Amazon launches Music HD with lossless streaming
post-15258014
Post #616 of 1,129

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,085
Reaction score
967
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,085
Likes
967
Just signed up for the 90 day trial.

Just tried on my Desktop Media/Gaming rig where I listen at home which has a 24/192 audio capability through a set of KEF LSX which are 24/96 capable.

All sounds great to me.

Currently playing a track and showing:

Track Quality: 24/44.1
Device Capability: 24/192
Currently Playing: 24/44.1

Just listened to a Diana Krall UHD Track (I'm familiar with Tidal MQA version) and sound just as stunning

Track Quality: 24/96
Device Capability: 24/192
Currently Playing: 24/96

Will try with my LG V30+ and S10+ phones next
Slight update. If I set the sound card to its max of 24/192 the track still plays at 24/96 (which it should).

Just remembered that my LSX is connected to PC by analogue so if track was a 24/192 it would go out from PC as 24/192 but LSX itself would down-rate 192 tracks to 96.

On my S10+ & V30+ looks like Android converts to 24/48 if higher track rate than 24/48 and as mentioned, no go in UAPP. If a track is 24/44.1 it does show as 24/44.1 (not android scaling to 24/48)

Also, have an old 128GB iPhone 5S put make that can do is 24/48 so 96 tracks played at lower quality of 24/48.

So on my mobiles looks like it will play at 24/48 MAX but doesn't seem to try to upscale 24/44.1 to 24/48 which is fine.

PC and all 3 phones stream perfectly over my AC3200 5Ghz router.

Seems good to me at the lower price than Tidal.

Just found an actual 24/192 track and does feed out of my PC at 24/192 so seems to be perfect for PC playback but limited to 24/48 on Android phones and my iPhone 5S.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15258222
Post #617 of 1,129

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
369
Reaction score
181
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
369
Likes
181
I did notice mix of different bitrate tracks, but I really doubt it works as you described, that would be a total chaos. Track from compilation album has different id than the same one from separate release.
https://www.thebalancecareers.com/catalog-number-2460354

So my guess that either they are still filling the gaps or this is some technical or licensing issue.

There is also option 'download duplicates', what is it set to?
It is total chaos. On about third of my downloaded albums I have mixed quality. There is no option ‚download duplicates‘ on a iOS app.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Brava210
post-15258231
Post #618 of 1,129

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
369
Reaction score
181
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
369
Likes
181
That's what I get with redbook tracks as well. No upsampling unless the popup is lying.
popup IS lying. No matter what it says, my DFR always show 24/96. It shows correct sampling rates on any other streaming service, was also showing 44.1 correctly before I upgraded to Music HD. After the upgrade, the app upsamples everything and is lying in the popup about the output sampling rate...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Soundizer
post-15258324
Post #619 of 1,129

Soundizer

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
230
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Posts
1,035
Likes
230
popup IS lying. No matter what it says, my DFR always show 24/96. It shows correct sampling rates on any other streaming service, was also showing 44.1 correctly before I upgraded to Music HD. After the upgrade, the app upsamples everything and is lying in the popup about the output sampling rate...
Exactly same here. My Dragon fly Cobalt via iPad USB-C + Chord Mojo via Apple iMac optical. Both DACS show Amazon HD upsamples everything.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: psikey
post-15258486
Post #620 of 1,129

Andrew_WOT

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
5,855
Reaction score
106
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Posts
5,855
Likes
106
Popup is not "lying", it shows bitrate that app sends to audio stack, where depending on shared mode bitrate settings, upsampling can take place.
If you set Control panel shared mode sample rate to match your audio material, you will get same sample rate as original on your audio device.

Processing flow:
Amazon Player >>> OS Audio Stack (resamples in shared mode) >>> Audio Device >>> Unhappy Listener
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: senorx12562
post-15259027
Post #621 of 1,129

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
369
Reaction score
181
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
369
Likes
181
Popup is not "lying", it shows bitrate that app sends to audio stack, where depending on shared mode bitrate settings, upsampling can take place.
If you set Control panel shared mode sample rate to match your audio material, you will get same sample rate as original on your audio device.

Processing flow:
Amazon Player >>> OS Audio Stack (resamples in shared mode) >>> Audio Device >>> Unhappy Listener
iOS never upsamples anything. I‘m talking about an iOS app. It‘s definitively amazon‘s own app that is performing upsampling, even though it is showing output to be in a native data rate. There is no way no avoid this with the new amazon app for iOS. Older versions of the app (8.xxx), before Music HD has been introduced, never upsampled. New version (9.xxx) started upsampling even without Music HD subscription
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Soundizer
post-15259282
Post #622 of 1,129

Soundizer

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
230
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Posts
1,035
Likes
230
I talked to Audioquest about it and they are aware of the upsampling issue via Amazon Music HD. They suggested to stick with TIDAL HIFI because of this issue with Amazon Music HD.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Brava210
post-15260114
Post #623 of 1,129

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,085
Reaction score
967
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,085
Likes
967
More listening and it works perfectly via a PC and Desktop version of Amazon Music HD.

Seems to work fine with phones internal sound chip but to a max of 24/48 on Android.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15264342
Post #624 of 1,129

robm321

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
7,904
Reaction score
171
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Posts
7,904
Likes
171
Until they add exclusive mode, Amazon HD is useless to me. I have a 3 month trial and still just listen to Tidal which sounds better.
 
post-15264678
Post #625 of 1,129

grokit

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
11,626
Reaction score
372
Location
The North
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Location
The North
Posts
11,626
Likes
372
I really think Amazon is actively (not AI) monitoring this thread. I'm now missing the little HD/ULTRA HD button, when playing a album that is labeled ULTRA HD; all the songs in the album are individually labeled the same way. But no button to activate the pop-up while the song is playing. This is to me a tacit acknowledgment that it was indeed "lying" with the displayed information. I hope this means they are working on a fix.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: MrPanda
post-15264822
Post #626 of 1,129

Andrew_WOT

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
5,855
Reaction score
106
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Posts
5,855
Likes
106
Which OS?
Both Android and Windows were updated like yesterday. Windows is 7.8.4.2118 now, Android 16.3.2, both have badge still, but no exclusive option.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15264828
Post #627 of 1,129

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
369
Reaction score
181
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
369
Likes
181
I really think Amazon is actively (not AI) monitoring this thread. I'm now missing the little HD/ULTRA HD button, when playing a album that is labeled ULTRA HD; all the songs in the album are individually labeled the same way. But no button to activate the pop-up while the song is playing. This is to me a tacit acknowledgment that it was indeed "lying" with the displayed information. I hope this means they are working on a fix.
Dream on. There is amazon‘s own forum, called amazonforum.com. They are not even monitoring that one. People are complaining since sommer, paying customers, and nothing is happening, bugs are still not fixed. Moderators there suggest to open a call with support for any technical problem, because amazon is NOT monitoring any forums, even not their own. Of course the support turns to be utterly useless as well, as this ‚support‘ is provided by aunties having absolutely no technical understanding, suggesting the same things over and over again, like reinstall the app, clean cache... They neither understand what the customers are telling them, even with detailed written bug descriptions, nor do they follow up with real support...

Amazon shows very little interest in this product, the main value for them is now, they can claim they are better than competitors in terms of data rate. It‘s obvious that product definition and implementation has been done by people having no understanding for what audiophiles need.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15264885
Post #628 of 1,129

Andrew_WOT

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
5,855
Reaction score
106
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Posts
5,855
Likes
106
It‘s obvious that product definition and implementation has been done by people having no understanding for what audiophiles need.
Do audiophiles themselves know what they need? :beyersmile:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: ssag
post-15264906
Post #629 of 1,129

Papa253

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
285
Reaction score
99
Location
WA
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Location
WA
Posts
285
Likes
99
Age
55
I have no more patience for Amazon music, I cancel my trial and deleted it.

Good luck to you all, you'll need it!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: runssical
post-15265478
Post #630 of 1,129

grokit

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
11,626
Reaction score
372
Location
The North
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Location
The North
Posts
11,626
Likes
372
I'm sticking with it for now. I did just notice something though.

The ULTRA HD button is back. First I restarted the app to see if that made of a difference. It didn't. Then for no reason, I selected the miniplayer from the view menu. I noticed the ULTRA HD button displayed prominently on the miniplayer so I clicked it. It went to the full-size player, with the pop-up displayed. When I closed the pop-up, the ULTRA HD button was still displayed, ready for me to click on it again and get the pop-up.

Nothing weird about that, nosireee... but I'll take it. Like I said, for now. It sure sounds good to me. I'm using the Mac desktop app.

edit: They did change the info displayed in the pop-up.
Now it says:

Track quality: 24 bit / 44.1 kHz
Device capability: 24 bit / 96 kHz
Currently playing at: 24 bit / 44.1 kHz

At least they're being honest about the playrate now.
But my opinion is that 44.1 kHz should be called HD, not ULTRA HD :triportsad:
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top