Amazon launches Music HD with lossless streaming
post-14921274
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 1,277

gemNeye

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
262
Reaction score
432
Location
Midwest USA
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Location
Midwest USA
Posts
262
Likes
432
Amazon is planning to launch a new high-fidelity music streaming service with better-than-CD-quality audio, reports Music Business Worldwide. The new service is expected to cost around $15 a month, and it would sit alongside Amazon’s existing music services. These include Prime Music and Music Unlimited, which currently offer streams at a maximum of 256 Kbps, well below the 1,411 Kbps bitrate of CDs.

Continue reading at link below:

https://www.theverge.com/2019/4/26/...-hi-fi-tidal-competitor-unlimited-prime-price
 
post-14922433
Post #2 of 1,277

The Socialist Nerd

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
355
Reaction score
145
Location
Salt Lake City
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Location
Salt Lake City
Posts
355
Likes
145
Impressive but due to politics, I really don't support Amazon so Tidal streaming gets my weight.
 
post-14922584
Post #3 of 1,277

alan_g

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
804
Reaction score
313
Location
edinburgh
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Location
edinburgh
Posts
804
Likes
313
yeah got a message about the service earlier today, I don't bother with streaming but im sure some will give them a go
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193445
Post #4 of 1,277

gemNeye

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
262
Reaction score
432
Location
Midwest USA
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Location
Midwest USA
Posts
262
Likes
432
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15193489
Post #5 of 1,277

Dtuck90

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Messages
98
Reaction score
57
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
98
Likes
57
I can’t seem to get this working on iOS. I’ve upgraded but still getting the same low quality as before
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Strat1117
post-15193532
Post #6 of 1,277

gemNeye

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
262
Reaction score
432
Location
Midwest USA
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Location
Midwest USA
Posts
262
Likes
432
I can’t seem to get this working on iOS. I’ve upgraded but still getting the same low quality as before
I don't have any iOS devices to test this, but if and when you get this resolved, be sure to post the fix in case anyone else runs into the same issue.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193538
Post #7 of 1,277

Dtuck90

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Messages
98
Reaction score
57
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
98
Likes
57
I don't have any iOS devices to test this, but if and when you get this resolved, be sure to post the fix in case anyone else runs into the same issue.
I’ve sorted it. Update the app and then sign out and back in and that sorted it
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: gemNeye
post-15193587
Post #9 of 1,277

Inoculator

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Messages
193
Reaction score
222
Location
Tacoma, WA
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Location
Tacoma, WA
Posts
193
Likes
222
I am excited this is finally launching, but they need to do some serious work on their desktop app if they want to be taken seriously as an audiophile streaming source. Terrible UI and no way to bypass windows mixer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193606
Post #10 of 1,277

Marlowe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
290
Reaction score
167
Location
New Jersey, USA
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Location
New Jersey, USA
Posts
290
Likes
167
I started the 90 day free trial a couple of hours ago. With casual listening, sound is comparable to Tidal. Unfortunately, the Windows app is really a pain to navigate.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Inoculator
post-15193607
Post #11 of 1,277

Dtuck90

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Messages
98
Reaction score
57
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
98
Likes
57
Sorted out my iOS problems and currently got my iPad Pro connected to my Sony WM1A. My Walkman is showing every tracks as 192 so I think the app upsamples everything. For example when I use my Walkman with NYA my Walkman shows the correct quality for each track

Is there a way to change it to show albums in chronological order rather than popular albums?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193682
Post #12 of 1,277

sathyam

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
357
Reaction score
55
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Posts
357
Likes
55
Subscribed for the Annual Family HD Plan for $149.99. Its got a 30 day trial.

Will try it out when I get my SP2K later this week.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193723
Post #14 of 1,277

Tooros

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
268
Reaction score
100
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Posts
268
Likes
100
Subscribed for the Annual Family HD Plan for $149.99. Its got a 30 day trial.

Will try it out when I get my SP2K later this week.
It’s not here in the UK yet but that seems like a good price. How many users if I may ask?
How does it do the high bitrate stuff? Is it MQA anyone?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15193753
Post #15 of 1,277

Dtuck90

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Messages
98
Reaction score
57
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
98
Likes
57
It’s not here in the UK yet but that seems like a good price. How many users if I may ask?
How does it do the high bitrate stuff? Is it MQA anyone?
It is available in U.K. as it gave me the option for all the different plans earlier. No MQA all FLAC
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top