro 80 opinions
May 25, 2012 at 10:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Rees8448

New Head-Fier
[size=small] Hello Hifi community, this is my first time posting and I am looking to finalize my decision on the dt 770. Any other recommendations on headphones within this price range will be welcome. Amp recommendations under 100$ would also be appreciated.[/size]

[size=small] Upgrading from a pair of vmoda crossfade lp headphones which I loved. The problem was that the ear cups were too shallow and my ears hurt after a hour or two. After looking around for hours, it looks like the dt 770 is the perfect headphone for me. I love I good pair of bass headphones but I have been getting into classical music as well. From what I have read, the dt 770s have a great soundstage and the mids are also great once they burn in.[/size]

[size=small] One of the reasons I like the dt 770s is the fact that they are closed. I prefer to not hear anything else but my music when I'm listening.[/size]

[size=small] I am also planning to pair it with a portable homemade amp from this guy (http://www.ebay.com/itm/18V-Cmoy-Ra1-Headphone-Amplifier-RECHARGEABLE-Pen-Perfect-for-Grado-Sennheiser-/170846899329?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27c744cc81). From what I can tell, this looks like a really good cmoy amp, and the best amp I could find under 100. I am still ignorant when it comes to amps though so if you guys have recommendations I'd be happy to hear them.[/size]

[size=small] The cheapest place I could find is here (http://www.wwbw.com/Beyerdynamic-DT-770-Pro-80-Closed-Studio-Headphones-272025-i1126937.wwbw?mode=1) Never bought from here before but I gave them a link to a price I found on eBay and they offered me a pair for 144$. Does this site look legit?[/size]

[size=small] TL;dr: Plan on getting dt770 paired with a unique amp. Looking for some opinions on both.[/size]

[size=small]  [/size]