1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

NiceHCK P3

Rating:
3.57143/5,
  1. techinblack
    Comfortable, yet a little bit boring
    Written by techinblack
    Published Mar 27, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Accessories
    Fit
    Not fatiguing
    Relaxed sound signature
    Cons - Average materials and build quality
    They don’t shine anywhere
    Specifications:

    • Frequency response: 20-40k Hz

    • Impedance: 12 Ohm

    • Sensitivity: 106 dB/mW

    • Driver: Hybrid 2BA+1DD
    This is the second IEM I try by NiceHCK, after the M6. I’ve really appreciated the first one, starting from the accessories. I’m glad they included nearly the same ones here, considering the price range that’s really different between the twos (more than 50$).

    Unboxing and first impressions
    I like this simple but functional unboxing experience: a white box with some information, which has inside a good hard carrying case; inside there are a lot of tips (three pairs of silicon, two pairs of silicon double flange, a pair of foams) and the earphones, already attached to the cable. The cable itself is the same of the M6, which is good in quality – I don’t really like the color, but it’s subjective. This, for me, should be the package of every earphone. Small, simple, rigid, complete.

    [​IMG]
    The buds are good looking, with a translucent blue plastic build. The plastic quality is average, a little bit better than the KZ ES4; comfort, though, is way superior on P3, thanks to its shape and the better ear tips. The connector is MMCX. I’m impressed for the price – more than TRN IM1, which has way less accessories in a similar range.

    [​IMG]

    Sound

    My sources: FiiO M7, Mi MIX 2 with DAC Zorloo ZuperDAC-S and MacBook Pro 2012 with USB audio interface Focusrite 2i2 first gen.

    My files: DSD, FLAC, ALAC, MP3, M4A

    My music: “Colour the Small One” by Sia, “Djesse Vol.1” by Jacob Collier, “Where are You?” by Frank Sinatra, “Ghost Stories” by Coldplay, “O” by Damien Rice, and many other tracks by Queen, Pink Floyd, Genesis, Radiohead, …

    [​IMG]

    Sometimes it happens that you listen to a set and you can’t find nothing wrong. It’s difficult to judge something that doesn’t really fall on any area. You have to rationalize and carefully try to understand what part of your impressions is driven by your personal taste and what’s an objective way to explain the product capabilities. So, I will start saying this is a set that matches my taste, because the treble is pretty rolled off. You hear no sibilance at all, neither any kind of harshness with the P3. That’s the first thing I can say, that’s pretty positive to me, but it mightn’t for treble heads. If you search for a “Tin HiFi like” signature, that’s totally opposite. And it’s fine, because some people don’t like it. So, starting from “the bottom”, the bass is really good. It may be a little lacking of body in the sub-bass area, but the overall scene feels warm and there’s the right amount of punchiness. It’s pretty quick too: comparing the P3 to the KZ ES4, which also are pretty bassy, the P3 provide better layering and resolution. This isn’t a congested bass, nor a boomy bass, nor an over-emphasized bass: it’s enjoyable and it’s one of the better things of these earphones. Mids are honest, with the right space for vocals and a pretty good instrument separation. The signature feels pretty balanced until the upper midrange, which has kind of a notch and falls when it comes to treble. So, I don’t feel mids lacking presence, they just don’t shine. Treble, as I’ve said before, is very relaxed. These earphones are meant to be for the ones who can’t stand any brightness. This means, though, that you have to accept a detail that’s just average and a sound that wants to be fun and doesn’t even try to be analytical. It’s perfectly good. The “problem” is that this sound isn’t really “fun”: it’s pretty boring, even though for my taste it has nothing wrong. There’s a lot of people who just want to listen to music and don’t really need a particular sound signature: this set is honest, and it’s a really good start for upgrading from a casual earphone. Let’s talk about soundstage. There’s an average width that’s kind of holographic, which is good, summed to that bass, if you need something enough precise for gaming. That means that imaging is pretty precise too. So, it’s kind of difficult to explain: the stage is not that wide; however, its depth is discrete, so the immersion in the scene is pretty comfortable. This is a sound which doesn’t fatigue.

    [​IMG]


    Comparisons

    TRN IM1: I’m kind of confused about this set. At first, I thought it was good. Then its slight brightness became too fatiguing. Then I realized that wasn’t a great sound, honestly. It’s more detailed than the P3 one, it’s pretty analytic, but it’s not a solid sound at all. Some songs are pretty good on that, many others sound just too congested and sharp. Let’s say IM1 is not a gentle set. I prefer P3.

    KZ ES4: this is a set which sounded honest before I compared it to other ones. It’s kind of similar to the P3, even though it has more presence in the treble and more sibilance. The bass is less precise, but its body is comparable to the P3 one. They also have the same tendency of virtualizing the scene, which is something that I think the average consumer could enjoy. Well, between the two I choose the P3: you have more accessories, a better fit, a better cable (in my opinion) and an overall sound that’s more convincing.

    RevoNext QT2: a strange comparison, I admit. QT2 are a bit pricier, but I put them here because if you like their signature, you’re not going to like the P3 one. QT2 are balanced but become very bright and sibilant since the upper midrange. P3, instead, are very warm and more fun to listen to. QT2 are an analytical set from what I hear.

    Conclusions
    While it’s true that I can’t find any particular reason to recommend this set, neither I can’t find one to not recommend it. It’s comfortable to wear, it’s not fatiguing, and it suits honestly every genre. Not brilliantly, but neither bad, at all. I found the KZ ES4 to sound bad for my taste. Not the P3, which have some good pros. And they are really good for gaming. I can recommend them if you are not searching for any particular feature, even though I believe the price could be a little bit lower. And you get one of the better packages, in terms of accessories.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. B9Scrambler
    NiceHCK P3: Pearlescent
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Mar 1, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Gorgeous design – High quality cable – Engaging mid-range
    Cons - Price for the performance – Roll off at either end
    Greetings!

    NiceHCK is an online retailer that started developing earphones and other products under their own brand, conveniently named NiceHCK. They have recently seen a massive jump in popularity in online forums thanks to what feels like a big push to get their products into the hands of reviewers. Hi! I'm B9Scrambler and today we're checking out the NiceHCK P3.

    The P3 is a triple driver hybrid with two balanced armatures handling mids and treble, and one dynamic driver running the show down low. Budget hybrids seem to get a lot of flack for shoving the armatures in the nozzle. Worry not, for NiceHCK thought of this. They've nestled them back into the housings with visible sound tubes to channel sweet nothings into your ear holes. People often complain about the use of 2-pin cables because of the various sizes, among other things, that make finding suitable 3rd party alternatives challenging. The P3 is equipped with standard MMCX connectors, so fear not young forum goer for replacing the cable will be easy as pie. How charming.

    We know so far that the P3 addresses a number of complaints people routinely level against wallet friendly hybrids. That's great and all, but is it any good? Let's find out.

    P1000130.JPG

    Disclaimer:

    The P3 was sent over by Jim with NiceHCK, free of charge, for the purposes of review. The thoughts here are my own subjective opinions based a month or so of use. They do not represent NiceHCK or any other entity. At the time of writing, the P3 was retailing for 48.07 CAD/36.00 USD. You can check it out here on AliExpress (not an affiliate link).

    Sources:

    The Shanling M0 and LG G6 / Radsone ES100 combo took turns running the P3. I didn't hear any benefit from amping with the Walnut F1, Auglamour GR-1, or my desktop option the TEAC HA-501.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Specifications:
    • Drivers: 2 balanced armatures + 1 dynamic
    • Impedance: 12ohms
    • Sensitivity: 106+/-2dB/mW
    • Frequency Response: 20-40,000Hz
    Packaging and Accessories:

    The P3 didn't arrive with any form of retail packaging. Just a carrying case inside a plastic bag with the earphones and all accessories tucked in the case. In all you get:
    • P3 earphones
    • MMCX cable
    • Single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    • Bi-flange tips blue (m)
    • Bi-flange tips white (m)
    • Foam tips (m)
    Not a bad kit overall. The case is a good size and well built with the NiceHCK logo neatly pressed into the top. The single flange tips are a bit on the thin, flimsy side, but they work perfectly so no complaints there. The bi-flange tips are a welcome inclusion, but including two sets of the same size is a bit redundant. Even though I think foam tips are the wrong choice for an earphone with this signature, for those times you need extra isolation I'd much rather have them than not so props to NiceHCK for their inclusion.

    P1000122.JPG

    Comfort, Build, and Isolation:

    The P3 will have a familiar shape to anyone that has been following the Chinese earphone market the last few years. Brands that may come to mind upon looking at the P3 are KZ and TFZ since they use very similar shells on a number of models; ZST, ED12, ZSN, King Experience, My Love II, etc. etc. I think that's a good thing because it's pretty darn comfortable. All the edges are rounded and the body fits naturally in the outer ear, though those with small ears might find the P3 a bit snug. Regardless, I don't have your ears and in mine the P3 is wearable for hours on end without experiencing any discomfort.

    Along with a familiar shape, the build is like many of those models too. My particular P3 is blue with a gorgeous pearlescent back plate and in my opinion it looks pretty stunning. This isn't detracted from any due to the mostly plastic build. For the most part the plastics feel good with what looks to be a clear coat filling the gap between the face plate and main body of the earphone. Such a gap is common on KZs using this style of shell and hides vents for the drivers, whereas here on the P3 the only vent sits beneath the dynamic. On the bottom there is a half moon shaped molding line that takes away from the feel a bit since it breaks up what is otherwise a perfectly smooth shell, but it doesn't get in the way or cause any problems. If anything it is an aesthetic qualm that 99% of people wouldn't notice and/or care about. The nozzle is a separate metal piece with a fine fabric or plastic mesh covering the hole to protect the drivers within. From a visual standpoint these nozzles look great, but there is always a worry they will pop off when changing tips. The P3's looks to be well glued so that's not something I'm going to be worrying about.

    The cable is quite nice and should please most users. It feature a thick, two-core twisted design with a copper colouring. It is flexible, memory resistant in regards to bends and kinks, and doesn't transmit much noise. It even performs fairly well in the cold, only stiffening slightly in -16c weather. The 90 degree angled jack is a mix of metal and rubber with an effective strain relief in place to protect from aggressive bending. The y-split serves only to hide where the cable untwists and sends the two stands to opposing ear pieces. This is a great design since you don't have to worry about solders in the y-split acting as a weak point. Just above the y-split is a plastic chin cinch that works well. When in use it doesn't slide down the cable on it's own. Leading into the ear pieces are some preformed ear guides that are smooth, naturally shaped to wrap around the ear, and do a great job of holding the cable where it needs to be. The MMCX plugs are black painted metal with coloured rings at the best to denote the two channels; blue for left, red for right.

    Isolation is slightly above average. Thanks to the lack of ventilation the P3 isolated slightly better than its KZ and TFZ counterparts, but the shallow fit means you're still going to hear some sounds bleeding in. The included tips go a long way to rectifying this and while I don't like how they sound with the P3, I do recommend using them if you need the improved isolation.

    P1000126.JPG

    Sound:

    I had mixed expectations going into the P3. Normally I avoid reading reviews prior to writing my own. However, this wasn't something I was expecting to hear at any point so I read the coverage and came to the conclusion that it was pretty average at best. Now that I've spent a few weeks with the P3, I'm pleased to report that it has an intriguing signature that, while not something I would expect to be universally praised (and it hasn't), is something a slightly niche audience would enjoy; i.e. Those that dislike both elevated treble and elevated bass.

    I didn't find this earphone bassy nor bright, and while its not mid-forward either, the mid-range does stand out as it's ace-in-the-hole, so to speak. The first thing I noticed was that the P3 has a very dry timbre, something that carries through the entire signature. Props to NiceHCK for matching tonality between the dynamic and armature drivers. This dryness combined with a lack of mid-bass warmth forces my attention to the vocals and how impressively detailed they are. Whether I was listening to Aesop Rock rap about his brother's little league coach playing live whack-a-mole mid-game or Sarah Barthel sing about falling in love, the P3 performed equally well. With the P3, I was actively hunting through my library to find vocal heavy tracks just so I could listen to the engaging presentation.

    The low end of the P3 doesn't have amazing extension but it digs deep enough to provide some visceral feedback. Focus is mostly on the fairly reserved mid-bass which I found quite punchy. On The Prodigy's “Thunder” the bass hit with authority and gave a pleasant little thump that other, more well-received earphones like the TinHiFi T2 fail to reproduce. Texture is nothing to write home about with the P3 smoothing out some of the more grungy notes found throughout Tobacco's “F*****d Up Friends”. Again, this contributed to the vocal funneling I mentioned earlier.

    People seem to enjoy complaining about budget Chinese gear being overly bright to make it seem like there is more detail present than there actually is. If you're one of those people, give the P3 a whirl. The treble presentation here is very mellow and laid back with a nice upper end roll off that keeps it smooth and inoffensive. Cymbals and chimes ring with a light, relaxing smatter that remains easy on the ears even at volumes I'm generally quite uncomfortable with. Given the relaxed nature, micro details are something you have to listen for, but they are there. In find the upper ranges of the P3 quite clear and defined, just extremely laid back.

    The P3's sound stage comes across quite wide to my ears, but not particularly deep. It's a bit two dimensional in that regard, but it rarely impacted things too negatively and I could enjoy my music without distraction. Using them for some PUBG (yeah, I still play that) it was easy to determine which side someone was coming from and to track their movement thanks to some great imaging. Determining distance was more of a challenge and often resulted in getting ambushed since they weren't where I was expecting. I wouldn't recommend these for gaming, at least not games that rely on spatial queues to be successful.

    To me the P3's tuning feels like a direct response to everything people commonly complain about in online forums when it comes to Chinese hybrids. Not a fan of bright earphones? No problem. Hate recessed mids? Won't find that here. Detest bloated, overboosted bass? No way! So does the P3.

    P1000124.JPG

    Select Comparisons:

    KZ ZSN (15-20.00 USD): The ZSN has a warmer, darker signature but shows greater extension in the treble with additional emphasis in the brilliance region. This makes it more airy and lively. The P3's mid-range is more forward and clear, but doesn't have as natural a timbre presentation. Bass on the ZSN digs deeper and provides a more visceral experience. It is also more textured, but not quite as quick. The ZSN also has a larger, more well-rounded sound stage. Imaging goes to the P3, but I found layering and separation more effective out of the ZSN's dual-driver hybrid setup.

    The ZSN and P3 feature similar shell designs, both with metal nozzles. The ZSN eschews a plastic face plate in favour of a metal one. In my opinion, this gives it a more premium feel thanks to the extra weight. I prefer the looks of the P3 though. The pearlescent back plate looks pretty stunning. While the P3 uses MMCX for it's removable cable system, KZ rolls with 0.75mm 2-pin plugs. While 2-pin setups are usually more reliable, MMCX has a larger market for third party cables should the stock one need to be replaced. With a product in this price range, I'd say MMCX gives it an advantage since you could more easily personalize the P3, even if for my personal preferences I like KZ's 2-pin system more, especially the one on the ZSN.

    TinHiFi T1 (~25.00 USD): The T1's single dynamic driver offers improved end to end extension over the P3. Treble on the T1 has a thicker feel to its notes and doesn't pull detail quite as well as the P3, but it is more evenly balanced through the ranges. The P3's mid-range is more forward a leaner but again offers more detail and greater clarity. The T1's timbre is much more natural and accurate. The P3's bass feels more nimble and textured, but falls off earlier than the T1. Sound stage on the T1 is wider and deeper. P3 images better but it lacks the same sense of depth and spaciousness leading to the T1 having improved layering and instrument separation. The T1's biggest strength over the P3 is a more natural tonality and balanced tune than is much like the T2, but bassier.

    Build on the T1's ear pieces is vastly superior with perfectly machined metal parts. The P3 take it on looks, however. Plus it has a higher quality, removable cable. The T1's cable is fixed and poorly relived so longevity is under scrutiny. Comfort is also better on the P3 thanks to a more natural shape. The T1's low profile button-like housings are nice but hampered by short nozzles that require a careful tip selection.

    P1000128.JPG

    Final Thoughts:

    Reviewing the P3 has certainly been an interesting process. While the tune is a little unorthodox, it comes together to provide an experience that can be quite engaging, especially with vocal centric tracks. It's also beautiful to look at, comfortable, has decent isolation, and a good accessory kit. The main problem for me is value.

    At 36 USD there are quite a number of products that have a more widespread appeal with their tune and are at least as technically competent, plus they improve on the P3's material quality with metal shells and/or nicer plastics. At 25 USD I'd have no issues telling you to go ahead and grab a pair if interested. It's a good product, but at 36 USD the competition is aggressive and the P3 just doesn't have a killer quality you can point to that would set it apart, unless of course you really like how it looks. As is I do actually enjoy it quite a bit, it's just hard to recommend at the price point.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
      DocHoliday likes this.
  3. DallaPo
    NICEHCK P3 | 1*DD & 2*BA | Rating: 7.6
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Feb 4, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - good stage
    relaxed sound signature
    no sibilants or fatigue
    Cons - lack of details
    a little dull and boring
    treble extension
    INTRO
    NICEHCK now has a fairly wide product range of its own (OEM). There are also a lot of driver variations. It is remarkable what hit rate NICEHCK achieves with its OEM-IEMs in a positive sense. Unfortunately, the calculation doesn't seem to work out for the P3, because it's not bad and certainly performs quite well, but it's a bit too expensive for its performance and can't convince in all aspects. The P3 is a hybrid consisting of a dynamic driver and two balanced armature drivers.


    HANDLING
    The P3s lie very ergonomically in the auricle and are extremely comfortable to wear, where their light weight also contributes. The sound openings are made of metal and bring some value to the case, which is otherwise made of plastic but has a nice color structure.

    The feel of the cable is very pleasant and makes a very robust impression. It is simply braided, has reinforced earhooks and is covered with smooth and supple PVC.
    The isolation is average and those who like their fellow human beings should not overdo it with the volume.


    SOUND
    The P3 is technically sophisticated with its configuration, but everything sounds a bit dull and boring.

    The bass is very soft and rather accommodating than brash. The sub-bass rolls off quickly, the mid-bass slides into the mid-range and sometimes sounds a bit bloated. This is mostly due to the speed of the dynamic driver, which is quite slow. Nevertheless, it is sufficient for many genres and has a solid texture. Sometimes, however, I have felt that he does not act accurately and cleanly. There are certainly in-ears that attack the eardrum harder in the bass range and provide more fun. But that's not everyone's cup of tea and so there will certainly be some who are very satisfied with the bass of the P3 and appreciate its soft, relaxed manner.

    The lower mids are a bit spongy, cloudy and too warm due to the midbass. But the tops are clearer and can spray more energy. However, voices sound more distant and hollow than they should. They are almost never aggressive and provide a relaxed listening experience. Nevertheless, they lack liveliness, resolution, and clarity. They always stay on the safe side, without daring anything and thus becoming more exciting.

    The highs don't dare much either but are just like the perfect son-in-law. Too well-behaved at the top and a bit characterless, they go more ahead in the lower trebles and can also be most convincing in this area. No sibilants are emphasized and there are no sharp peaks. The highs surf on the wave of relaxation without ever losing sight of the saving shore. Here the saying "less is more" applies in the opposite sense. More airiness and attention to detail would suit them well.

    But what stands out positively is the stage, even if there is a lack of separation. It's wide and depicts a pleasant room that doesn't seem too intimate, but the imaging doesn't really work well.


    OUTRO
    The P3 is brave, yes mostly too brave, because it hides a bit behind its potential. Surely the tuning screw could have been put in here again and more clarity in the sound could have been provided. You can certainly do that with an equalizer, but that's a different topic and won't be discussed here. The P3 is a good in-ear both technically and from the manufacturing point of view, and anyone who prefers a relaxed, non-tiring sound and has problems with too energetic mids and highs anyway is right here. The P3 can work with many genres, but for Rock, it simply lacks the punk in the sound. If you have 90% Guns'n Roses, Foo Fighters, Nirvana or The Rolling Stones in your playlist, you should go for something else!

    BUY HERE: NICEHCK

    ___________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/
  4. adriansticoid
    Budget beater
    Written by adriansticoid
    Published Jan 16, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Very good build quality, fairly balanced sound
    Cons - Nothing at the moment
    IMG_20190114_133700.jpg
    Introduction:
    NICEHCK is a Chinese audio company that primarily focuses on selling earbuds, IEMs, DAPs and other stuff related to audio. They have been on the business for a while now and you can find them on AliExpress and Taobao.

    The NICEHCK P3 was provided to me by Jim of NICEHCK at a discounted price in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. You can purchase the P3 on AliExpress here:
    https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/bw1l83ZQ

    Some technical specs on the AliExpress page:

    Connectors: 3.5mm
    Line Length: 1.2m
    Frequency Response Range 20-40000Hz
    Sensitivity: 106dB
    Resistance: 12Ω

    IMG_20190114_133608.jpg
    Build:
    The shells are made of semitranslucent plastic. Because of this, you can actually see the drivers inside(1 DD + 2 BA). The faceplate is also plastic with a "nicehck" cursive writing near the bottom part and rocking an abalone theme. The nozzle is made of gold finished metal with a fine mesh to keep dirt and earwax out. The entirety of the shell has this glossy texture. Meanwhile, the cable is using an MMCX connector. The material used is silver plated copper that is very soft. It is not sticky unlike some other cables I tried. Also it is very smooth. The slider, splitter and the gold plated plug is made of plastic with the splitter having a P3 branding on it.

    Now let's get to the sound.

    Lows: The lows are full bodied. Midbass is big and subbass has an above average quality. Bass texture is very satisfactory and the extension reaches very deep. The decay is on an average level. Though rarely, you may notice the subbass bleed just a little into the mids. Overall I think, bassheads will love the P3 as this is it's main strength.

    Mids: The mids are placed slightly forward. Vocals have a very good amount of thickness to them making them sound sweeter, therefore presented in a warm and smooth manner. That being said, the mids will never sound shouty unlike some other IEMs I tried. Overall, the mids are quite enjoyable on these pair.

    Highs: The highs have a very good amount of sparkle. Treble is very well extended, cymbals and hi-hats are crispy and heard clearly. Although having great extension, the treble never sounded harsh nor sibilant in all of my tracks. Overall, this type of highs make the P3 an energetic IEM.

    Soundstage: The impressive thing about the P3 is the soundstage. It sounds open with a very good sense of depth and width, instrument separation is on a satisfactory level, and imaging is averagely accurate.

    Conclusion: The P3 is very good IEM for its price. Offering great price to performance ratio, above average build quality with shells that are very comfortable.
  5. cqtek
    Artisans of the bass
    Written by cqtek
    Published Jan 12, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Comfort and ergonomy.
    - Suitable for long listening because of their soft, not fatiguing response.
    - Possibility of modifying the response in the lower zone by making a simple mod.
    Cons - Lack of extension in the upper zone, which limits the rest of the sound in detail, air and definition
    Purchase link:

    https://es.aliexpress.com/store/pro...eadset-Monitor-IEM-3/1825606_32959211726.html

    Store link:

    https://es.aliexpress.com/store/1727211?spm=a219c.12010108.0.0.64663e61Vrr4DV

    NiceHCK P3_01.JPG NiceHCK P3_02.JPG NiceHCK P3_03.JPG NiceHCK P3_04.JPG

    Presentation and personal tastes

    I have been an electronic technical engineer for 20 years. I studied that career because my great passion was Hi-Fi. But more than 15 years ago I work as a programmer of production control systems based on artificial vision.

    The sound profile that I like could be represented as ¬. I like the basses present (sub bass especially), present vocals and soft treble but that bring much clarity, separation and detail. I like the natural sound, full of air and nuances, as well as enjoy a great stage and three-dimensional recreation. I prefer the warm profile to V or mid-centric profiles. And I run away from bright profiles.

    NiceHCK P3_05.JPG NiceHCK P3_06.JPG

    Specifications
    • Driver Type: 2BA + 1DD
    • Frequency response: 20 – 40.000Hz
    • Sensitivity:106 ± 2 dB/mW
    • Impedance: 12Ω
    • Cable length: 1.2m
    • Jack connector: 3.5mm in L, gold coating.
    • Earphone interface: MMCX
    Packaging

    The P3 comes in the classic zippered box typical of the NiceHCK store, with no other wrapping or cardboard box to cover it.

    In its interior comes:
    • NiceHCK P3.
    • 1.2m long two-wire MMCX cable with 3.5mm L-jack connector.
    • 3 pairs of black silicone eartips and wide channel.
    • 2 pairs of bi-flange silicone eartips of the same size, white and translucent blue.
    • 1 pair of foam eartips.
    The content is very close to the minimum and the only thing to be thankful for is a little more variety in the eartips.

    Again the same cable that came with the NiceHCK M6. The construction quality of the cable looks good, but its sound quality was not adequate for those M6. In this case I haven't noticed almost any difference after replacing the cable with another one with the P3.

    NiceHCK P3_07.JPG NiceHCK P3_08.JPG

    Construction and design

    The shape is reminiscent of custom type IEMs, but made of hard plastic, translucent blue inside. Meanwhile, on the outside, the plaque simulates a blue mother-of-pearl, with the name of the brand engraved in gold, in lower case letters, whose font recalls handwriting.

    The nozzles are metallic and gold colour. Both have a fine, non-metallic mesh filter that is not rigid either.

    On the inside of the IEMs, the letters L and R are engraved to identify the side of each capsule. There is also a small hole in an area close to the center of the dynamic driver.

    Because they are transparent, all drivers can be clearly identified. In this case, the BA drivers are not in the nozzles, but almost in the same plane as the dynamic driver.

    The MMCX connector of each capsule is embedded in them and is metallic, gold plated.

    NiceHCK P3_09.JPG
    NiceHCK P3_10.JPG NiceHCK P3_11.JPG

    Adjustment and ergonomics

    In this case, and this is a success, the nozzles are not short. Although the insertion cannot be considered deep, the fit is almost perfect: the outer body fits very well in the anatomy of the ear, while the inside barely rubs, remaining as if floating but remarkably tight, thanks to the precise length of the nozzles.

    This type of capsule is part of the select group of capsules almost excellent comfort.

    Sound

    The sound of the P3s is balanced, but dull, with some darkness, rather diffuse because it is too soft and lacking in detail because of the evident fall of its highs. After a few listenings with it, it doesn't seem to stand out in anything in particular, it has separation, no stridency, but no brightness. I miss more air at the treble, more punch at the bass and more definition in the mids.

    And when something is missing you have to see how to fix it, either by changing cables, changing eartips or looking for the possibility of making some mod. I tried to cover with tape a small hole located above the dynamic driver. So, the bass response has changed drastically. Even too.

    I have tried three types of adhesive tape and tried to pierce the tape at the point of the hole, in order to lighten the presence of the bass. Finally I have been able to adjust the amount of bass to an acceptable point, but almost at Bass-Head level.

    NiceHCK P3_12.JPG NiceHCK P3_13.JPG

    Bass (Bass Mod)

    Once the bass mod has been realized, the low zone grows, perhaps even too much. The energy the bass gets is high. The negative point is that maybe it rumbles a little more, which subtracts some depth, quality and stratification in them. But for those, like me, who like bass, the sound changes for the better and becomes a party.

    With the mod the bass can become massive, it may not be of a very high quality at the level of precision or speed, but they do not become fats or blurred and with little recovery.

    By using various types of tapes and plugging the hole to a greater or lesser degree, it is possible to regulate the amount of bass generated. Thus, one can play by modifying the sound in this area until it is to his liking.

    Mids (Bass Mod)

    Thanks to the Bass Mod, the mids also grows in its central area. This enhances the proximity of female voices and helps to clarify the sound. The absence of sibilances is absolute. The voices have a quite natural colour, they do not sound muddy or nasal, but they enjoy a warm point and quite a body. The problem is a certain lack of resolution in this area, absence of brightness, nuances, transparency and greater separation. The mids are somewhat dry, safe, pleasant, but not exciting.

    Treble (Bass Mod)

    The highs, even for me, are somewhat insufficient. The area in general is quite polished, reduced in extension, even before desirable. This roll off drags away the rest of the sound, which lacks sufficient air and detail.

    Scene, soundstage (Bass Mod)

    Despite the shortcomings in the upper zone, the scene is neither narrow nor claustrophobic. The multiple drivers work in favor at this point and are able to generate an instrumental recreation certainly satisfactory, although the depth is not great. The separation is simply good, taking into account all that has been said about the trebles so far.

    NiceHCK P3_14.JPG NiceHCK P3_15.JPG

    Comparisons

    KZ ZS10 (Bass Mod)

    Direct comparison reveals quite a few differences, the ZS10 offers a cooler, sharper and faster sound. But it lacks the warmth, mid-body and bass power of the P3 with Bass Mod. The ZS10 is able to reveal more detail where the P3 is only soft, offering a longer sound and clearly less trimmed from above.

    ZhiYin Z5000

    In my opinion, the Z5000 have a somewhat unbalanced profile. The energy of the bass is superb, so much so that it becomes lacerating in a short time. But the mids sounds more than hollow, somehow unreal, unnatural, with a very particular sonority. The P3 with Bass Mod are not able to move as much air as the Z5000, but they have a more balanced and natural sound, much less strange.

    Conclusion

    The P3 are very comfortable IEMs, very suitable for long listening, both for its ergonomics, as for its tonal balance and treble not fatiguing at all. Well built and very pleasant to the eyes, they are ideal to carry around in their box and be used in public transport, as well as very suitable for listening to the radio.

    But they have a particularity that can make them more attractive: how the lows grow after applying a simple mod. Just by covering some holes with tape, these IEMs reach Bass-Head levels. It is even easy to modify the presence of the lower zone, using different types of tape or plugging these holes to a lesser degree.

    In the most negative aspect, we find the lack of extension in the high zone and its fast roll off.


    Sources used during the analysis
    • Sabaj DA3
    Ratings
    • Construction: 80
    • Comfort: 90
    • Accessories: 60
    • Sound: 75
    • Quality/price: 70
  6. TechnoidFR
    Soft but aliveless
    Written by TechnoidFR
    Published Jan 4, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Soft
    - Non agressive
    - Good build quality
    - Case included
    - Good soundstage
    Cons - Lack of details
    - 2D scene sound
    - Boring
    - Treble missing
    P90104-084007.jpg



    Disclaimer
    [/SIZE]

    This is my first review on head-fi. I'm french so sorry for somes errors in the review but i hope you enjoy it anyway ( and thanks google traduction ). My review will be short because i'm still not very comfortable with english to do review.

    I'm reviewer on Youtube. I discovered Chifi last year and beginning with KZ ZST. Since i have more than 20 iem reviewed ! You can see here : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTKa4DGeCFeThot6rcRqNow

    The NiceHCK P3 has offered by Jim NiceHCK with Black Friday lucky bag for 0.10cts. Thank to him for review in complete impartiality.

    Source : Meizu 16th / OPPO R17 Pro

    P90104-085820.jpg


    Box content


    When i received NiceHCK P3, just have a bag with case for P3 directly.

    The case contains

    - NiceHCK P3
    - MMCX Cable
    - 1 bag with 1 pair of memory foam tips
    - 1 bag with 2 pair of biflange tips
    - 1 bag with 2 pair of standard and thin tips ( with 1 pair directly on the P3 )

    P90104-084526.jpg



    Quality of build
    The P3 have good overall impression, the plastic seems thick and good quality. In hands we feel a really robust plastic. I don't see any trace of glu and the intern part seems good for BA/DD which have specific place.
    The nozzle is in metal in gold color.
    Globally good impression with a design like ZST ZSN
    P90104-084022.jpg
    P90104-084251.jpg
    P90104-085916.jpg

    The cable is weird. it's not braided cable but a classic cable which is braided ( You can see on the photos compared to EP10. The quality seems good and compared to other cable i can't hear difference and it's hard to store them

    P90104-101525.jpg
    P90104-084257.jpg

    Confort
    The design is very similar to KZ ZST/ZSN. It's a big iem with short nozzle. for little ear it's possible to have fit problem. but no problem for me. The big nozzle is not a problem but stock tips seems too "light" in ear i prefer biflange tips which have better fit but have an impact in sound !

    P90104-085514.jpg P90104-125744.jpg
    P90104-102144.jpg P90104-102150.jpg P90104-102231.jpg P90104-102405.jpg

    Sound


    Overall impression : First impression on this iem after EP10/ AS10/ GT600S is the softness of the sound. But lack of details, lack of speed, little dark and boring create bad impression after the best iem for same price. With this,for me it's little too bassy with stock tips, so i use biflange tips which tamed bass and equilibrate the signature.


    Bass : With stock tips i found bass too proeminant for the signature. low mid are too warm and there is mid bass bleed. I found them not very coherent with med and treble. After use biflange tips, the bass is always present but less, more controlled and low mid less warm and more natural. Stay the lack of speed which create relax bass can be correct and smooth but create lack of details too.

    Medium : Directly with biflange, mids are warm but pleasant. Good details and stay nearly natural, never agressive, but miss lively sound. The clarity is good and voice are intelligible. Two songs are agressive but it's the exception. Seven Nation Army just before refrain, the voice of singer is agressive and La Vie En Rose where Lady Gaga have powerful voice but in frequencies which is agressive. But it the only this 2 songs which cause a agressivity problem.

    Treble : The most problem of the P3 is the treble. Very less present, you can FR Graph from Otto Motor review. This the consequence of lack of detail, muffled sound, liveless sound. It's clear and really obvious that it miss treble.

    Soundstage / Separation : Soundstage is good and large. it's in the good average. the sound is not in the front but central of the head. Problem is the 2d sound. all is on the same line
    Separation is good and we can ear each instrument.



    P90104-085941.jpg P90104-085916.jpg



    Conclusion
    After a lot of reflexion, this iem is not a gem or audiophile iem, but it can be interested a person who search a soft, calm and non agressive iem. I work in hotline and sometimes my ears are tired and ask non agressive sound. For the sensitive ear or too exploited or noisy ear, this iem is good thing for hear sound without fatiguing ear. For me it's good for EDM and metal where the quality is correct for this type of sound but forget the classic.
    It's not bad iem but with clearly not equal to concurrence.

    For 40€ we have lot of choice

    If you're interested by this P3 you can buy them here


    P90104-124556.jpg P90104-101259.jpg P90104-101010.jpg P90104-125832.jpg P90104-101136.jpg P90104-085659.jpg

    For finish the album in full quality : https://photos.app.goo.gl/aSkL1K6AwScWj8r76

    images

    1. P90104-101525.jpg
      Otto Motor likes this.
    1. Otto Motor
      Welcome to the world of written reviews. Could you please tone down the image quantity/size a bit-which are admittedly of high quality- so that the page loads faster. I would have sent this per PM but this option is disabled for me.
      Otto Motor, Jan 4, 2019
      TechnoidFR likes this.
    2. Otto Motor
      A general suggestion for every reviewer and every showcase: if most photos were collected in the actual showcase (and not in the review), this would minimize repetition. But this would mean work for the showcase creator...

      Another good thing is linking to imgur, an image database (second link on the right on the imgur page works)...that's what I do. This preserves images on Head-Fi even when they change their servers.
      Otto Motor, Jan 4, 2019
  7. Otto Motor
    NiceHCK P3 – More is Less
    Written by Otto Motor
    Published Jan 3, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Inoffensive, slightly warm sound without irritating peaks.
    Cons - Lacks fine-tuning: bass and treble roll off too early, lack of sparkle, limited resolution and poor sense of space.
    Executive Summary

    The NiceHCK P3 is a 2 BA/1 DD hybrid that produces a pleasant sound image but fails to impress in the details.


    You also find this review and much more on my blog audioreviews.org



    [​IMG]


    Disclaimer

    The P3 was dropped off on my doorstep in the aftermath of the Canada Post strike. Ordering it at a strongly discounted rate had failed for technical reasons. Thanks Jim NiceHCK. Following the review, the unit was donated.

    You find the repetitive standard information here:

    I prefer a neutral leaning tuning with a tight and dry bass – and not a V-shaped flavour. The higher the price of an earphone, the flatter of a frequency response I expect with the mids moving forward and becoming successively more intimate and natural.

    As always, I tested the P3 over an ever growing cross section of music that provided a broad coverage of the frequency spectrum, including naturally generated sounds such a voices and classical instruments.

    Frequency response curves are now one of my standard staples of information in this price class. As to the graphs displayed here: the measuring coupler was two pieces of plastic tubing on the end of a Dayton iMM-6 microphone. No compensation or smoothing was applied. These measurements should not be directly compared to other measurements except those done on the same device, for example the ones I have posted before.



    Introduction

    The P3 is yet another ODM hybrid earphone for/by NiceHCK that follows the footsteps of the popular NiceHCK M6. The company has had a lucky hand with ODM earphones in the past and enjoys a good reputation with customers. As it looks, the P3, their cheapest hybrid to date, aims to close the (price) gap between the M6 and their single DDs (Bro, EP10, and EP35).


    Specifications
    • Brand: NiceHCK
    • Model: P3
    • Drive unit: 2 BA (balanced armature) and 1 DD (dynamic) drivers
    • Type: In-ear
    • Impedance: 12Ω
    • Earphone sensitivity: 106 ±2 dB/mW
    • Frequency range: 20-40000Hz
    • Earphone plug type: 3.5 mm, L-shaped
    • Cable Length: 1.2m±3cm
    • Earphone Interface: MMCX
    • Available Colors: blue, green
    • Remote: No
    • Price: $45 (at the time of the review)
    • Purchase Link: HERE

    In the Box…


    …is the standard NiceHCK case containing the following, neatly packaged:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]


    Physical Appearance, Haptic, and Build Quality


    The earpieces are made of robust plastic similar to the Bro and comparable KZ models…as we have seen it over and over before. The cable is identical to the M6’s and is somewhere middle of the road in terms of fanciness.


    Ergonomics, Comfort, Isolation, and Fit

    …are standard for this standard shape.


    Source and Eartips

    I used the iPhone 5S for listening and the included black wide-bore tips (same as the M6’s) worked nicely for me.


    Tonality

    The P3’s features a slightly warm and balanced appearing sound with a reasonably natural timbre and an image that is superficially good. The devil is in the detail. The frequency response is somewhat linear without annoying pierce, harshness, or sibilance. However, the bass and treble roll off too early, which makes the sound somewhat unexciting.


    [​IMG]
    Frequency response of the NiceHCK P3. Measurements were repeated three times for verification purposes.


    The bass is reasonably well focused and this focus extends into the sub-bass, but there is not too much of a low end – it starts rolling off at 200 Hz and more dramatically so in the sub-bass below 60 Hz: not much rumble or visceral sensation.

    The midrange shows a trough around 1 kHz which can translate to somewhat distant, sometimes hollow, breathy voices that deserve more richness and body. Stevie Nicks’ voice in “Dreams” lacks contour and definition and comes across as unsatisfying.

    Treble rolls off way too early, which reduces clarity, air, and sparkle. Diana Krall’s high piano notes in “The Boy from Ipanema” sound somewhat uninspired. Cymbals in the Housemartins’ “Build” also lack life. Jethro Tull’s “Hunting Girl” combines all of the above with a lame attack, a pale bass, and a dull flute at the top end.

    Overall, there could be more punch and expression. Soundstage, well, soundstage…listening to the rather “crowded” orchestra felt like searching desperately for my seat while they had already started playing. There is only little sense of space. As if I had lost orientation, I could not locate the individual instruments. Similar Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” live at the Wembley Live Aid: the depth of the stadium with the sing-along crowd is not well reproduced – the three-dimensionality is lacking. It almost feels like a mono recording. In summary instrument separation, layering, resolution, detail…they all leave some to be desired.


    Select Comparisons?

    There is really no reason for comparisons but I felt the need to pull out my NiceHCK Bro, which looks very similar but sports one DD and one BA [this model, under different brand names, was not quite loved by all reviewers]. The Bro, which has missed the hype train completely, suffers a bit from sibilance but it has a great resolution, extended treble, and a warm underbelly at its low end (which doesn’t come across as strong as the graph implies). Its sound may be less sophisticated than the P3’s but it is more cohesive and organic. I felt revived re-listening to a Spohr octet (Spohr is a composer) with the Bro after the somewhat bland performance with the P3, which simply tries too hard. A tasty sandwich is often better than overcooked lobster.

    [​IMG]
    Comparison of frequency responses of NiceHCK models P3 (red) and Bro (green).


    Concluding Remarks

    The NiceHCK P3 is by no means a bad earphone, but considering the tough competition in this congested market segment and the fast development of budget hybrids, it does not add anything. It tries to mimic more expensive models but disappoints in the details. The P3 is simply not as engaging and vivid as one would expect in this class and should be re-tuned. From discussion with modders one of the problems could be that the P3 does not get enough air in the back, which could cause the bass rolloff – and an air vent through the face place should be added. The nozzles could be dampened too much – so I speculate – which may cause the treble rolloff – but removing the dampening may make the lower treble too aggressive. Future modding activity will give evidence.

    On the other hand, the P3 reveals how much I like its orphaned little brother, the single DD NiceHCK Bro – at a third of the price. As so often, less is more, and a budget single DD is a relatively safe bet these days. But if you insist on a hybrid, I recommend forking out the extra money for the much superior
    M6 (if you can handle the bass).

    You can acquire the NiceHCK P3 exclusively HERE (and the Bro THERE).

    [​IMG][/size][/size][/size][/size]
    1. DallaPo
      Hey Otto, the NICEHCK BRO are also a hybrid IEM with 1*DD & 1*BA :)
      DallaPo, Jan 19, 2019
    2. Otto Motor
      Thanks David, ich double checked my own review :) and corrected it. Thanks for reading.
      Otto Motor, Jan 19, 2019