BEST SURROUND SOUND HEADPHONES FOR GAMING AND MOVIES
Mar 20, 2013 at 5:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

paintedr3d

New Head-Fier
Hi I'm new here and I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for a pair of headphones for gaming and movies. I'm currently using a Yamaha RX V373 receiver and just using that and my Bose AE phones, but after doing some research I'm looking for more detaed sound. Will I need a better receiver? Will I need an amp? Any info and WHY I need them is appreciated as I'm still learning. I just bought a pair of sound magic hp100 off a recommendation, would those be sufficient? I wanted to use them for listening my sick beats on my iPod any help would be appreciated.

Mar 21, 2013 at 12:19 AM Post #2 of 8
Hm. For the receiver vs amp, It depends on how efficient your phones are (measured in dB known as SPL (sound pressure level)). It's how much sound at a certain voltage your phones can create measured in dB. Also depends on their impedance, but that's secondary compared to efficiency for how to amp your phone.

An amp is to amplify the analog signal coming out of your source. Without it, you can't really hear anything unless there's that extra power (from the pre-out or something of the sort). Then at a gain of 0, you'll still be able to hear things since the signal is amplified, even if it's from the pre-out power. Don't take what I just said too seriously though, it's just what I can remember. 

You'll also need an amp for the impedance of your phones. There's an output impedance (impedance of the output such as the receiver), and the impedance of your phones. You need your phones to be at least 8 times more to have less distortion/noise. You will possibly hear a hiss due to a high impedance output. For example, IEM/CIEMs have a lower impedance. Computer jacks and possibly iphone jacks (idk about iphone/idevice jack impedance) have a high impedance for the output. You put in the IEM/CIEM/low impedance phone and you will hear a hissing.