Another Stax Beginner here
Sep 6, 2010 at 2:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

AllsWell

100+ Head-Fier
I'm interested in switching over to the electrostatic side of things.
But I dont know too much about that area.
I've been researching as much as I can but there is so much information and terminology and model variations that its throwing me off from becoming informed.

I currently own a pair of sr325is which I love. But I want something different. I've also read that Stax headphones ( electrostatic in general? ) are better suited for classical and ambient styles of music, which is what I'm interested in.

I have a couple of questions;
1. What is a good beginner electrostatic system for no more than $500?
2. I'm not too sure how the technical side of things work, but would I have to hook up any part of the system to speakers in order for it to work? ( I read some were someone doing something like this... headphones or adapter/driver needed to be hooked up to speakers in order to listen) I DO NOT WANT TO DO THIS. I just want to be able to simply listen to them using my computer, or using my D4 Mamba DAC.
3. If I buy a electrostatic system from a vendor that's located outside of North America, lets say Japan, do I have to request they give me an adapter/driver powered for North American standards?

I have found this system "Stax SR-5 Earspeaker and a Stax srd-6 Adaptor" for $200. Is it worth it?
OR
Should I buy something from here instead;
www.seyo-shop.com/home.php?cat=15210
http://www.pricejapan.com/front/e_result_goods.php
http://www.audiocubes2.com/brand/Stax.html

I dont know what to do ! Help me out.

Sep 6, 2010 at 2:37 AM Post #2 of 18
Get an SRM-1 MK2 with an SR-Lambda (6-pin normal bias) and it is recommended to upgrade your source but the SR-5 is rather nice as well (the black one is the one to have). These are not that common in the US so patience is needed.