1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. audioblog18
    Tin HIFI T3 Review – Bug Fixes!
    Written by audioblog18
    Published Apr 7, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - - Transparent sound
    - Close to Neutral tonality
    - Solid build, cable and tips
    - Clear treble
    - Resolution and Sound stage
    Cons - - Slightly sibilant (track dependent)
    - Rolled off sub bass
    Review by Mhark Jhoshua Q. Torres
    Thank you Linsoul Audio for letting us give our honest take towards the Tin Audio T3 pro. Given that the review unit is from Linsoul audio and is free of charge, it doesn’t affect the honesty and integrity of this review.

    Linsoul Audio Online Stores:

    Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&me=A267P2DT104U3C&page=1

    Direct store: https://www.linsoul.com

    The Company

    [​IMG]

    Tin audio is a chi-fi contender that appeared last Q1 of 2018, their first IEM was Tin Audio T1 (based on what I’ve read) and it was followed by the T2 and T2 Pro which became a lot more popular in comparison to the T1. Their IEMs are known for being bass anemic, since they are tuning their products into a neutral sound signature despite the use of all DD. “Tin Audio is committed to deliver an uncommonly refined tuning.” this is what they said in their Facebook page and based on what I’ve heard from the T2 pro and now the T3, the statement is legit!

    The Tin Audio T3

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    The T3 is made out of metal just like the T2 and T2 Pro that makes the overall feel to be premium and reliable, it’s still astonishing for me to have this well built IEM under the 70 USD price tag. Just like the T2 Pro, the nozzle is still a bit short, the filter is fine, and there are two vents per side one facing the ears and one at the face plate. The T3 pro has slight changes at the face plate whereas there is more styling on the T3 as compared to the flat and simple T2 Pro, the cable is far superior too in terms of aesthetics.
    • Driver unit: 10mm dynamic + Knowles BA
    • Frequency response: 10–40,000 Hz
    • Sensitivity: 95 dB +/- 3dB
    • Impedance: 16 ohms
    • Plug: ⅛ in (3.5 mm) carbon
    • Cable: 4.1 ft (1.25 m) 5N 8-core OFC-plated silver
    • Interface: MMCX
    Packaging

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    The packaging of the T3 is now bigger, The styling of the box is better too with transparent part to show off the IEM itself. The blue box contains everything from manual to tips, there is still no carrying case just like with the T2 Pro, I hope that they include even a small pouch in their future IEMs. The gray foam tips is the one you’ll get OOTB but it is huge for my ears to fit, good thing that Tin audio included 8 pairs of extra tips for tip rolling. Lastly I was really amazed, I can confidently say that the cable included must be one if not the best under 150 USD.

    Fit and Comfort

    [​IMG]
    The T3 is made out of metal and there are few sharp edges unlike other IEMs that has CIEM-ish build therefore the fit of the T3 is sub par in comparison to other IEMs in this price tier (eg. TFZ lineup and Shozy Hibiki). The isolation of T3 is very dependent with the tips used with proper tips, the isolation is pretty good, the nozzle is short too hence the insertion is shallow.

    Sound
    I love IEMs and earbuds with midcentric to flat sound signature as I really love listening to vocals rather than instruments. My genre ranges from heavy rock, alternative rock, pop rock, acoustic, pop, jazz and folk. Majority of my test tracks are in 16 bit – 44 khz and 24 bit – 48 khz FLAC file and here is the list of my commom test tracks.

    1. Reese Lansangan – For the Fickle (background, female vocals and upper mids)
    2. Foo Fighters – Bridge Burning (Imaging, Layering, Coherence, Sub bass and Mid bass, Mids, Treble)
    3. LANY – Thick And Thin (Mid Bass, Mids)
    4. Ed Sheeran – Dive (Mid bass, Lower Mids)
    5. Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why (Upper Mids and Instruments)
    6. Paramore – Hard Times (Imaging, Layering, Coherence, Sub bass and Mid bass, Mids, Treble)
    7. Radiohead – Life in a Glasshouse (Imaging Layering, Bass, Instruments, Lower mids, Treble)
    8. Passenger – Coins in a Fountain (Mid bass, Layering, Imaging, Instruments, Lower mids, Treble)
    9. Tori Kelly – Hollow (Background, Upper mids)
    10. Ariana Grande – Raindrops (Background, Upper mids)
    Bass
    Slight roll off on the sub bass region but still enjoyable (at least for someone like me who isn’t a basshead) since the quality, texture and speed is properly done to fill the lack of extension. The sub bass is presented linearly, neither forward nor recessed. The intro of Bridge Burning by Foo Fighters is very audible. Mid bass is still tight, rounded and agile just like the T2 Pros but this time it has a bit more quantity resulting to better punch on bass notes, I’d say that the bass of the T3 is not bass anemic anymore, quality and texture remains excellent but take note that the bass quantity and positioning is still not for bass-heads, it is still linear and no elevation to be called warm or bassy.

    Mids

    [​IMG]

    Tin Audio is molding its house sound, transparent, lean and clean mids that packs a lot of details. The lower mids of the T3 is very resolving though the body is just sufficient for the male vocals not to sound hollow or dry, stringed instruments are really nice sounding with the T3, but for those who love their velvety mids you won’t enjoy the transparency of the T3. Upper mids is definitely sweet, despite its neutral positioning the female timbre sounds stellar for the price. I tried Reese Lansangan, Clara Benin, Sara Bareilles and UDD and it is simply one of the best sounding upper mids under 150 USD, though I’d say that it is unforgiving since playing bad recorded tracks will result to slight sibilant. Playing every tracks of the album Capacities by UDD, there is no emphasis on “S” like what I’ve observed with other indie OPM singles. Details and texture is great and the timbre is close to natural, hands down to T3.

    Treble

    Not the peaky and aggressive treble you’ve hated with the T2 and the T2 Pro, the treble of T3 is definitely more controlled and relaxed without losing the great definition and extension of the T2 and T2 Pro. The decay is pretty fast delivering pacey tracks such as Asphyxia by Cö shu Nie excellently as it doesn’t sound congested at all. The positioning is still more or less at the middle ground as it never overpowers the mids and bass. Extension is better as compared to the sub bass, lastly the treble is still airy enough to give a natural sense of height and depth though it is not as airy as the T2 Pro anymore maybe due to the single BA instead of a DD (tweeter).

    Sound Stage and Resolution

    The sound stage of the T3 is still commendable for the price range it belongs, listening to live tracks is very enjoyable since the height, depth and width are all above decent. The sound stage isn’t something “monstrous” but it expands naturally whenever it is needed, also transitioning from my Moonbuds Bunting to the T3 is not as painful as with other IEMs, the boxy feeling is not as bad as compared to the KZ AS06 or TFZ Galaxy T2. None of the three major frequencies sounded smooth nor muddy in the T3, from sub bass to treble the texture and details are nicely rendered and is very audible. Separation is definitely better than the T2 Pro, and layering also improved but still not groundbreaking.

    Synergy and Sound Signature

    T3’s sound signature is more neutral than the T2 Pro, the bass is linear and clinical and just enough to give a taste of thump in your tracks. The mids and treble is placed close to neutral as well. The upper mids is a bit sibilant with some tracks but most of the times I don’t hear the emphasis on ‘S.

    Shanling M3s

    [​IMG]
    The M3s is known to be intimate sounding DAP with balanced sound signature and stellar mids, despite the characteristics of M3s, the T3 doesn’t sound too intimate at all in fact it is wider than TFZ Galaxy T2 and KZ AS06 even when I’m using them with Cayin N5iis. Bass is nicely delivered with no noticeable bumps, good details retrieval and enough body to give life to EDM tracks. Mids of this set is simply stellar, each of my favorite artists shined very well with the T3 and M3s. Lastly the Treble is defined and packs a lot of details, the extension is not the best but still enjoyable. I’d say that this pair is definitely great for those who loves quiet and neutral-mid centric sounding set.

    Smartphone (Huawei Mate 10)

    The Huawei Mate 10 has a sound signature of neutral-bright, sound quality is not on par with the N5iis, noise floor is a bit high. The bass lost its extension and texture, the mid bass became smoother and less impactful. The lower mids became thinner and smooth reducing the texture of the mids, the upper mids still sounds sweet. Lastly the treble is well extended while the presentation is less airy and detailed. The T3 can be easily powered by smartphones but the potential will not be maximized, the bass quantity will be reduced but the overall sound quality is still great.

    Comparison
    TFZ Galaxy T2 and KZ AS06

    If we are talking about the quality and texture, the sub bass and mid bass goes to the T3, but the quantity and placement is more of basshead level for the AS06 and Galaxy T2, both are kinda smooth and warm with better extension compared to the T3. The mids simply goes to the T3, better quality, transparency and details it is also has the most neutral positioning among the three, both AS06 and T2 Galaxy sounds recessed, veiled and smooth in comparison to the T3. Lastly, the treble though the AS06 is smoother I’d say that the treble of T3 has better sparkle, definition and extension on the other hand the T2 Galaxy’s treble is quite splashy. Sound stage goes to the T3 and same goes to layering, imaging and resolution. The only con of the T3 is the bass quantity. it is not really for the bass-heads.

    Conclusion

    [​IMG]

    The bug fixes from T2 pro are well executed, I want to commend tin audio for listening and following the feedback from consumers and reviewers. Sub bass is textured and decays quick but falls short with extension, mid bass is punchy, resolving and agile with linear positioning. Mids is just stellar with lean, sweet and transparent presentation, tho it sounds sibilant with badly recorded tracks. Treble has good sparkle, definition and extension and is definitely controlled compared to their previous models. Technical performance is superb too as it renders nice details from bass to treble, sound stage is above average and lastly, imaging and layering is improved too. PS: the build quality (especially the cable) is definitely worth acknowledging.
  2. Johnny Mac
    Tin HIFI T3 Realview.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Feb 24, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Improved cable, softer stock foam tips, clarity and imaging
    Cons - design language getting boring, still no storage case
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Leaving nothing to chance and striking while the iron is hot, Tin HIFI is back with a great measure of public buildup to further recreate and refine what was an already great package of sound and price to performance ratio with their T2 and T2 Pro IEMs. The ensuing outcome of Tin HIFI’s efforts is their newest audiophile offering, the Tin HIFI T3, which I was glad to receive ahead of the launch date to get in-depth and see if it’s worth the jump from its predecessors.

    The Tin HIFI T3 diverges from the T2 and T2 Pro right off the bat with its driver configuration which now features a single Knowles Balanced Armature and single PU+PEK 10mm Dynamic hybrid driver. It however opted to retain the same design language from its younger siblings and still uses a CNC-machined all metal build. The Tin HIFI T3 is spec’d out with a 10 to 40000 Hz Frequency Response, 16 Ohm Impedance and a 95dB Sensitivity. Priced at $69 with a launch priced of $60, you can check out the launch price from the Massdrop Tin HIFI T3 drop. Are current T2 and T2 Pro owners missing out big in terms of changes on the T3 and would it once again be a heavy favorite at the sub $70 price range just like its siblings? Let’s find out.

    Packaging and Build Quality
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Packaged in a relatively bigger glossy white box housing a now glittered and jagged surface blue flap box, the Tin HIFI T3 suggests that it has much more overall mass to it than the T2 and T2 Pro. Opening the glittery blue box reveals a white velvet cutout with the ever metallic looking T3 embedded on it and a now gray full foam ear tips being pre-installed rather than the previous bright sky blue full foam ear tips that came with the T2 and T2 Pro. Underneath this velvet clad cutout is a plethora of ear tip options: a complimentary medium gray full foams, a set of pseudo-sony hybrids(S, M, L) as well as a set (S, M, L) of Spinfit look-alike ear tips.
    [​IMG]
    The Tin HIFI T3 still looks a lot like the T2 and T2 Pro with only a subtle change on the faceplate design which now rocks a raised round metal outline. The overall look, feel and weight of the T3 shell is basically the same with the T2 and the T2 Pro.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The single most distinct aesthetic change that sets the T3 asides from its kin is the included 1.25m 5N 8core oxygen free copper (OFC) Silver-Plated Wire which is now a herring bone braid with a metal Tin HIFI logo branded y-split and a glass bead for a chin slider (there was none on the T2 and T2 Pro, I was asking for this). The MMCX connectors are now all metal with white R and L markings although the blue and red markings were still retained on the IEMs themselves, the transparent MMCX connectors in my opinion were more aesthetically pleasing however if this change is for a more solid build, I’d take it but if not, let’s hope it makes a comeback on the T3 Pro if there would be one. There is also a very discrete memory wire to aid for over ear usage which out of the box I struggled to get a fit but thanks to the rotating MMCX, I was able to find an excellent angle to have the memory wire sit snug on my ear lobe curvatures. No microphonic noise was observed as well on this new neat looking cable, storage was also great since it has a nice tension to its braid while still resisting tangles.

    Tonality
    [​IMG]
    Maturity within the Tin HIFI team was evident on the Tin HIFI T3 with the T3 now showing an accurate and well balanced sound. The 1st thing that stood out for me was how resolving and clean its background was. I used its pre-installed gray full foam ear tips since it now has a softer feel to it than the sky blue foams that came with the T2 and T2 Pro allowing for a more comfortable listening session while still giving great seal and isolation. The Tin HIFI T3 was driven by the Xduoo x3ii and the Sony CAS-1 desktop setup off an MSI GF 62 8RE laptop via Foobar2000 v1.4 for the whole realview, this also underwent the “recommended” 50-hour burn-in process.

    Lows
    [​IMG]
    Enhanced, Improved and Enriched. The very frequency which took a beating on the T2 and T2 Pro was how its bass was “mediocre” compared to the stellar midrange and upper frequency performance is now taken care of. The lows now go down deep and Linkin Park’s “Leave Out All the Rest” in 16/44 FLAC allowed for a smooth transitioning sub bass entry exhibiting a mild decay which can easily be discerned and felt throughout the track. The bass drops had great body and control progressing towards a clean lower midrange.

    Midrange

    Calling on Micheal Learns to Rock rocking out “Sleeping Child” in 16/44 FLAC delivered another strong performing lower midrange providing clarity of the harmonic tones. The male vocals were lush and full, energetic and inviting, a sure-fire guarantee you’d be singing along save that we can’t sing as well as Jascha. The upper midrange performance was non-fatiguing and timbre was accurate across the harmonics.

    Highs

    Run-DMC came to join the Tin HIFI T3 party repping with their “Dumb Girl” in 16/44 FLAC. The highs are delivered clean with great definition and clarity. This set of IEMs gives an enjoyable treble bite and sparkle. Harsh and peaky highs are absent. Sibilant? You must be on to something, even a full run of Depeche Mode was amusing on this set.

    Soundstage and Imaging

    With a focus on depth and height, the Tin HIFI T3 showcases a rather intimate soundstage but one with pinpoint accurate imaging. The T2 and T2 Pro had a wider soundstage but the darker background sets the T3 apart from its siblings.

    Conclusion
    [​IMG]
    Listening to feedbacks and insights are critical and with the availability of platforms to have our voices heard, there’s a great chance these little quirks from us would be taken into account when audio companies develop their upcoming products. Not to say that Tin HIFI had the public feedback as top priority with the developments and changes the T3 came with, it’s safe to say that they at least listened. A cleaner balanced sound and this time not neglecting the low-end performance coupled with a much improved stock cable and a myriad of ear tip choices and still coming close to the $60 price the T2 Pro had on launch makes the Tin HIFI T3 an easy recommendation. Please include a pouch or storage case next time though.
      pitsel, cqtek and DynamicEars like this.
    1. dottormorte
      cant have a proper fitting with this thing... any suggestions?
      dottormorte, Apr 7, 2019
    2. dottormorte
      it a very good candidate for the trash can!
      dottormorte, Apr 7, 2019
  3. B9Scrambler
    TinHiFi T3: Mind....Blown
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Feb 24, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Build and cable - Clarity and detail - Imaging quality
    Cons - Unforgiving of track flaws - If you are sensitive to treble, stick with the T2
    Greetings,

    TinHiFi, formerly and probably still better known as TinAudio, is a relatively new company and one that has built quite the reputation within a very short period of time.

    Back in 2017 they released a dual-dynamic earphone under the name T2. This was at a time when budget hybrids were at their peak and having a dual-dynamic setup wasn't the attention grabbing feature it used to be. As such, while it was well received it sorta flew under the radar. The right people ended up picking up the T2 which got the hype train rolling, and it became a common recommendation in the forums for it's near-neutral signature. It's premium build quality didn't hurt either.

    TinHiFi followed up the T2 with the single dynamic T1 that I personally quite enjoyed. It sounded similar to the T2, but with a warmer sound and some additional “oomph” in the bass. Then the T2 Pro was announced. Expectations were very high for that one and... it was okay. While the bass remained more or less the same as the T2, the treble saw a large spike in emphasis that improved clarity and sound stage but at the expense of the balance and neutral tonality that made the original T2 so desirable. Still, with the T1, T2, and T2 Pro, TinHiFi's lineup had three earphones each with their own distinct signatures.

    Today we're checking out their newest release, the T3. Based on how it is tuned, I suspect TinHiFi wasn't entirely pleased with the T2 Pro's reception, decided to mulligan their previous try, and give it another go. The T3 swaps out the 6mm tweeter for a genuine Knowles armature making it their first go at a hybrid, and what a hybrid it is.

    Let's take a closer look, shall we?

    Disclaimer:

    A big thanks to Lillian with Linsoul for arranging a sample of the T3 for the purposes of review. I was originally hoping to have this out and done in time for their Massdrop reveal campaign, but that didn't pan out since it arrived two days prior to the launch of the campaign. So here we are, fashionably late to the party. The thoughts within this review are my own based on my time listening to and using the T3. They do not represent TinHiFi, Linsoul, Massdrop, or any other entity. It currently retails for 69.99 USD. You can check out it via the following links:


    Source:

    The T3 was used with the Radsone Earstudio ES100 paired over LDAC with my LG G6. It was also powered by my TEAC HA-501 on low damping with a HiFi E.T. MA8 or ZiShan DSD providing source material. The Shanling M0 was also used occasionally, with its warmer signature matching up nicely with the T3. While it is less sensitive than most earphones at only 95dB, I found the T3 really quite easy to drive and did not feel the need for a dedicated amp.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800 Silver, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Specifications:
    • Drivers: 10mm dynamic + Knowles balanced armature
    • Frequency response: 10 – 40,000 Hz
    • Sensitivity: 95 dB +/- 3dB
    • Impedance: 16 ohms
    • Cable: 4.1 ft (1.25 m) 5N 8-core OFC-plated silver with MMCX
    IMG_5826.JPG IMG_5828.JPG IMG_5831.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    The T2 and T2 Pro have some of the nicest packaging in the industry (in my humble opinion). With the T3, TinHiFi kept a similar feel but evolved the overall design into something a little more interesting. The white exterior box is now larger with the TinHiFi logo in thin black lines accenting the front. The most immediately noticeable change, outside of the size increase, are the two viewing windows showing off the ear pieces. A really cool touch is that the viewing windows are incorporated into the logo. This is a slick little bit of attention to detail that you just don't see very often.

    Sliding out the interior box, you might notice that the book-like design used for the T2 remains and while still blue, the shade is takes on a lighter, more sky blue aesthetic. They also added a metallic sheen to the material that looks pretty awesome. Dead centre of the lid is a fairly spacious viewing window, necessary to allow you to check out the ear pieces when completely packaged. It looks like it was hand cut and wrapped, so fit and finish could be a little better. Regardless, it's a nice touch and I appreciate it. Opening the lid the ear pieces are securely held in place within a foam insert. The insert is coated in a very smooth, almost fuzzy fabric that just adds to an experience which so far has been much more premium than the low price tag would suggest. Under the insert is the manual and all accessories. In all you get:
    • T3 earphones
    • 5N 8-core OFC-plated silver cable with MMCX
    • Green single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    • Sony hybrid-style single flange tips (s/m/l)
    • Foam tips (s/m)
    • Velcro cable tie
    • Manual
    Overall the unboxing experience is fantastic. The included green tips are the same generic set included with a million other earphones and the Sony hybrid-style tips don't fit the nozzle particularly well, but the presentation and especially that cable make up for it. TinHiFi, if you're reading this, please keep making unique packages like this. While most people couldn't care less about this aspect of a product, those who do will appreciate how special it makes such an inexpensive product feel.

    IMG_5770.JPG IMG_5771.JPG IMG_5994.JPG

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The T3 sticks with all-metal shells as can be found throughout TinHiFi's lineup. While similar in shape to the T2 and T2 Pro, the T3 have seen some subtle but significant differences made to the design. First, TinHiFi mirrored the shape so that what was the left ear piece on the T2 is now the right ear piece on the T3. In addition, they removed the slanted portion of the protrusion that houses the MMCX ports, squaring it off. Thanks to the new cable, the T3 is intended to be worn with the cable running up and around your ear. As a result of this and the changes to the housing design, I found the fit more natural and comfortable than the already fine T2. Squaring off the protrusion means the housing is better supported in the ear and doesn't shift around as much during movement. There is also some tapering around the front edge that was reduced on the T3, though I doubt that had much effect if any on the fit.

    Overall the build quality is essentially perfect. The machined parts are neat and uniform without any flaws. Everything fits together tightly without anything sitting off kilter. There are no visibly uneven seams which have been worked into the design and are mostly hidden anyway. The blue and red plastic rings surrounding the MMCX ports that denote channel are clearly visible and integrated well into the design. Like everything else in TinHiFi's lineup, the T3 looks and feels much more expensive than it is.

    The cable does too. The gold and silver, two-toned silver plated cable that comes with the T3 demolishes what you get with similarly priced competition. At this price you generally see more traditional black rubber sheathed cables, or stiffer, thinner braided or twisted cables. Heck, the T3's cable still shines next to those included with much more expensive products like the Campfire Audio Atlas and RHA CL2 planar. Not only is the braiding extremely clean and uniform from top to bottom, but the heat shrink ear guides are uniform in shape and length. The hardware for the plugs and y-split are crafted from perfectly machined metal, while the straight jack is a mix of metal and what looks to be silver carbon fibre. A chin cinch is present, made from a big bead, similar to what we saw on the Penon BS1, Kinera Seed, and Kinera Idun. Once slid up in place, it doesn't budge and keeps the cable secure. The best part about this cable, outside of the build and stunning looks (though white and gold is certainly not a universally liked color scheme), is the flexibility. It acts much like a piece of thin rope. Tangling isn't an issue. Neither are kinks or bends since there is virtually zero memory. Microphonics are negligible too, though the shrink wrap for the ear guides can sometimes produce a crinkling noise.

    Isolation is on par with the T2 and T2 Pro and as such is merely adequate. Outside noise bleeds in forcing you to compensate with a bump in volume. Using the included foam tips certainly helps, but I still wouldn't want these to be my primary earphones when riding the transit or in noisy areas like a coffee shop.

    IMG_5835.JPG IMG_5990.JPG IMG_5995.JPG

    Sound:

    Tips: I personally didn't find the T3 particularly picky with tips so they were selected based on comfort. The stock green tips worked fairly well and provided a reliable enough seal. The Sony-hybrid style tips were wonderful to use, but they are a bit too small for the nozzle and work themselves off after a short time. If you enjoy picking tips out of your ears, these are the ones for you. I rotated between Spintfit CP100 and KZ Starlines, both of which stayed attached to the T3 and provided a comfortable fit.

    The T2 struck gold with a near neutral, uncolored sound that was flat out competent in nearly every regard. With the exception of bass extension, there wasn't really anything that needed to be changed. My discussions with TinHiFi prior to the T2 Pro's release had me excited for a follow up that addressed this one shortcoming. Instead, we got an even more technically proficient, but overly bright, dual-dynamic that was nice in small bursts, and at low volumes. The T3 revisits the T2 Pro's signature, but this time TinHiFi did it right.

    Since all I really wanted out of the T3 was an improved low end, the first things I ran through it were Kavinski's “Solli” and Massive Attack's “Teardrop”. “Solli” opens with a building bass note that you feel first, hear later while “Teardrop” opens with that distinctive heart-beat like thump. The T2 and T2 Pro's sharp roll off did neither of these tracks justice so when I could immediately feel a low rumble building with the T3, I knew TinHiFi nailed the low end this time around. The T3 isn't really any bassier than it's T2 brethren, it just provides greater extension and more sub-bass extension. The bass is deliciously textured too, as noticed when putting it through it's paces via The Prodigy's “Thunder”. That first grungy drop at 36 seconds sounds raw and crunchy and just as low-fi as it should. Flipping over to something more downtempo, the opening bass guitar on Porcupine Tree's “A Slave Called Shiver” lacks some body and weight, though the drums make up for it with a snappy attack. Overall a pretty solid performance from the T3's low end.

    The mid-range is really quite nice too. Paul Williams on Daft Punk's “Touch” is so warm and clear with all emotion intact. When he says “A painter in my mind” (1:58), the way the tone builds on 'A' has a certain gruffness to it that is picked up flawlessly, something other earphones suck the dynamics and nuance out of. Switching gears to Aesop Rock's “Shere Khan”, Aes and Ann Colville trade vocal passages back and forth. Aesop's lyrical prowess and distinct, relenting delivery is produced well and mixes in perfectly with the surrounding instrumentals while Ann and her playful, sing-songy performance contrasts with the rest of the track, something I assume was intended. This song also highlights one of the T3's main traits; it is unforgiving. If a track has sibilance, the T3 does nothing to mask it. However, it also does nothing to add to it either. You want to be running well recorded, well-mastered stuff through the T3.

    Treble is where the T2 and T3 part ways, and the T3 takes the T2 Pro under it's wing to show it how an adult reproduces high frequencies. The Knowles driver TinHiFi recruited is a good one. Yes, the T3's upper treble is elevated and yes it gives the T3 a brighter tonality. If you don't like brighter earphones or are offended by how high frequencies assault your ear drums, stick with the T2 and most definitely avoid the T2 Pro. For everyone else, the T3's treble is tight and well-controlled with a realistic decay. This is evident when listening to King Crimson's live rendition of “Indiscipline” where the cymbals crash with just the right amount of energy. We'll be returning to this track in the next paragraph to discuss the drumming some more. Flipping over to some rapid electronic, Savant's “Deperado” is a whirlwind of a track with tons of layers and lots of high pitched effects. With the T2 Pro, this track is hard to get through with everything sounding too aggressive and overly vibrant. The T3 tones it all down and with superior clarity lets you enjoy the smattering of laser-like effects that fill the track. It's certainly a lot of fun.

    The T3's sound stage and imaging are pretty flipping impressive in my experience. While not as flat out large sounding as the T2 Pro, the T3's staging is still much larger than your average earphone. Going back to King Crimson's “Indiscipline”, throughout the track, people cheer and clap, whistle, and yell out to the band. With the T3, it sounds like you're just a couple rows from the front of the stage listening to these people surrounding you. The drumming in particular sounds spectacular through the T3. For the first 55 seconds there is some simple guitar strumming playing while the drummer, Bill Bruford, rapidly peppers his kit in the foreground. The T3 gives it this dynamic swirling effect as Bill goes back and forth around the kit. There is a very strong impression of movement and depth that other earphones can't pull off with the same level of competence. All this is helped along by some fantastic layering and separation the keeps all the elements of the track separate. If you like to pick apart tracks layer-by-layer, the T3 is a nice companion. Since I don't listen to massive orchestral pieces on the regular I can't say how it'll perform with that, but King Crimson can get pretty crazy when they go full improv. The T3 breezes through that. Dense metal tracks are no problem either.

    IMG_5998.JPG

    Select Comparisons (volumes matched using Dayton iMM-6):

    T2/T2 Pro: The T3 is brighter than the T2 but not as bright as the T2 Pro. The T2 has the most forward weighty mid-range while the T2 Pro and T3 are both a little more lean and crisp. Unfortunately the T2 Pro suffers from sibilance that isn't present on the other two. Bass on the T3 is similar in emphasis to the T2 and T2 Pro, but has much better extension and sub-bass presence. Where the T2 twins taper off, the T3 keeps going. The T2 has the most average sound stage and the T2 Pro the largest. The T3 falls somewhere in between, besting both in terms of imaging, layering, and separation qualities. Due to the improved bass response, I found the T3 to offer the most balanced signature, though it will still be too bright for some. It also seems to be the best of the three on a technical level, though the T2's more relaxed presentation will be more welcoming to many. In my opinion, the T3 completely negates the need for the T2 Pro, offering a similar experience but improved in nearly every way. TinHiFi could clean up their lineup by offering only the T1 (neutral-warm), T2 (neutral-ish), and T3 (neutral-bright). It would make sense to drop the T2 Pro since it no longer offers up an experience you can't find elsewhere within the TinHiFi portfolio.

    Brainwavz KOEL: The KOEL is a near-neutral single armature earphone with a glorious mid-range that certainly makes for an interesting comparison with the T3. The T3 is a fair bit brighter with most of the extra emphasis over the KOEL laying in the brilliance region. The KOEL's midrange is meatier and more forward with a smoother overall presentation. T3 is slightly more detailed and less forgiving of sibilant tracks. Where the KOEL will smooth out and remove sibilance, the T3 plays the track as it is. It doesn't add sibilance where there is none, but it also doesn't do anything to mask it. Bass on the T3 offers more extension and visceral feedback, while the KOEL is faster and more nimble. Sound stage goes to the T3 thanks to that airy treble and leaner mid-range. KOEL images at a similar level, while the T3 does a better job of layering tracks and separating instruments. If you prefer a more neutral, uncolored sound, the KOEL would be the better choice. If you prefer extreme detail and clarity and enjoy a brighter sound, go for the T3.

    Final Thoughts:

    Budget friendly hybrids are a dime a dozen nowadays. Good budget friendly hybrids are too. Excellent ones? Eh, not so much. The T3 is one of the few truly excellent budget hybrids on the market right now thanks to it's premium build, overachieving cable, and coherent, detailed, expertly tuned sound signature that continues the trend of above average products coming out of TinHiFi. Add to that some really cool packaging and the T3 is a complete no brainer. Unless you're treble sensitive. You might want to stick with the regular T2 since it's the more tame of the two, just be prepared to give up some clarity and sound stage in the process.

    The T3 comes highly recommended. This is TinHiFi at their best.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock - Skelethon (Album)
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories (Album)
    Elton John - Yellow Golden Brick Road (Album)
    King Crimson - Lark's Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson - Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp - Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom - Converting Vegetarians (Album)
    Infected Mushroom - Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz - Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac - Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy - The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco - F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt - Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bone) (Album)

    images

    1. IMG_6004.JPG
    1. DocHoliday
      Quote: "fantastic layering and separation that keeps all the elements of the track separate. If you like to pick apart tracks layer-by-layer, the T3 is a nice companion".

      Looks like the T3 is a must have!

      Any thoughts on the T3 vs KC2 or K2?

      Sidegrade?
      Upgrade?
      Soundstage depth?

      Sort of in a state of wonderment regarding Budget-Fi sound quality in early 2019.
      DocHoliday, Feb 26, 2019
  4. DallaPo
    TIn HIFI T3 | 1*DD & 1*BA | R: 9.3
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Feb 15, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - stage
    separation
    details
    natural sound
    voice reproduction
    Cons - sibilants can be a KO criterion without equalizer
    Intro
    The TIN AUDIO T2 Pro was not the hoped-for upgrade to the T2, although it was more detailed and transparent in its spatial representation and offered more treble expansion, but it also produced strong peaks that impaired listening pleasure.
    Now Tin AUDIO/HIFI starts a new attempt to silence the critics and what should I say, if you like they have shot the right bird this time, even if the T3 is not perfect and has its aches and pains. The T2 and the T3 both have their advantages and meet at eye level. But the T2 is still the budget star for me, because it stays below the 50 €.


    Handling
    Also here you get the full score again.
    The metal case is solid, felt indestructible and comfortable to wear.

    Optically small things have changed. The case is now almost mirror-inverted to its predecessors. Thus you don't have to swap the sides anymore if you want to carry the T3 comfortably over your ears, which was still the case with the two predecessors. Apart from that, one is more or less forced to wear the T3 in this way, as the supplied cable has earhooks and cannot be carried straight down.

    The cable is another big step forward to what you got before. This one was more filigree and also with 8 cores, but the new cable is much thicker, more robust and better processed.

    The rest remains the same even though the packaging has become bigger and now foamtips are offered in 2 different sizes.

    Isolation and comfort still remain first class.


    Sound
    Now that we have 3 different models to compare, I'll make another comparison between the three brothers in my blog and focus more on the T3 alone.

    Basically the bass hasn't changed, which also results in numerous frequency analyses in the network. It's very clean, to the point and especially linear from sub-bass up to 200 Hz and beyond. It is very harmonic and natural in playback as well. Amazingly, it is a bit fuller than its predecessors, which is hardly due to the construction, but rather to the general interaction with the other frequency ranges, so that it is a subjective perception.

    From the bass it goes cleanly into the midrange without covering it up. Here the T3 reveals its potential and they are among other things the highlight concerning the sound. The dynamic driver, which was previously responsible for the mids and highs, has given way to a BA driver and you can see that. The mids are very clear with a lot of details and above all a bigger stage than before. Voices are positioned exactly right and have an almost perfect weighting in the sound.
    Compared to the T2 I see them in front because of the slightly better balance and separation.

    The treble is a winner at the same time, but also a little spoil to make it perfect.
    Compared to the T2 Pro, it's a good step back, as it offers the larger extension, but also reached very high peaks.
    The T3 rolls faster, which robs it of something like that, but due to the exaggerated lightness of the T2 Pro this was already in the direction of unnaturalness.

    The heights of the T3 are much rounder and still offer enough expansion, airiness and lightness. There's really a lot going on here regarding the details and micro details that pop up all over the head and open the stage wonderfully upwards. Compared to their predecessors, the highs were tamed and perfected at the same time. However, there is a sometimes smaller, sometimes bigger drop of defense.
    This is the increase between 8 and 10 kHz. This ensures that especially in high pitched voices, especially in women, the sibilants come out strongly. For some songs, this can really become a no-go and make listening fun. Fortunately, this is not the rule and you even get used to it. Due to the excellent performance of the other areas, this is a bit more to get over but still not fade out, which, due to the probable use of an equalizer, leads to the deduction in the B note (suitability for everyday use).


    Outro
    It's amazing what's possible for such a price these days. In Germany you can get rid of the T3 for over 100 €.
    The stage and the 3D image is one of the highlights of the T3, but also the balance between bass, midrange and treble is fantastic. The T3 is also more dynamic than its predecessors.
    Unfortunately, the partly strong emphasis on the sibilants misses the step to perfection in this price segment. Here a reduction in the mentioned range by approx. 3 dB can help to take this step! So the T3 reaches the level of the T2, which I still hold on to, be it because of nostalgia, its dry, natural way or the grandiose voice reproduction. The T3 brings it all with it and sometimes makes it even better (stage), but sometimes gets a little hot in the highs. This leads to a deduction of points in the handling, so that the T3 lands just behind the T2.

    LINSOUL: https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/tinhifi-t3-IEM

    ___________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear-eng
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/
      ShakyJake likes this.
  5. Animagus
    Tin Audio T3- A big bang for your buck!
    Written by Animagus
    Published Feb 14, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Great sound quality with excellent performance to price ratio
    Excellent build quality
    Brilliant cable for the package
    Cons - Sadly no carry case
    Some minor sibilance for treble sensitive
    My background- I am a professional musician, producer and audio engineer with experience in the performing, recording and pro-audio industry. I test products on a technical and musical level and try to write reviews as simple as possible from a music fan's perspective.

    Disclaimer- This unit was sent to me for a review. I am not affiliated with Tin Audio in any way and write this review with my best unbiased opinion regardless of how the review turns out.

    Genre preferences-
    I majorly listen to rock, acoustic, pop and metal genres and occasionally checkout EDM music which is doing the rounds on the radio and charts.

    Reference Songs list-

    1. Foo Fighters- The Pretender, Best of You & Everlong
    2. Imagine Dragons- Radioactive & It’s Time
    3. Coldplay- Paradise, Up in Flames & Everglow
    4. Ed Sheeran- Thinking out loud, Bloodstream & Galway Girl
    5. Gavin James- Always & Hearts on Fire
    6. John Mayer- Slow Dancing in a Burning Room, Stop this Train & Say
    7. Switchfoot- Meant to live & Dare You to Move
    8. Linkin Park- Papercut, One Step Closer & Somewhere I belong
    9. Maroon 5- She will be loved, Payphone & Lost Stars
    10. I Am Giant- Transmission
    11. Karnivool- Simple Boy & Goliath
    12. Dead Letter Circus- Real You
    13. Porcupine Tree- Halo, .3 and Blackest Eyes

    Specifications-

    1. Transducers: 10mm dynamic + Knowles armature
    2. Frequency Range: 10Hz - 40kHz
    3. Sensitivity: 95±3dB
    4. Impedance: 16Ω
    5. Cable: 5N 8-core OFC-plated silver
    6. Connectors: MMCX
    7. Jack: 3.5mm

    You can place an order for the Tin Audio T3 at Linsoul with the link below,

    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/tinhifi-t3-IEM

    Included in the box-
    1. IEM
    2. Cable
    3. Ear tips- 2 pairs of foam & 3 pairs of silicone (S, M, L)
    4. Manual

    IEM 1.jpg IEM 2.jpg
    Cable 2.jpg
    Eartips.jpg


    Build Quality- T3 have an all metal housing which is cylindrical in shape. They have MMCX sockets which are color coded (Blue- Left & Red- Right) and are well integrated into the design.

    The biggest bling factor in the package is the cable. It is a 5N 8-core OFC-plated silver cable and looks expensive enough to demand the cost of the whole package. It is soft and flexible and comes with pre-formed ear hooks. All in all, the build quality is excellent for the price.

    Cable 1.jpg

    Fit and Comfort- T3 fits well and are comfortable to wear. They provide decent isolation but not as much as the semi-custom IEMs available today. You can choose between silicone and foam ear tips.

    Sound

    Bass-
    I don’t own the previous T2 so I can’t compare its bass with the T3 but I feel that T3’s bass is present in decent amounts, enough for me to enjoy bass in rock tracks. The bass is well textured and sub-bass goes low to 20Hz. Mid bass and upper bass sounds clear and has good definition. Porcupine Tree’s Halo is a rock track carried by Colin Edwin’s fantastic bass playing. The bass guitar sounds natural and has good definition in track. Similarly, Porcupine Tree’s track .3 sounds great too. I love how clear the bass is in that track. In Karnivool’s track Goliath, the focus is more on mid and upper bass than sub-bass. Moving to modern pop music, Selena Gomez’s track Back to You’s bass has good snap and sounds well defined in the track which is full of keyboards and samples. All in all, I don’t miss boosted bass of other IEMs while listening to T3 at all.

    Mids- One word can sum up the mids and that is ‘clarity’. Mids are on the thinner side which helps in clarity and separation and have a nice and easy tonality. Lower mids have a small dip which reduces the build-up around 500Hz and helps in clearing out the mud region. Upper mids have good snap and sound crisp with good attack. Piano in songs like Coldplay’s Everglow sounds more crisp than warm, and acoustic and electric guitars have good a crispy presence too. Vocals are also a lot of fun to listen to. They have great clarity and presence, and do not get honky or irritating anywhere. Drums sound punchy too with kick and snare in songs like Our Lady Peace’s ‘Do you like it’ sounding particular good with good smack and attack.

    Treble- Treble also has good clarity and sounds airy and open though a bit grainy sometimes. The sibilant region of 7-10kHz is a bit conditional. FYI, I am quite sensitive to this region but I hear sibilance in tracks that are either sibilant or tending sibilant only. Not all of them. But it isn’t so pronounced that I would want to pull my earphones out immediately or have a long-time problem with it. Besides that, the treble has a nice character and adds on to the high mids giving instruments some nice sheen. Cymbals, upper registers of string instruments and horn sections have good timbre and tonality and are quite enjoyable.


    Soundstage, Imaging and Separation-
    The soundstage, because of nice treble, sounds airy and clean, and doesn’t sound claustrophobic at all. Imagining is done very well with all instruments placed correctly and spread out well with good separation. T3 is an open sounding IEM and I particularly like it for that.


    Conclusion- Tin Audio T3 is a very good package at $59. I was leaving for a road trip when I got them. I just took the T3 along and was immediately uplifted by it’s well tuned sound signature as soon as I plugged them in. It is certainly the best sounding earphone I have in this price range and it can give some more expensive IEMs a run for their money too. Sadly, they do not come with a carry case but for its sound quality, tonality, great build quality and the awesome cable it comes with, I can happily recommend this to anyone without a doubt. I’m sure it’s going to be a widely successful product and I can already see that with the number of orders that have been placed on Massdrop.
      ShakyJake and hakuzen like this.
  6. antdroid
    T3: Improvements upon the Previous Models
    Written by antdroid
    Published Feb 12, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good bass response
    Balanced bass and mids
    Great cable (if you can use it)
    Cons - Treble can be peaky and sibilant
    Design isn't the most comfortable
    [​IMG]

    Introduction


    Tin Audio has been one of the rising stars in Chinese earphones the past 2 years with the release of their Tin Audio T2 and T2 Pro in-ear monitor headphones. The T2 and T2 Pro were previously reviewed by me and received high marks due to their clean, neutral sound signature, and budget price.

    Tin Hifi is back at it again with their T3 model and this one replaces one of the dynamic drivers with a single BA and is a hybrid model instead of the dual dynamics of the previous generations. In this new scheme, the dynamic controls the bass region, while the BA handles the upper mids and treble.

    The T3 is available now at Massdrop exclusively but will be available on Amazon via LSR-Direct, Ali Express and other stores, including Linsoul.com who provided me this exclusive preview sample unit prior to market.

    Accessories & Build
    [​IMG]


    The T3 comes in a similar but larger blue faux-leather box with a window cutout to show off the hardware. Inside, you’ll find the T3 with a slightly different housing and a very premium yellow/silver cable that has quality mmcx and 3.5mm connectors. This cable has heat shrunk bends to it so the T3 is meant to be worn over-ears. In addition, three types of tips are included in various sizes in this set. The default tip is a silver memory foam one, which is a bit large for my liking.

    I never found the T2 and T2 Pro that comfortable to as an over-ear style earphone, but with the T3 barrel being slightly longer, it does help a little bit with fit. While the new cable is gorgeous to look at, and feels great, the hooked cable along with mmcx connectors, which allow the cable to move around freely, makes it hard to get a good fit wearing up. I switched it out with a cable I have that does not have memory wire and it can now freely move to wear it needs to go quickly without re-adjustments. For this review, I mainly used Comply foam tips.


    Sources
    This review of the Tin T3 was heavily auditioned on the Pioneer XDP-300R Digital Audio Player using a 2.5mm balanced cable from Yinyoo. In addition to this primary setup, I also tried it with the Hidizs AP80, and Monolith THX-AAA Balanced DAC/Amp and iPad Mini.

    For music, I listened to some random playlists and various artists including: Norah Jones, Fleetwood Mac, U137, Cigarettes after Sex, Kenny Chesney, Coldplay, Massive Attack, Cocteau Twins, Alvvays, and others.


    Sound
    Generally, I find the T3 similar to the T2 and T2 Pro where they are all diffuse-field neutrally-tuned but with upper end energy that makes them a little bright. Some people may hate this and find it harsh and sibilant, while others, like me, are perfectly fine with this type of tuning. Let’s try to go over it with some comparisons thrown in-between.

    [​IMG]

    The bass region, measured, remains very similar. And that’s kind of true. The T3 has very clean, linear-ish low end, but it does feel weightier and more extended than the T2 and T2 Pro. In Massive Attack’s “Unfinished Symphony,” the opening few seconds has a much more rumble and punch to it then it ever sounded and felt like on the previous models. Perhaps its due to some slight tuning differences, though the vent holes are pretty much the same size and location as before, but I don’t know if the driver has changed within.

    Another explanation is that the mids and treble have been more balanced than before, which would help bring the bass higher up in the mix. The mids are more coherent this time around and thanks to the new BA driver, the details are quite good with improved soundstage that’s similar to the T2 Pro. Male vocals like Kenny Chesney in his popular song, “You and Tequila”, sounds excellent. Likewise, I found Chris Martin’s voice in various Coldplay songs to sound accurate and pleasing.

    Certain female vocals, though, can sound slightly off. Alvvays’ Molly Rankin sounds just a little too high and strained, for example, in their song “Dream Tonight.” The T3 treble can be a little hot. The lower treble has been toned down with the new driver and there is no longer as large of a peak in this region, but there is still some elevated peak starting at around 8-10KHz that can cause some sibilance and some harsh graininess in some tracks. In my measurements, a lot of the upper treble is basically missing or rolled off as well. This was an area where the T2 Pro improved upon, adding more extension in the treble, but it also created much higher peaks in the rest of the region causing some to find it very high pitched and unnatural.

    The T3 luckily lowers most of the frequency response closer to neutral in general, and with a weightier bass, really balances out better than the T2 and T2 Pro. The treble peak around 8-10KHz can be a deal breaker for some, but I found that EQing this area down just 3-4dB and increasing the 1-2KHz area up 1-2dB can really improve the overall tonality and timbre. It removed sibilance from songs from Norah Jones and other female vocals with emphasized “S” and made some unnatural sounding high pitched instruments sound more normal again.

    Wrap-Up & Conclusions

    The Tin T3 is an actual improvement over the previous T2 and T2 Pro and is probably the most balanced of the three. I still recommend it only if you like a brighter sound signature or are willing to EQ it but I find this IEM to have good detail, soundstage, and energy at the price point and with the improved bass, I think many will enjoy it over the T2 and T2 Pro.

    If you already own one of the other two, the decision is probably a little harder. I’d recommend it over the T2 Pro if you found the Pro too bright. If you have the T2 already, it’s a toss-up. The T3 has some improved details, bass and soundstage over the T2.

    In short, it fixes a lot of the user complaints about the previous two models but does open up a new one with the large treble peak that shifted over the previous models to an area that may cause some sibilance. EQ can manage this and make it a very well balanced IEM for the $69 offering price.
      DocHoliday and hakuzen like this.
  7. cleg
    So familiar, yet so better
    Written by cleg
    Published Feb 8, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - sound, design, package, accessories set, wearing comfort
    Cons - none for this price, it's non the ultimately best IEMs ever, but one of the best in its segment
    1-Main Pic.jpg
    Tin Audio were never overambitious and never tried to seize the unseizable. They have found their way - to build relatively cheap IEM models with neutral sound signature - and follow it. After having released two successful models - T2 and T2Pro they decided to try to build hybrid IEMs and released T3.

    I received TinAudio T3 as a free sample in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. IEMs are available from AliExpress for $70.

    Usually at the beginning of my reviews I speak about some technical peculiarities of the models, but in this case, there is not much room for that. The dynamic transducer is rather good, as well as Knowles armature, metal body, and oxygen-free copper cable - there is nothing to make audiophile surprised. However, the hardest thing is to “mix” those parts correctly to get a good sound. TinAudio succeeds in it because you can hear their signature sound in every model they release. It is also appealing that the price of their IEMs is not very high - just 60-70 USD per unit, and you can clearly consider it to be a budget solution.

    2-Box.jpg

    Specifications
    • Transducers: 10mm dynamic + Knowles armature
    • Frequency Range: 10Hz - 40kHz
    • Sensitivity: 95±3dB
    • Impedance: 16Ω
    • Cable: 1.25m, OFC with MMCX connectors
    • Jack: 3.5mm

    Packaging and accessories
    The box of T3 became more complex in comparison to previous models. It sports outer white slipcover with a perforation that leads to the inner box. As usual, the inner box is made in the book style, but now it has a transparent window that shows the IEMs. This makes good packaging even better.

    What’s in the box:
    • IEMs
    • cable
    • ear tips: 2 pairs of foam ear tips and 2 sets (3 pairs/set) of silicone ear tips
    • manual
    3-Accessories.jpg

    Such presentation works really well and the IEMs can be a good gift. They look much more expensive than they actually cost.

    Design and usability
    Another good point of this model is its appearance. IEMs cylindrical bodies of classic style are made of metal and there are MMCX connectors in the back part of the bodies. The shape of IEMs has been redesigned in comparison to the previous models. The general appearance became much better and effective, but, this doesn’t spoil the usual severity that has become TinAudio’s style.

    Due to traditional shape, the IEMs fit well to most ears, providing good comfort and decent isolation. At last the company acknowledged that putting connectors in front is not such a good idea and moved it to the back part of IEM bodies, as it is done by many other manufacturers designing IEMs for over ear wearing. You, nevertheless, can easily wear T3 “cable down”, and in such case, it will be a good idea to switch earpieces around and to get the cable without ear hooks.

    4-Overview.jpg

    The stock cable is very good - soft, flexible and perfect in everyday use. It also looks appealing - a braided variant that may cost quite much if sold separately. MMCX connectors, which are made of metal, have a fine fixation. Jack is made of metal as well and sports carbon insertion.
    The Y-Splitter is made of metal and the slider is represented in the form of a cute transparent bead.

    Overall the look of T3 can be called “expensive”, the build quality is very good and you can easily see how affordable became IEMs, looking the same as flagships of 5-7 years ago.

    5-Without Tips.jpg

    Sound
    I used the following equipment for testing purposes
    • Yulong DA9 and Resonessence Labs Concero HP as DAC and AMP
    • Apple MacBook Pro Retina 2016 as source
    • Fidelia as the player
    • Lotoo Paw Gold Touch, theBit OPUS#2, Astell&Kern A&ultima SP1000 and others as portable players
    • High-resolution recordings in lossless formats (Dr. Chesky The Ultimate Headphone Demonstration Disc etc.)

    Before listening the IEMs have been burnt in for 48 hours with changes during the first couple of hours only.

    This time TinAudio have made a slightly different signature in comparison to their usual neutral one, making T3 sound more lively and it is the exact reason that allowed new IEMs to make a good step forward. The model is more emotional and became more recognizable while keeping non-colored sound and good resolution for its price. Making my reviews I always take into account the price range so I will not repeat it further on.

    6-On A&K.jpg

    The lows are almost not accentuated and this will not appeal to enhanced bass lovers. Still, they are solid and springy and have good depth. In combination with resolution and good layering of more expensive models, it makes lows sound balanced and natural. The IEMs cope well with timbres of this register.

    The mids in comparison to the previous model have become less accentuated in terms of micro-details but slightly focused on macro-details. They have good weight, are emotional and sound on a whole new level. In combination with TinAudio signature neutral sound, this allows IEMs to sound more mature. Detail retrieval is still on a very good level, however, and the involvement into music is good. The soundstage is average in terms of depth and width, the positioning and layering are good.

    Treble is the thing that has been revised here as well, apparently due to the correct choice of armature driver. Of course it cannot boast layering or tonal richness of expensive multi-driver models, as well as their length, however, the treble has resolution and natural timbre. Also, I think that TinAudio engineers have chosen the correct amount of treble and it sounds rather balanced.

    7-Full View.jpg

    There are many competitors in this price range, and I have chosen some of them:

    Ostry KC09 This model offers a darker overall signature with slightly less resolution and more accentuated bass.

    iBasso IT01 This model is more aggressively tuned, lows and highs are more accentuated. That’s why despite almost the same level of detail retrieval and resolution, TinAudio's model sounds more neutral.

    Whizzer A15 Pro Those are good dynamic IEMs with slightly more natural lows (yet without the same depth). In other parts of frequency range TinAudio sound more detailed but less full.

    8-Stylish Shot.jpg

    Matchability
    Of course, the sensitivity of 95±3dB is rather low. Although part of modern smartphones will surely cope with it, such use case is not recommended. The technical ability of T3 is rather high and they require a portable player to truly shine. Actually, even the players of the entry-middle segment will do.

    TinAudio T3 is not genre-specific. The only condition for you is to like the neutral, non-colored sound. They are also moderately sensitive to the quality of recording, approximately 7 of 10.

    9-Again with A&K.jpg

    Some tracks as an example

    Kovacs — Mama & Papa Unusual contrast of lyricism and epicism with distinctive vocals will bring pleasure for any music lover. This track shows the technical abilities of T3.

    Dead Can Dance — The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove Despite minimalism the track sounds full and T3 shows it well, with rich drums, vocals, and percussion.

    ZAZ — Eblouie par la nuit Another way to show IEM technical abilities - a very emotional track that allows T3 to shine.

    Conclusions
    Upon the whole, TinAudio has continued their traditions and this will appeal to their brand fans. Again they have produced neutral and detailed sound in the convenient body. T3 is a good improvement in sound signature that, luckily, haven’t made the price go up.
      pitsel, hakuzen, ThatAFKNoob and 3 others like this.
    1. Killcomic
      Great review! You know, while reading this, I couldn't help but hear your voice in my head like in your videos.
      Killcomic, Feb 11, 2019
      cleg likes this.
    2. ThatAFKNoob
      Excellent review! The Tin T3 are probably going to be my favourite IEM once I get my hands on them!
      ThatAFKNoob, Feb 11, 2019
      cleg likes this.
    3. ArlakTheRecluse
      Unfortunately I literally just bought the T2's, so I'll likely stick with them till they break. Great review, I should have waited 2 more weeks!
      ArlakTheRecluse, Feb 14, 2019
      B9Scrambler and cleg like this.