A (researched) question about Realtek 1150 vs. sound card
Oct 9, 2013 at 4:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

JohnnyGoTime

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, total noob here but I've been reading audio threads on this site & others for a few days so I can try to ask an intelligent question...I will give you my scenario and am hoping somebody can give an answer which helps me understand a bit deeper than "sound card beats onboard audio every time".

I just built a Win8 cpu and will use it for 50% games, 50% music.
I will be alternating between 5.1 surround & Samson SR850 headphones (using the headphones slightly more often.)
I don't have the surround speakers yet, but when I get them they will be sub $200.
My onboard audio is Realtek ALC1150 (Sabertooth Z87 mobo).

After a bunch of reading, I'm happy to buy the Xonar DXG (because it's cheap and PCI-E with generally glowing reviews.)

But the question gnawing at me is: *why* will this Xonar be a step-up from the onboard audio? I think the following factors are the big ones, please let me know what categories I've missed.

** SNR **
Realtek 1150: 115dB 
Xonar DGX: 100db (headphones) or 105db (speakers)
--> Realtek is better?

** Impedance **
Headphones impedance: 32ohms (Samson SR850)
Realtek 1150: All I've found is a forum comment which said the Realtek has 2 Ohm output impedance, which is 1/16th that of the headphones.
Xonar DGX: "optimized for 32ohms"
--> Realtek is more than good enough for my headphones?

** Freq. Response **
Headphones: 10Hz-30kHz 
Realtek 1150: 40 Hz – 15 kHz,dB +0.02, -0.07 (not sure how to interpret this)  
Xonar DGX: <10Hz to 48kHz (better than human hearing can even detect..?)
-> These Realtek numbers don't seem correct, but I couldn't find otherwise. But if they are, then this is an area where the 1150 isn't able to use the full range available to the headphones.

** THD **
Realtek 1150: 0.0043 
Xonar DGX: 0.0025