All X5L LODs Reviewed! iAudio Owners Must Read! [Pics Warning]
Jun 24, 2006 at 9:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

B-side J

100+ Head-Fier
Ok This is my first audio related review, so there are some things that I have to say right off the bat. I AM NOT AN AUDIOPHILE!
tongue.gif
I just LOVE music! I am new to Hi-fi, but have always had a decent stereo, and feel that I have good ears. Everything I say in this review is my opinion and should be taken with a grain of salt. This review is un-biased and fully controlled.

I will be reviewing the following Line Out cables on Sound Quality, and Build Quality/Design, on a rating scale of 1 to 10 and well as giving my opinion on the value for your money. The LODs included in my review are: AudioLineOut's Sliver, Copper (not released yet), and Silk Docks, Qables' X5L dock (SwitchCraft option), and Zynsonix VRAY Prime LOD (made by request).

P1020501.jpg

I used Flac lossless files, XM3 for amping, and iM716s/KSC75s for my rig, because that is after all these cables are made to be used in a portable setting.

For Music I used:

Eric Clapton- “Old Love” from Unplugged
Jack Johnson- “Crying Shame” from In Between Dreams
Jethro Tull- “Bouree” from Best Of
K'Naan- “Blues for the Horn” from The Dusty Foot Philosopher
Feist- “When I was a Young Girl” from Let it Die
iMogene Heap- Headlock from Speak for yourself
Micheal Buble-Feeling Good

BUILD QUALITY/DESIGN

ALO Silver: 7/10

P1020504.jpg

I feel that the design is to delicate for portable use, due to the absents of any kind of protective covering. On the plus side it is very low-profile, and very flexible, though because it is solid strand you would not want to bend it o often or kink it. The workmanship is very good, clean and simple. The wire used on these is 99.99% Pure silver and ken use high quality solder. So again it is very well mad and certainly wont fall apart but I don't think it will be durable enough for everyday portable use.

ALO Copper: 7/10
P1020506.jpg