AKG K712 Pro

Rating:
4.25/5,
Tags:
  1. FullBright1
    Where is the treble?
    Written by FullBright1
    Published Feb 23, 2014
    3.0/5,
    Pros - comfortable fit, warm sound, bass is better then the 702s.
    Cons - lacking sparkle in the trebles, mids are recessed, low mids are too dominate.
    The AKG 712 Pro engineers decided to  create a  newly designed headphone rebut to all the critics of the AKG sound which they say tends towards  treble extension at the expense of the rest of the sound.
    The problem is, the engineers forgot to put the treble back into the new design after they warmed up the overall tone with more low mids and bass extension..
    The AKG 712 Pro box says......'"Now with 3db more bass", and after listening to these for a few days, ive concluded that perhaps 2 db would have been the answer, as these headphone are just too soft/dull/relaxed sounding.
    Im not certain if the treble and mids are just too dialed back by design,  or if they are just being covered up by that "3 db" of "added bass".
    Whichever, or whatever, these phones have no zing or sparkle in the treble and the mids need an air pump.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. riverlethe
      You might want to visit an audiologist if you think these lack treble.
      riverlethe, Mar 19, 2014
    3. takato14
      @FullBright1 Actually I am exactly right. The drivers are identical. The only differences are the color, headband, and earpads. Perhaps you should use that thing called Google and do some actual research before you post something ill-informed, especially when someone else is telling you you're wrong.
       
      If you think these lack treble you should definitely pay the audiologist a visit, just to be sure. However, I think the more likely circumstance is that you're simply used to horrific nonsense in the upper midrange and treble; commonly referred to as sparkle. It's a combination of mechanical distortion, modal breakup, peaks, and/or resonances, and is very common in many "audiophile" headphones like Grado and Audio-Technica. The K/Q7xx line is one of the few headphones that actually lack these issues but still has excellent treble extension, so it's possible that it sounds "veiled" to your ears by comparison. If you kept these, I'd suggest listening to them for a week or so then going back to what you had before, and seeing what you think.
       
      Oh and, just so you know, the way you type makes you come off as an impudent and condescending prick, and your lack of backup for your statements makes you look like a moron. Might wanna be careful with that.
      takato14, Mar 20, 2014
    4. GLXLR
      It is an updated version of the drivers used in the K702/Q701 I believe, which do have the same drivers.
      GLXLR, Mar 24, 2014
  2. purplegoat
    Updating as I go
    Written by purplegoat
    Published Apr 26, 2014
    3.5/5,
    Pros - revealing, nice sound stage, comfortable, look good, textured sounds
    Cons - can be fatiguing, not neutral, bass heavy music is too heavy, forward
    my first impression: most fatiguing things speakers/headphones I've ever heard. I'm sensitive to bright sound and I'm immediately regretting my purchase. obnoxious and fatiguing.
     
    mid impression: I'm sure if you're reading this you've read up elsewhere on these so I won't get too far into them. there's a lot of great stuff going on here. my big gripe is that while they are marketed as reference headphones, they are not.  I'm noticing a lot of peaks which create strained and resonant sound. only in the treble though really. this makes them much less useful to learn and analyze frequency with. also I find the very high treble a bit too loud and it hurts my ears. for these things the headphones are a 4-6/10 for me.
     
    I'm going to hold them a bit higher for now because they do have one thing I didn't expect: my ears can feel any live instrument played and it's fantastic.I'm sure that doesn't shock a lot of hardened hi-fi crowd but I'm frankly blown away. too bad I listen to a lot of electronic music..
     
    next step for me is to try to acquire a DA8. I'm currently powering them with a Yulong U100 but I want to really overkill them before I give them a final rating.
     
    mid impression 2: been powering them now with an old denon preamp (pma 750). Clarity seems decent, not sibilant anymore. still not neutral, still too much bass. electronic music sound bad on these, acoustic music sounds great.
     
    electric music rating: 4/10
     
    acoustic music rating: 8/10
     
    seriously very unsuited for mixing bass heavy music.
    Current chain:
     
    Yulong DA8 -> Denon PMA-750 (speaker amp) -> K712
     
    The sound is MUCH better, while they can still hurt my ears on the high end occasionally I wouldn't describe them as sibilant. The lacking mid range which left me scratching my head has finally been filled in. I personally could do without the 2k peak. It sounds a little too engaging for my tastes. The real flaw with the headphones is the bass. In my opinion there's too much and it doesn't seem very well controlled either. I can't be sure of the latter comment though so don't weight that too hard.
     
    Anyway my philosophy is anything away from neutral is flawed so for me it's really the bass and the 2k peak. Otherwise no complaints for the time being. I'm hoping to get an HE-6 soon and then I'll really know how good these are (turning into an expensive review [​IMG])
    Final verdict from me (intro):
     
    Originally I had listened to the K712s on a Yulong U100 and they were the most expensive headphones I'd ever used. I was dissatisfied but I didn't feel it was fair. I don't want to be the guy running in frantically, waving his arms, talking complete nonsense. 
     
    I have spent plenty of time with these headphones now. I have A/B'd them with a the Avid Omni HD, Yulong U100, Yulong DA8 (through the headphone out and via the Denon PMA-750) as well as straight out of my Galaxy S Note II. I've pitted them against the Sennheiser HD280, Sennheiser HD25-II, and the Hifiman HE-6.
     
    Look and Feel:
     
    I think these headphones look great. They would be comfortable but my head is too small for them, they droop down the sides of my head. The pads are easy to replace and the cables are easy to swap.
     
    No physical issues IMO.
     
    Sound:
     
     
    I spent an hour writing garbage and then re-listened. The bottom line is I don't like the K712s' boosted bass, I also think the 2k peak (creating a sort of aggressive immediacy is a choice that needs to be considered). Properly amped I liked the K712s but they still sound like headphones against the HE-6's. They sound notably lower quality when it comes to better recordings, but they're decent headphones (even if they feel like they're struggling to reproduce music sometimes instead of just being a window). They aren't sibilant in the treble at all, despite what I previously felt.
     
    I give them a 7 because I don't love them but they're not bad. 
    1. View previous replies...
    2. appsmarsterx
      What amp/dac are you using with your 712pro ?
      appsmarsterx, Apr 27, 2014
    3. MrTechAgent
      Changes in the Tizzy-ness will take place in 20 hours , after that if you don't like them - don't waste your time hoping the sound will change drastically , also to get the best extension in the bass , you'll need a good amplifier , they are a special phone but certainly not for everyone 
      MrTechAgent, Apr 27, 2014
    4. Oktyabr
      Not a bad review.  I actually prefer detailed, unbiased sounding *negative* reviews over gushing, biased, *positive* reviews.  I think yours is possibly in the former.  Glad you think the K712 "still sound like headphones"...  compared to the MSRP US$1199 HE-6!!!  lol
      Oktyabr, Dec 24, 2014
  3. Asr
    AKG's new K7xx flagship
    Written by Asr
    Published Jan 19, 2014
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Relatively natural sound, moderate clarity, open soundstage, controlled bass
    Cons - Relative lack of low bass, lower mid-range, & high treble; amp-dependent performance
    published on January 19, 2014
    [​IMG]
     
    - download a printable 3-page PDF version of this review (link goes to a location on my Dropbox)
     
    k712.jpg
    (click for larger photo)
     
    Intro
     
    This is basically a short mini-review of the AKG K712 from while I owned it for a few weeks in December 2013 through January 2014.
     
    Equipment Setup
     
    - Source components: NAD T533 (DVD player)
    - Headphone amplifiers: HeadAmp Gilmore Lite w/ DPS, Garage1217 Project Ember
    - Comparison headphones: Audio-Technica ATH-AD2000 & ATH-AD2000X, Sennheiser HD598, Shure SRH1540
     
    Evaluation Music
     
    - Boards of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest
    - Carlos Kleiber & VPO - Beethoven 5 & 7
    - Erin Boheme - What Love Is
    - Half Moon Run - Dark Eyes
    - In Flames - The Jester Race
    - Julia Fischer - Bach Concertos, Paganini: 24 Caprices
    - Katy Perry - Prism
    - Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    - OSI - Fire Make Thunder
    - Phantogram - Eyelid Movies
    - Sarah Jarosz - Build Me Up From Bones
    - The Civil Wars - The Civil Wars
    - The Devin Townsend Project - Deconstruction
    - Yggdrasil - Prose Edda
     
    Amplification
     
    Most headphones tend to sound good enough on just about any amp, and although I wasn't able to test the K712 on any "budget"-level amps, I'd imagine that to be case with them as well. I'd say that anyone planning on buying the K712 should definitely factor in a dedicated amp for them, even if it's just a cheap one, as it's one of those headphones that really comes alive the better it's amped and requires high current & voltage in order to start sounding especially good. Case in point from my own system: the Gilmore Lite amped the K712 moderately well and didn’t reveal any audible sonic issues at low to moderate volumes, but at anything close to high volumes it started disproportionately subtracting the bass & mid-bass, leaving mostly only the mid-range and treble intact which resulted in a distinctly unbalanced sound. The Project Ember with the right tube (a 12AX7VKA), on the other hand, was able to push the K712 to high volume without any sonic subtractions and proportionately preserved bass quantity.
     
    And the K712 sounded downright amazing on the Project Ember w/ 12AX7VKA, much better than it did on the Gilmore Lite. In fact, it was so good that I could've easily considered the K712 & Project Ember combo to be a "final" end-game setup, and in a lot of ways I vastly preferred its sound over other dynamic and planar magnetic headphones that I've previously heard, including the Sennheiser HD800 and Audeze LCD-2/LCD-3. Of course there are some aspects that I consider the Sennheiser and Audeze flagships to do better in, but overall the K712 was surprisingly awesome-sounding and held its own against the vastly more expensive flagships. The Project Ember (using a proper high-gain tube) is definitely an amp pairing that I’d recommend too.
     
    Comparison to: Sennheiser HD598
     
    Compared to the HD598, the K712's soundstaging felt more concentrated and continuous, but also more closed-in. The HD598 had a great "out & away" type of soundstage to really provide an illusion that music was occurring a good virtual distance away, but the K712 took sort of an opposite approach and brought everything forward more, closing the distance gap so to speak, but still sounding very open, separated, spread-out, & wide. In a very loose sense, I'd say that the HD598's soundstaging was quite similar to the HD800's in sounding "out & away", which I thought was overdone on the HD800 and made it sound unnaturally large & diffuse. The smaller-scale soundstaging of the K712 came across as more realistic to me and not as over-the-top as the HD800.
     
    The K712 also had a better tonal balance to me, fleshing out the mid-range a bit more (specifically the vocal range) though it was somewhat at the expense of treble quantity. The HD598 had more treble quantity in comparison. Neither headphone had much bass, though the K712 did seem to have slightly more quantity throughout the 30-200Hz range. And despite having more bass quantity, the K712 was very "controlled-sounding" and was never boomy, flabby, or too thick. Its bass was always clear, distinct, & taut and was more rhythmic than deep. But probably the biggest difference between the K712 and HD598 was the way in which the K712 presented a cohesive sonic image that included left, center, & right (the HD598 sounded as if it had a hole in the center) and presented the music as if it were right in front of you (not away from you, as the HD598 did), with more physical tactility as well. Sort of unexplainable but the K712 simply made vocals, female in particular, sound physically present and very much in-front-of-you while the HD598 lacked that presence factor.
     
    I'd describe the K712 as a moderately-detailed headphone with a good level of clarity (not as good as the HD800 in that aspect, which I consider to be one of the clearest-sounding dynamic headphones), a wide & open soundstage (smaller than the HD800's but probably larger than most other headphones), and some marginal lack of lower mid-range, mid-bass, & low bass. That is, it wasn't what I consider heavy- or thick-sounding, and I wouldn't call it very appropriate for music that relies on bass and/or overdriven guitars like metal or hard/heavy/prog rock, or low-pitched male vocals. The K712 seemed to be at its best with classical and generally acoustic music, and less good with music that involved a lot of electric or synthesized instruments, though I could definitely see others liking it for rock, metal, & electronica too, depending on sonic preferences.
     
    Indirect Comparisons: K7xx, HD800
     
    I can't say with certainty how the K712 compares to AKG's previous K7xx headphones, but as a previous owner of the original K701, original K702, and K702 65th Anniversary, it did seem to have the most balanced sound that I've heard out of AKG's K7xx line with the most amount of bass as well. I always considered the K701, K702, and K702 65th Anniversary to lack a convincing physical sound, and the K712 seemed to retain a trace of that characteristic as well, but it did seem to have the most physical presence, particularly when playing female vocals. But most importantly, and the reason why I went with the K712 instead of the Q701, was because of the headband. I've always disliked AKG's bumped headbands on their K7xx headphones and was glad to finally see the bumps removed on the K712.
     
    I was never very impressed by the HD800 despite the fair shake I tried to give it on various amps that included the HeadAmp GS-X (MK1), Luxman P-1u, SPL Auditor, Schiit Lyr, Avenson Audio Headphone Amp, and a Rockhopper-built M3. Regardless of the amp I used, the HD800 always lacked mid-range to me and had too much treble quantity as well, and the only music that I could remotely tolerate it for was ambient electronica, bluegrass/folk, and generally acoustic, female vocal-based music. Although many others have said that the HD800 works well with classical music, I personally could never get past its torturous treatment of violins specifically, as it just made them too fake- & wispy-sounding, and I'm saying that as a violinist.
     
    The K712, on the other hand, made violins sound much more realistic to me with a lot less of the glossy & wispy signature of the HD800, and its smaller-scale soundstaging came across as more convincing as well, with large studio-type acoustics instead of the extra-large auditorium acoustics of the HD800. It was also way more musically dynamic to me and conveyed the subtle transitions between piano (p) and forte (f) properly, including sforzandos, which the HD800 never did on any amp that I tried.
     
    To the HD800's credit, I do view it as the vastly clearer-sounding headphone with a nicely refined treble and distinct & deep bass, but for me it was just never able to convey proper tonal depth & musical dynamism. The K712's higher mid-range quantity and greater dynamic range provided that for me, and because of that I'd call the K712 more musically versatile than the HD800, and in a few important ways, distinctly superior. Yes, I am indeed saying that a $500 headphone can subjectively sound better than a $1500 headphone in certain ways!
     
    Summary
     
    The K712 wasn't perfect to me—no headphone ever is—but it sure was a surprise, even after all the headphones I've gotten since 2006, when I got the original K701. I would've liked it more if it had a bit more upper treble quantity, along with more quantity in the lower mid-range, mid-bass, & low bass (particularly in the 30-50Hz range), but I still really enjoyed it overall and got more musical satisfaction out of it than I ever did with the HD800 and LCD-2/LCD-3.
     
    Although I do think AKG has been over-milking the K7xx line for far too long, the K712 was easily the best-sounding K7xx to me and I think a lot of other people would be surprised by it as well. Certainly not for everyone but it's probably worth a try, especially for those who haven't yet heard an AKG K7xx.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. BunnyNamedCraig
      nice review... I have yet to hear the 598 but was split between buying those or spending more and getting the 712's. i am glad i got the 712's... even if i buy a new pair of cans i am going to keep these for gaming at least. great directional cuing.....speaking of the 598's though-  the "hole" in the middle sounds like a turn off for me. no pun intended.
      BunnyNamedCraig, Jan 10, 2016
    3. BunnyNamedCraig
      and between the 612 and the 712 i felt like if the 612 is properly amped i cant see buying the 712 over them. this is personal preference and this was just from hearing an A/B with my buddies amp and 612. he owned the 712 previously and didnt feel like 712 was "enough" to keep both. i agree with him.... it just sounded like a little less sound stage and less instrument seperation. 
      BunnyNamedCraig, Jan 10, 2016
    4. gab840
      Nice Review Bro , but no comparision to AD200x/2000 as mentioned in "comparision headphones"
      gab840, Nov 23, 2016
  4. 24Bit
    Excellent Multimedia Performance
    Written by 24Bit
    Published Oct 8, 2013
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Comfort, light weight, wide stage, smooth and firm Bass
    Cons - Odd headband design, neutral tone, upper region
    [​IMG]
     
    The AKG K-712 drivers are not the same as the previous K-Series headphones. I feel better having said that. Fhew. I don’t want to bore you with more specification information in the beginning of this review, so I will start off with the Conclusion first. You can read the details afterward. That is just how I roll…#likeaboss

     

    The End Credits

    AKG has created a mini masterpiece in my opinion. I enjoy this headphone a great deal and it will become my go to reference headphone for the time being. She is slick, sexy, well balanced and crazy comfortable. Top that off with an unpicky nature when it comes to amplification and you’ve got yourself a real winner. I consider this headphone one of the best multi-media headphones produced lately. I can’t believe I am saying this, but this AKG headphone can sound great with rock and moderately bassy tracks. If you are a fan of the Hifman HE-500 or HE-400 but are a bit troubled by their fatiguing sound and weight, grab yourself one of these K-712′s or at least attempt to demo one. You will not be disappointed. The K-712 is buttery smooth and soft on the low end with more quantity than the previous K-Series headphones in the past. AKG has done a great job and this headphone is a gorgeous testament to how well a headphone in the mid-tier price range can sound.

     

     

    The Bass

    I realize it is hard for people to accept the possibility that an AKG K-Series headphone can produce a solid low end. I know…crazy right? I was pleasantly surprised to hear the K-712 output very nice low end quantity with proper EQ functions in the mix. Certainly a few steps up in quantity over the K-701 or similar models. Don’t expect a Denon D-1100, D-5000 type low end or anything basshead worthy, but do expect a more than sufficient, well balanced and divinely executed low end. It seems the K-712 is a bit voracious when it comes to voltage despite its lowly 62ohm Impedance rating. I’ve noticed that with more power on a higher gain, the low end will reveal it’s true nature. Directly fed by my ALO International on High Gain, the experience is sufficient on the low end only with proper EQ of my portable source. Without it, the headphone sounds like a typical AKG headphone: lean on the low end and a bit thin overall. However, driven by my Burson Conductor SL the experience is exceedingly smooth and more than plentiful for me in sheer quantity so long as my source is capable of pushing solid low end. Broad and stark neutral, this headphone is a great contrast to something like the Audeze bass experience, which is much more focused and in your face, less broad sounding and much harder on the slam effect than the K-712′s softer tone.

     

     

    The Mids

    No one quality in this headphone stands out from the rest. V-shape is totally absent from this headphone, which to me is a great thing. I hate recessed midrange or either of the three major quality factors ( Bass, Mids, Highs ) appearing more prominent than the other two in a physical sense. This is a very linear experience throughout the spectrum, very flat and well balanced sounding. Exceptional for multimedia usage and gaming in general. Dare I even say this is one of the best gaming and media headphones I’ve heard in many years.

    Vocals seem a bit loose and panicked in their upper most areas, nothing serious and for the price I consider them very well set up. Not too relaxed but also not truly forward. This is not a common trait for a headphone with a stereo image that tall and wide, typically this type of sound stage experience results in a more relaxed and pushed back vocal experience. Somehow, AKG avoided that and pushed the mids upward just enough to blend seamlessly with the Bass and Highs.


     
    Tracks like Jamie Foxx’s – Why off his album titled Intuition result in an unexpected smooth and balanced sound signature that I was not at all ready for. Upon first listen, I expected this headphone to be a clone of the K-701 with some minor tweaks, but was pleasantly surprised when that midrange and low end seemed more powerful and tonally balanced together. Certainly not as aired out or separated as the previous models before it, however the K-712 seems to produce exceptionally smooth and buttery bass along with the majority of the midrange. My only gripe is that the upper most area of the midrange seem a bit nasal to my ears, producing a little too much bite and hiss on notoriously sibilant tracks you might have in your collection. If the track is sibilant, the K-712 will sound sibilant. It is not at all a forgiving headphone when it comes to the upper midrange and above.

     

    The Highs

    The major flaw of this headphone is certainly the upper region. I find it too unforgiving and too true to the track. It will sound sibilant and harsh if your track happens to sound that way, so do not expect a forgiving experience and soft natured upper regions on his headphone. Despite that, the highs are very responsive and require an excellent amplifier to properly tame. Properly tamed by my Burson Conductor SL using the 9018 chip, a Dac Chip that is one of the most beautifully dynamic and forgiving on the upper regions piece of equipment I’ve ever experienced, the entire K-712 journey on the upper region ends up inverting itself into a relaxed presentation. Summed up, use an amplifier known for stereo imaging qualities and very smooth, forgiving highs and you will be rewarded with a highly dynamic and tonally balanced experience throughout the entire audio spectrum.  Beautiful. So beautiful in fact, I stopped using my Sennheiser HD700 completely. I have no desire to use it now, as I enjoy the flavor and overall balanced sound signature of the K-712 even more.

     

     
    Bonus: Can’t do better than the Burson Conductor SL in my opinion, the amplifier literally made my ears melt with its sheer awesomness and ability to mesh with anything I tossed at it. From the LCD-3 to the K-712, the Conductor SL made everything sound great. Everything.


     

     

    Stereo Imaging

    I can easily consider this K-712 a drastic improvement over the last generation of K-Series headphones, it really does seem more precise and more solid sounding than anything before it. With that, the stereo image separation takes a nose dive and turns into something more focused, more realistic and less splashy as the prior K-701 sounded. There is such a thing as having too large of a sound stage, as with that large stereo width comes the potential of the image sounding overly thin, stretched out and with a looming sense of ” something just isn’t right “. Thankfully, the K-712 fixed all of that and improved the sound stage quality in general, but lessened the overall width and separation by a fair degree. Expect a very nice stereo width with good separation qualities and good height, a solid low end combined with a solid midrange makes this headphone fairly well rounded. In fact, it might be the only well rounded AKG headphone I’ve ever heard.

    [​IMG]
    The K-712 sounds a lot like the Sony MA900, which itself is a fantastic value, one that I consider better for movies and media in general due to being feather light and more noggin’ friendly with respect to it’s simple headband. Liked the MA900? You are going to love the K-712. Despite the MA900 not having the excellent pinpoint accuracy and less clarity all across the board vs the K-712, it still remains, in my opinion, the best all purpose headphone ever produced.

    This headphone still sounds like a typical AKG set of cans with regard to the overall coloration and presentation flavor, which is somewhere between natural and studio monitor. Hard to say what the real sound type is here because the sound signature drastically changed when I swapped my Burson Conductor SL’s 9018 chip for the very warm 1793 chip, which itself is an upgraded dac chip similar to the one in the original Burson HA-160. Depending on the headphone, you’ll want to swap out. No question the 9018 is more clear, dynamic and solid, but the overall warmth and coloration of the K-712 almost took on an Audeze house flavor with that 1793 chip in the mix: Natural and a bit warm on the low end. Where as with the 9018 chip, the K-712 tended to sound more like the Hifiman headphones. Nice to see this K-712 responds marvelously well to different amplification sound signatures. At 64ohm impedance, the headphone is very easy to drive and functions very nicely off my iBasso DX50 even on low gain, but I suggest trying to acquire a better source with regard to bass output to do the K-712 justice on the low end.

    For some reason, more power and driving force equates to a better bass experience. Taken from an already smooth and lean low even via just my DX50 and ALO Internation for example, to one of the smoothest low end experiences with plenty of quantity that I’ve heard in years with the Burson. The bass quality rivals the Hifiman HE-500, which in my opinion has one of the most pure low ends in it’s price tier. I think the K-712 with proper amplification and dacs can achieve stunning clarity on the low end and mid range. Again though, watch out for that upper region as it is very unforgiving. Thankfully, the Burson really tamed it and toned it way down.

     

    Final Thoughts

    No doubt about it, the K-712 is a real winner in my book. I’ve been using it a lot with online gaming and movies in general. Recently, a petition appeared in some online gaming communities to have me banned from playing on my favorite servers. I can hear the enemy from so far away and with such precision due to that wide stereo image, that I often get kicked out of the game by the server owners who think I am hacking. I admit, on some instant replays after I get my easy kills, it does seem like I had some type of foresight to know exactly where said enemy will be appearing behind, popping up out of or jumping over. As a gamer, I’ve never been happier. I consider the K-712 one of the best overall gaming headphones to date and have enjoyed every second of usage with it online. The headphone is very pinpoint accurate and due to it’s light weight design at around 240grams, it can be worn indefinitely and easily for hours if need be during your late night gaming sessions.

    images.jpg
     
    Bonus: Borderlands 2 is an Audiophiles playland in digital format. If you are an audio junky, do not miss this game. It has some of the most dynamic and professionally rigged audio in all of gaming history. Highly immersing, highly engaging and accurate. Bullets, explosions and character interactions are beautiful and recorded with extreme love, affection and detail and the entire Borderlands pilgrimage is nothing short of stunning with the K-712.

     
    2.jpg
    Keep an ear out for movies with poorly recorded upper regions, as bullets, explosions and screams are just too painful on the K-712 to begin to bare for me in some bluray and dvd movies. Without the Burson or a good receiver in the mix, I tread carefully when it comes to media usage in general. No fault of the K-712, it is certainly the fault of the films sound editor failing to do his job properly most of the time. Sometimes, the treble can get too hot, so be careful with those action movies or Shia LaBeouf incessant screaming scenes.

    Despite the lightweight design, AKG still hasn’t learned that the giant halo design is undesirable. The K-550 has a beautifully designed and simplistic headband with a similar sized earcup design, so I see no reason for reverting right back to the Dark Ages of Audio when headbands were designed the way most AKG headphones are. The upper region is too unforgiving and unreflective of it’s price tag and require a dac or amplifier that can tame it. However, all other sonic qualities remain gorgeous. The K-712 is beautiful, boasting exceptional smoothness on the low end, a highly immersing stereo image and is something that will make online gamers very happy. AKG will be releasing the K-812 very soon and I am certainly willing to fight someone over a pit of acid and spikes just to be among the first to hear or review it.

    8.5/10 Great Job, AKG!

    --------------------------------

    Technical Specifications

    GENERAL

    Headphone type open
    Audio Frequency bandwidth 10 to 39800 Hz
    Sensitivity headphones 105 dB SPL/V
    Max. Input Power 200 mW
    Rated Impedance 62 Ohms
    Earpads
    Detachable cable yes
    Cable Length 3 m
    Earpads Replaceable yes


    AUDIO INTERFACE

    Type Screw-on Jack Combo (1/4″ and 1/8″)
    Gender Male
    Contacts 3-pin
    Interface Finish Gold
    DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
    Length 113 mm
    Width 199 mm
    Height 212 mm
    Net Weight 235 g


      Evshrug, punit, grizzlybeast and 2 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. macbob713
      Ive been enjoying the K712 for several months now and it has become my go to can 9 times out of 10.
      The buttery highs you describe are right on the money, along with excellent sound staging and deep, detailed bass. These are great all rounders. I've used them with blurays, ps3 games and of course tons of music. I'm driving mine with a Schitt Lyr amp and a Sony ES SACD Player. I haven't heard anything close anywhere near their price range. Razor dog is now selling them below $400.00.
      They excell with all kinds of music, from rock, country, jazz and classical to electronic. I've had the K702 and the Q701 and these are clearly my favorite of the 3.
      macbob713, Oct 10, 2013
    3. grizzlybeast
      To gain a reference point, what headphone would you place over these. You gave them an 8.5 so comparatively speaking, for the money, what headphone would be a 9.0 9.5 or 10.0
       
      the reason I asked this is because you placed the comfort above the sound quality. 
      grizzlybeast, Oct 12, 2013
    4. 24Bit
      In a points game, nothing in the sub $500 category that I've heard can match it pound for pound.  The upper region of this headphone took serious points off for being too harsh and unreflective of it's price tag.  It definitely beat the Hifiman HE-400 and even compares to the HE-500 in some ways.  The HE-500 certainly has better highs and a better sense of dynamics in the front of the stereo image, more layering and texture.  The K-712 sounds flatter.  I think the K-712 is the Alpha Lion of the sub $500 open headphones, despite the out of place upper regions experience.  
      24Bit, Oct 12, 2013
  5. NA Blur
    Excellent sounding headphone with some much needed improvements over the K701 such as more bass and a more comfortable headband
    Written by NA Blur
    Published Aug 19, 2013
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Neutral sounding from bass to treble, sounds good from a portable player, added bass and comfort
    Cons - A tad large and loose fitting, additional cost compared to the AKG K701, not super easy to drive
    A big thanks to Headphone.com for loaning me the AKG K712 Pro and HD650 for this review.
     
    A hearty thanks to Tyll Hertsens from Innerfidelity.com for loaning me a pair of AKG Q701 also used in this review.
     
    Specs:
    http://www.akg.com/K712+PRO-827.html?pid=1408&techspecs
     
    Frequency Response Charts:
    http://graphs.headphone.com/graphCompare.php?graphType=0&graphID[]=853&graphID[]=4163&scale=30
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    GEAR
    Initial testing on an iPod touch ( 3rd Gen )
    The idea with the iPod is to ensure that it can drive the headphone to loud listening levels and still remain under 100% volume.  The K712 Pro did that and sounded great through the iPod touch.
     
    Full review conducted on my home rig:
    Sources:  PC playing 256kbps AAC or better files, Internal DVD player, iPod Touch 3rd Gen.
    DAC:  Grace Design m903 ( 24 bit mode )
    AMP:  HeadRoom BUDA in single ended mode
    Interconnects:  Kimber PBJ RCA and Seismic Audio Balanced patch cables
     
    INITIAL TEST TRACKS
    Check Corea:  Three Ghouls, Part 1
    Karsh Kales:  Longing
    Maroon 5: Won’t Go Home Without You
    Michael Jacskon:  Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
    Patricia Barber:  Dansons la Gigue
    The Beach Boys:  Surfin’ USA
    They Might Be Giants:  Spiraling Shape
     
    FIRST IMPRESSIONS
    A quick inspection reveals some much appreciated updates.  The headband no longer has bumps on the inside and is made of leather, the cable is detachable, and the earcups are extremely comfortable.  Many of the aspects appear to be "rehashed" from prior designed making many listeners skeptical or downright unhappy with the design choice.  For me it is more about judging a headphone on its own merits than knowing its history and making a preformed guess as to how they sound.  The design is solid from form, fit, and function.
     
    From my iPod the test tracks were very involving and the improved bass was noticed.  I gave the K712 Pro an initial listen in my laser lab where things become quite noisy.  With my head deep inside the confines of my flow booth I had to set the volume to 70% which seemed pretty high for the advertised sensitivity and impedance.  Even on my home rig the BUDA remained on high gain and about set to 1/3 output.  That in mind they did sound quite good at this volume.  Things sounded great and the comfort improvements are huge in my book as I hardly noticed I was wearing headphones while working.
     
    LET’S TEST THIS THING
    Check Corea’s Three Ghouls, Part 1:  This track tests quickness, realism, and treble.  It also tests how up-front sounding a headphone can be.  The K712 Pro sounded full, quick, and perhaps a tad lean on the piano.  They lacked a little of the rough attack the headphones like the HD650 deliver with this track.  Then again the kick drum was much more realistic with the K712 Pro than the HD650.
    Karsh Kale’s Longing is a track I use for general imaging and engagement.  As Tyll will tell you sometimes how a headphone makes you feel tells a lot about the headphone itself.  The separation and sense of space is just awesome with the K712 Pro.  From the bass to treble there is a very nice cohesion and fluidity making this track very enjoyable.  The K712 Pro sounds less tinny than the HD650 here and revealing to the sound image.
     
    Maroon 5’s Won’t Go Home Without You:  This is a track I typically use to test crossover issues with speakers and IEMs.  It also gives rise to issues with male vocals and too up-front sounding headphones.  Most AKG K7xx headphones have some issues with up-front sounding drums and vocals.  I would say the K712 Pro is very similar sounding as the HD650 in this regard, but the airy bass on the K712 Pro is just awesome.  The K712 Pro is smoother than the HD650 on the vocals removing the edginess.
     
    Michael Jacskon’s  Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’:  Another track testing the up-front nature of headphones.  It also tests treble and vocals as with some headphones like the AH-D2000 and K701 can be harsh.  No doubt here even though the K712 Pro sounds nice with this track they are bright and up-front.  The HD650 removes the harshness at the cost of some realism in the bass guitar.  If you are an engineer looking to find issues with treble these are good headphones for that.  As for home listening the treble may find itself EQed down a bit.  Dropping 315Hz, 400Hz, as well as 3150Hz and 6kHz tamed the K712 Pro a bit.  No surprises here as this is what I typically view the sound signature of most AKG headphones.
     
    Patricia Barber’s  Dansons la Gigue:  A great tack to test separation, bass, and female vocals.  A headphone like the Grado RS-1i struggles here as things become too one dimensional.  The bass blurs into the mids and further into the treble.   The richness of the guitar sounds spectacular with the K712 Pro.  It is possibly the best sounding dynamic headphone in this regard.  The HD650 begins to blur the guitar into the mids and there is a strange blurring of the vocals with the HD650 that I simply do not hear with the K712 Pro.  The K712 Pro is definitely a soft jazz headphone.
     
    The Beach Boys’ Surfin’ USA is a track I use to test how even a headphone may sound.  Much like using Pink Noise it reveals any glaring issues like a lack of midrange smoothness, imaging, and even quickness.    The AKG K712 Pro removed the excess hiss on the letter “s” heard on the HD650.  Again here it was more about what headphone signature works well with the given track.  I liked the K712 Pro more as it sounded less colored and perhaps even laid back to that signature of the HD650.
     
    They Might Be Giant’s Spiraling Shape is a track I use to test male vocals in detail, how the kick drum resonates, as well as test the metallic splash of the crash cymbal.  Here the HD650 sounded really colored compared to the AKG K712 Pro.  The Pro sounds much more even from the kick drum through the vocals.  The HD650 blurs the vocals into the bass.
     
    If your music collection or production work consists more of acoustic guitar, drum, and vocals the K712 Pro scores excellently and would be my preference over the HD650.  For music like hard rock the Pro may wield a bit too much bite and up-front sounding midrange compared to the HD650.  As with many AKG headphones this will diminish slightly over time.
     
    CONCLUSION
    The AKG K712 Pro is a headphone that sounds very good and speaker-like.  The added bass is actually very impressive on particular tracks like Dream by Kroke.  Bass not found in the other AKG headphones that I have heard.  It is a headphone I find myself listening to over the HD650 at times because with certain tracks is sounds more full and pleasant.   In the end it is really about preference, but rest assured the AKG K712 Pro is an excellent and amazing sounding headphone.
     
    At $499 I cannot help but feel that this headphone is on the expensive side.  In some areas it improves upon the sound of the HD650, but in other areas it remains hard to listen to due to the peaks at 2kHz, 7kHz, and 8kHz.  The build quality is really good and the headphone will look great with any home or production setup.  As others have mentioned if the price drops to $350 I think others including myself would be all over the K712 Pro, but at $499 you start looking at the Q701 and Momentum.  It definitely looks like AKG is targeting the somewhat lean $399 - $499 market, but I would like to see this headphone around $299-$399.
     
    I also want to comment on the fit.  The K712 Pro is very comfortable and can be worn for hours without fatigue on the outer ear or top of the head.  The earcups rest a bit low on my head making me wish I could further adjust the headband.  The somewhat common issue with the elastic on the auto adjusting headband may wear out like their other headphones, but keeping good care of your cans should prevent that from happening.
     
    My brief experience with the K712 Pro has been a good one and with more listening I imagine it will only improve.

    FURTHER TESTING / ENJOYMENT
    As with many headphones the more you listen to them the better they sound.  This is definitely true of the K712 Pro.  Listening to Photonic Phonic by Magic Sound Fabric via my iPod is extremely enjoyable.  The clarity, sense of space, and generous bass groove is very inviting.
     
    Listening to Go Daddy-O by Big Bad Voodoo Daddy shows how quick the K712 Pro.  The cymbals are super quick and the horns are tame.  Again here the bass is something in balance rather than lacking.  These are quick!
     
    John Williams' Christmans at Hogwarts is another pleasure.  The entire orchestra is in balance and the sense of space with the K712 Pro is very pleasing.
     
    Mo' Horizon's Foto Viva is outstanding.  The engaging groove heard on the K712 Pro is very fun.
     
    Pink Floyd's Goodbye Blue Sky is another track showing off the midrange and clarity of the K712 Pro.  The guitar is extremely realistic and the vocals are not lost.
     
    Cello song by The Books sounds amazing.  The sense of space and the idiosyncrasies heard in the background are quite clear.
     
    Daft Punk's Solar Sailer is a testament to how low this headphone can go.  There is some serious open rumble in this track and the K712 Pro is not shy to deliver.
     
    I updated the overall rating from a 3.5 to a solid 4 because in many respects the K712 Pro is much more speaker-like than the HD650.
     
    Vs. AKG Q701 and HD650
    There is no doubt that there is something amiss with the Q701's midrange.  Piano, vocals, and the overall presence of the midrange on the K712 Pro is much more natural sounding.  The Q701 vocals, heard on Maroon 5's Won't Go Home Without You sound like they are coming through a mic that is coloring the midrange.  It simply does not sound natural at all.  Going from the Q701 to the K712 Pro is pleasing and reduces the listening fatigue from the Q701.  The bass boost on the K712 Pro is very much improved over the Q701.  The bass guitar is loud and clear instead of very recessed with the Q701.
     
    On tracks like Patricia Barber's Dansons la Gigue the difference is subtle.  The vocals and bass are a bit more pronounces on the K712 Pro, but both sound very good. 
     
    With Slaid Cleaves' Beautiful Thing the Q701 comes off as slightly harsher, but the K712 Pro smooths out the vocals just a touch more than desired.
     
    Listening to They Might Be Giants' Spiraling shapes shows other similarities, but the Q701 has more obvious treble in vocals.  The echo in the vocals is easier to make out perhaps hidden slightly in the bass of the K712 Pro.
     
    I decided to conduct a blind test using The Beach Boys' Surfin' USA.  Although it was pretty difficult to pin down which I preferred right away with a little time it became apparent that the K712 Pro had my preferred midrange.
     
    The bass is really where I started to focus once the midrange differences were established.  Juno Reactor's God is God gave rise to some clear differences.  On my stereo system with a nicely tuned sub this track has some serious rumble.  Some headphones cannot reproduce the low end rumble this track delivers.  The Q701 sounded good here, but on the lean side.  The K712 Pro immediately produced better bass reproduction and rumble.  Listeners should know that the HD650 also bested the Q701 in the bass department.  If anything the HD650 has better resolution on this track than both.
     
    This made me move onto Mike Clark's T's Boogaloo where the bass is a little more obvious and detailed.  Some of the air was missing on the HD650 in the very beginning.  The air is back using the Q701, but the slight thump the K712 Pro deliver is missing.  I have to believe that the emphasized bass is intentional in this track as almost every jazz / soul song I have ever heard in person has a slightly emphasized bass guitar.  It sounds more live with the K712 Pro.
     
    The thunder in Dream Theater's A Nightmare To Remember has more body with the K712 Pro compared to the Q701.  The HD650 was much closer to the K712 Pro here and either suits this track well.
     
    Vs. the Denon AH-D2000
    The AH-D2000 is an excellent closed headphone and possibly the best I have listened to so far.  On tracks like Kate Havnevik's So:Lo the Denon is simply too boomy with bass bleeding all over the balance of the rest of the track.  This occurs again in Glenn Zervas' A Thousand Shades of White.  The low notes from the guitar are boomy on the Denon, but with the K712 Pro there is a very welcome balance to the sound.  At higher volumes ( just above long term levels ) Final Fantasy's None of You Will Ever See a Penny reveals a blury midrange image on the Denon while the K712 Pro has a slight brightness common with the K701 and Q701.  Something that a healthy -4dB EQ from 2kHz to 6kHz tames nicely.

    The airy nature of the K712 Pro lends itself to tracks like MC 900 ft Jesus' Gracías Pepé whereas the Denon is lost and enclosed.

    On Bluetech's Enter the Lovely the Denon added a slight coloring of the midrange sounding a bit tinny.  The AKG K712 Pro adds a nice digital rising edge to the beats heard at 2:58 unlike the Denon which feels decayed.  A fun track with both headphones, but the AKG K712 Pro is definitely the more neutral sounding.

    My goal here is to compliment the bassy and somewhat fun sounding Denon with a more technically correct headphone like the K712 Pro.  Leave the thumping and enclosed tracks to the Denon and add air and crisp treble with the AKG.
     

    Vs. the HE-500
    Frequency Charts
    http://graphs.headphone.com/graphCompare.php?graphType=0&graphID[]=4163&graphID[]=3241&scale=30
     
    Pink Noise Test
    Source:  Ayre Acoustic’s Irrational, But Efficacious CD
    Compression: None
     
    The AKG sounds peaky in the sub-bass and treble while the HE-500 is much more even across the entire frequency range.
     
    Brown Noise Test
    The AKG again has a peak in the sub-bass while the HE-500 is darker sounding which is what I would expect from the Brown downward slope in the frequency response.
     
    Music Testing
     
    Marcus Miller’s Gorée (Go-ray)
    This is a great track for quickness heard in the cymbals.   It also tests for honkiness in the sax.
     
    The HE-500 and K712 Pro both due quite well with this track.  The HE-500 adds some treble to the sound of the cymbals making them sound more metallic, but there is a blurring effect that keeps the cymbals from sounding their best.  The AKG K712 Pro is more up-front and reveals that harshness of some of the sax notes while the HE-500 smooths out the sax.  The sub-bass is more pronounced with the AKG K712 Pro, but the snap of bass string is lost with the HE-500.
     
    Both headphones sound great with this track.  The HE-500 is more realistic with the cymbal splash while the AKG K712 Pro is more obvious with the sound of the bass guitar strings.
     
    Dion’s Tarraplane Blues
    This track tests male vocals, guitar, and the sound of decay within the drum machine.
     
    The quick punch of the drum machine is swifter on the HE-500, but the AKG K712 Pro is just about as quick.  The vocals, being more up front on the K712, are more enjoyable and intimate compared to the HE-500.  Better matching the loudness brings the two headphones even closer together.  The sound of the drumstick hitting the side of the snare is more obvious on the HE-500, while obscured in the vocals on the AKG K712.
     
    MC 900 ft Jesus’s Bill's Dream
    A test track used to hear how real the drums sound and how much air is present.
     
    The HE-500 sounds quicker on drums and less sub-bassy.  There is some treble extension on the K712 not heard on the HE-500 most noticeably on the pitter patter of the drum head and metal sound on the cymbals.   The HE-500 shades the cymbals and pushes the pitter patter of the drums too far back.
     
    Mo´ Horizons’s Soho Vibes
    A track that testing everything from bass to cymbals with emphasis on the midrange vibes.
     
    This track has the clearest difference between the two headphone other than the pink noise.  The HE-500 hides the metal splash of the cymbals within the sound of the vibes.  There is also a ringing sensation on the vibes with the HE-500 not heard with the K712.  The echo from the drumstick hitting the side of the snare is more rounded and smooth with the K712 and square wave sounding with the HE-500.
     
    Conclusions:
    Both headphones are commendable.  The HE-500 flat throughout the frequency response, but at times square wave sounding with analog instruments and blurring treble into the midrange at times.  The sub-bass peak of the K712 is very obvious on many tracks, but often presents cymbals and vocals in a more pleasing way.  There are more signs of echoes and other positional cues on the K712 than the HE-500.
     
    For the price the AKG K712 Pro does quite well against the more expensive HE-500.  The sub-bass is the main problem for the AKG while the HE-500 tends to hide detail and positioning cues.   The HE-500 begins to reveal these cues at volumes above which I am comfortable listening.
    The HE-500 reminds me of the HD650 sans the added treble.  It is an easy going headphone while the AKG is more up-front.
     
    Additional testing:
    None of You Will Ever See a Penny by Final Fantasy reveals how the HE-500 hides the sound of the reverberation of the stringed instruments while the AKG presents a more hollow and lively sound.  The HE-500 sounding square wave in nature with no decay.
     

    Vs. the modified Sennheiser HD800

    Mod reference: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/diy-modification-sennheiser-hd-800-anaxilus-mod

     

    I borrowed this modified HD800 from Tyll and although he thinks the mod does not drastically change the sound of the HD800, he does admit that it plays a key roll in getting the most out of a pair of stock HD800 headphones.

     

    To me the stock HD800 is a bit digital sounding, Tyll uses the term “steely”.  It sounds almost too quick and trebly at times.

     

    Pink Noise

    I use pink noise to find peaks or valleys in the frequency response.  If something stands out or becomes harsh in using pink noise chances are it will sound that way when listening to music.

     

    The HD800 sounds very smooth below 500Hz, but there is a definite peak somewhere above 500Hz that my ear is picking up on as fatiguing.  Compared to the K712 Pro which sounds much more even in the treble, but the sub-bass component is prominent.  Here it seems is a flavor choice.

     

    Using Quentin Dujardin’s track 1977 I shift my focus to music listening.  The K712 Pro is very musical, sweet sounding with the guitar plucks and the wisps of ambience which appear to be the artist breathing.  The treble is very nicely neutral and the location cues from the treble are very easy to home in on.  The guitar string sound is moved to the background with the K712 Pro and obscured compared to the HD800.  I hear more of the resonance of the guitar body rather than the pluck of the strings with the K712 Pro whereas the strings are much more focused with the HD800.  The HD800 is easier to listen to with this track.

     

    Using Mike Murray’s Hello Market track I move onto dynamics.   The resolving power of the HD800 and soundstage is simply amazing with the HD800.  The separation of each instrument is lost with the K712 Pro and again we hear a blurring of the midrange.  I cannot help but think that the modded HD800 softens the entire frequency spectrum compared to the K712 Pro making it easier to listen to on this track.

     

    Starting up Bluetech’s Enter the Lovely track reveals other differences.  The HD800 brings immediate focus on the ticking with some brightness felt.  I hear more resonance on the ticks with the K712 Pro.  The K712 Pro emphasizes the lower frequencies more than the HD800, while the HD800 is focused on the midrange.  The K712 Pro has a definite sub-bass emphasis compared to the HD800 giving it more body there, but it still sounds blurry compared to the HD800.

     

    The last track I compared these headphones with is MC 900 ft Jesus’ Gracías Pepé.  The airiness of this track is lost using the HD800.  It sounds like the HD800 has more treble focus and smooths out the track by removing some of the harmonics in the midrange frequencies.  This track makes the two headphones sound surprisingly similar which is a good think for the much less expensive K712 Pro.  I have no preference on this track.  Again this is coming down to focus.  The HD800 focused on attack and treble separation while the K712 Pro is more midrange centered and revealing in airiness.

     

    The HD800 appears to have fewer reflections in its resonance making it very revealing and resolving.  The K712 Pro is blurry by comparison.  The primary differences between these two headphones are the resolving power of the HD800, the sub-bass impact of the K712 Pro, and the blurring of the midrange on the K712 Pro.  If money were no object I would easily go for the HD800.  Everything from my reference collection I throw at it sounds amazing.  The K712 Pro does a great job, but compared to the HD800 one can hear the blurring.

     
    HOW DOES ORCHESTRAL SOUND WITH THE K712 PRO?
    Giuseppe Sinopoli and The New York Philharmonic's Pictures At an Exhibition sounds very full, realistic, and wonderful with the K712.  The reverberation of the brass, the kind thump of the bass, and even the horns are all in place.
     
    Moving onto the Les Sylphides VIII: Valse by the Berliner Philharmoniker Herbert von Karajan is elegant, pleasing, and truly mastered by the K712.  The fullness of the track along with the minute idiosyncrasies heard are put to good use with the K712.
     
    Leopold Stokowski and the original Decca recordings 1965-1972 of JS Bach's Prelude in E-Flat Minor is simply stunning with the K712 Pro.  Full, vibrant, and well balanced throughout this track is something that really drives emotion.  Nothing sounds out of place, but I feel that the strings are uneven sounding and unrealistic with this track.  I do think it is more the recording than how the K712 reveals the strings to be.  The Dialogue of the Wind and the Sea from this album is also worth a listen.  The imaging is spectacular and the low bass rumble is something not commonly heard with other headphones.
     
    Alaine Fink and George Vosburgh's Intrada for Trumpet and Piano is quite mellow for such a vivid trumpet piece.  The imaging for the piano is also quite good and not lost among the trumpet's more in your face attitude.
     
    Moving into a vocal recordings I started up Veronique Gens' Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Laudamaus.  Again the detail and the hints of echo, the vibration of the strings, and the closeness of the vocals were all amazingly reproduced with the K712.
     
    The English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807: V.Bouree I/II by JS Bach from Menuetto Classics is about as close to a harpsichord as I have ever been.  I felt as if I was there when it was played.  The Suite for Violoncello Solo No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007: I, Prelude by JS Bach is another extremely realistic piece on the K712.  This track is a must have for classical listeners!  The Complete Cello Suites from Klaus-Peter Hahn is really a bargain and well worth looking into if you want to round out your collection.
     
    I think the K712 Pro is an excellent if not amazing headphone for classical listening.  It adds a sense of vibrance, life, and detail not heard in many other headphones.
     
    WHICH DO I PREFER AND WHY?
    I must say the K712 Pro holds its own.  It may be bassy on some tracks, but to me this is a good thing.  The pleasing midrange is extremely easy to listen to and discernibly more even than that of the Q701.  On some tracks the Q701 is more airy with a definite issue with the midrange.  The HD650 and K712 Pro trade off every other track I throw at them as to which I prefer, but on the occasional track the HD650 sounds strangely thin in the bass.  If you are looking for a more budget headphone the HD650 can often be found on sale making it truly enticing.  The K712 Pro offers better clarity and a less blurry image on the low end.  The Q701 has some issues with the midrange and slight lack of bass.
     
    Need a track to figure which you prefer?  Try Medeski, Martin & Wood's Chubb Sub.  The bass is ever so slightly blurry with the HD650.  The slight harshness of the Q701 also blurs the low end.
     
    All three are excellent headphones and this test really brings it home how great each is in their own right.  To me the K712 Pro does what the others strive for only better.
     
    IS IT JUST THE PADS THAT CHANGE THE SOUND?
    I tested the Q701 and K712 Pro without pads.  I simply left off the pads of each and did immediate swap testing.  My BUDA continuously drives both headphones during this test.  It looks like the drivers are the same, but the resonator is different.  The Q701 has a noticeably different and somewhat tinny sounding midrange compared to the K712 Pro.  Both sound much closer to one another than I initially thought would be the case suggesting that there is no doubt benefit to the new pads.  To my ears the change in sound is more than just the pads, but the pads make the biggest difference.  With the K712 Pro pads on the Q701 there is more meat to the bass, but the mids did not sound quite right.
     
    The AKG K712 Pro still sounds its best with the K712 Pro pads, but if you want a poor-mans version of the K712 Pro adding these pads to existing Q701 / K701 will get you very close.
     
    I did this testing with Marcus Miller's Redemption and Mo' Horizons' Foto Viva.  It took me these tracks to start hearing the differences.  I think initially I had the Q701 pads installed incorrectly as it sounded worse.  I installed the pads on the Q701 with the thicker side facing back and the Q701 returned to its former glory.  Again it came down to how much meat was on the low end and something in the mid range on the Q701 is tinny in comparison, but it is close.
     
    A FEW OTHER TRACKS OF NOTE
    Emiliana Torrini's Ha-Ha ( Vocals )
    Santiago Vazquez's Azul Sangre ( Neutrality and soundstage )
    The Doobie Brothers's A Brighter Day ( Quickness on drums, bass guitar )
    Thelonious Monk's Rhythm-A-Ning ( Speed, Jazz )
     
    2016 Update
    After much debate I decided to include a long-term listening update. The primary idea behind this is to give a brief review of the AKG K712 Pro after owning it for years. The score of this entire review has been adjusted due to this update.
     
    Due to the rather weak adjustment system on the K712 Pro the fit comfort score has been lowered. Several users including myself find that the earcups rest too low on the ears not only making it uncomfortable, but the sound suffers too.
     
    The price seems high considering it is a tuning of the K701(2). It would have been an excellent choice to add a few more dB of bass to separate it from the other K7yy line of headphones.
     
    With planars like the HiFiMAN HE-400s and HE-400i within the price point of the K712 Pro it is hard to recommend. These planars sound more coherent, have larger drivers, are more comfortable, and deliver deep linear bass.
      guerillaw, JanS19 and aiyagari like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. owatito
      Great!! men, you would say that complements the HD650?, and I have a hd 650, you say that is a difrente the profile of the HD650? or is very similar?
       
      I want to "complement" my audio equipment.
      owatito, Mar 6, 2014
    3. manufelices
      What is the real difference between K702 and the new K712?
      manufelices, Feb 14, 2015
    4. swifty7
      @NA Blur
       
      Excellent review but I see you're not using tubes with the K712pro.  I use Little Bear p8 with russian tubes and Ortofon silver rca cables connected to my Creative Titanium HD RCA out and the sound produced by k712pro is staggering.  The K712pro truly shines in its entirety when used with headphone amp fitted with high quality tubes.   I can only imagine how it will sound with Telefunken German Tubes supposedly the best sounding tubes out there and also the most expensive.
      swifty7, Feb 13, 2016
  6. FooThane
    Love these for almost everything
    Written by FooThane
    Published Dec 11, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Clear detailed sound, Deep bass, Confortable, Accessories(it came with a nice carrying bag and a coiled cable)
    Cons - With some songs the bass is too much and looks like it can't keep up with the song, Might be too bright for some people
    I have these headphones for about 3 weeks and I think they are great for overall listening to music, even for a long time, however, I don't think you can drive them without an amplifier because the audio quality from a phone or just a poor build-in dac isn't good, the bass sounds muddy and the highs lack detail.

    So I've got the Magni 2 and Little Dot 1+(Mullard M8100 tubes,OPA2107 op amp) and I must say that the Magni feels like the inferior amp for this headphone the bass has less impact, the soundstage is smaller, has less detail although it has more bass and the presentation feels faster. It looks like the tubes add a little impact and smoothness.

    Overall, these might be good as a second pair if you already have like a Sennheiser 600 series headphone (I have HD 580s) or if you want something different, but I don't recommend them as a first pair for people that don't know what they're going into (try out an akg open-back headphone before deciding to buy)

    Anyway I got these for cheap (they are made where I live) and I keep them for sure.

    8/10

    Before buying you should know that sometimes(maybe a first revision or something) the K712 has a loose wire on the left ear. My first pair had this problem (sound from the left ear was gone after the first day of use) but thank god the second pair I got is fine(for now).
      xxAMAROKxx likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. xxAMAROKxx
      Bass is realy too much on some recordings, with K712. It has strange echo effect on Midbass, which covers all other instruments. On the other hand, bass is analytical and in line with other frequencies ... but most recordings are too bassy.
      xxAMAROKxx, Mar 22, 2017
    3. FritzS
      @xxAMAROKxx
      make a test - put the K701/Q701 angled ear pads on your K712
      K701 and Q701 with angled ear pads sounds very similar - but if you take the pads from the K712 on the Q701, this both sound similar. 
      Over all seen - K712 is the best of this series for me. 
      K702 I had hear only for a short time. The K702 65th Anniversary Edition  I don' hear.
      FritzS, Mar 22, 2017
    4. xxAMAROKxx
      I have K702 pads on my K712 from the seller. They were more comfortable for me (more depth for my ears). I heard original pads too and I had to say, that they are more bassy, than K702 pads. 
      xxAMAROKxx, Mar 22, 2017
  7. spittis
    Excellent sound, very even performer
    Written by spittis
    Published Nov 17, 2013
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Neutral, slightly warm, versatile, comfort, stock cables & connector
    Cons - Can be slightly boring, feels plastic
    This will be a somewhat compact review and comparison to the HiFiMAN HE-400, they're roughly the same price around here. Starting with some pictures.
     
    PB170783.jpg
     
    PB170788.jpg
     
    PB170792.jpg
     
    PB170793.jpg
     
    PB170794.jpg
     
    Accessories
    While I don't consider accessories that important I guess I should mention them. K712 comes with a straight and a coiled cable, 6,3mm adapter, and a carrying pouch.
    HE-400 comes with the stock cable, 6,3mm adapter and a carrying pouch.
     
    Comfort
    The comfort of the K712 is good. The headphones weight is 235g which is very light considering their size. The self adjusting headband works well and the earpads feel nice on the skin. I don't think the fit is too loose despite having a small head. During the first hours of use there is some pressure building up on the head from the headband, but that disappears after a while when it adapts to your skull.
    Compared to the HE-400 they're obviously much lighter, HE-400 weights 440 grams which is almost double up. The headband on the HE-400 is very well designed though, and I don't have any comfort problems with them. So apart from bulkiness HE-400 is just as comfortable. Both stock earpads are fine too although I know some people don't like the HE-400 pleather pads, if that's the case then you probably like the K712 pads more which is soft memory foam.
     
    Build quality
    While the build quality in general is good, the K712 does feel a bit plastic considering the price. Especially the bows that connect the cups feel very fragile. The headband and cups themselves are good though, and the mini XLR connector for the cable works well. The stock cables that come with it are good.
    In comparison the HE-400 is built like a tank, but the coaxial RF connectors are bad and the stock cable is extremely bulky.
     
    Sound
     
    Sources: CA Dacmagic Plus DAC, Lake People G109-S headphone amp
    Files: My own FLAC library and some Spotify Premium streaming
     
    First I'll focus on the K712 and after that a comparison.
     
    As a whole, the sound provided by the K712 is impressive. I never really find it to offend or do something bad. It does expose bad recordings though, no way around that.
    The bass is very well controlled. With music where slam in the bass is not intended you get none, zero. However, try turning up some Infected Mushroom or Ludacris and you will be treated with some serious rumbling or impact, depending on the song (for an open headphone). The presentation is very convincing on "Ludacris - How Low", I can dig out all the low frequency details in the background and the rapping is in perfect balance with the beat. With "Koan's - Selena's Song" it's very easy close your eyes and be carried away by the firm bassline backed up by the deeper rumbling and the ambient sounds, I imagine this is very close to how the artist wanted it to be.
    Varieties of rock is probably their strongest point for me though. The balanced yet slightly warm presentation together with the rather wide soundstage is a real winner. In "Dayshell - Avatar" I can separate instruments very well and get a sense of how the song was recorded, but it doesn't get too analytical, it's very easy to still simply "enjoy the ride". 
    With metal you do run into this problem where a large portion of the music is rather badly recorded and mastered, and the K712 does expose it quite effectively. When it's good it's really good though, as an example my In Flames Clayman and Reroute To Remain rips sound brilliant. I do occasionally wish the drums had a bit more "kick" in them though, something the HE-400 has spoiled me in.
    The K712 does vocals so well that I can really appreciate music like Celine Dion's despite I don't normally have any interest in it. Material like the old Nightwish with Tarja Turunen sounds fantastic.
    Regarding the treble there isn't much to point out. It's smooth, it's good. No fatigue, no emphasized sibilance, amount is just right.
     
    Not much to add. But yeah the sound is great. To counter all this praise, I do find the sound gets a bit "too secure" sometimes. It's like, you listen, and you know it sounds great, yet it's a bit boring at the same time. But that's probably inevitable with something that performs so even. I think a 4/5 star rating is fair, could maybe be 4½, but it loses a bit on the build quality, and on price. I haven't actually compared it to the older models, but if there really are changes made that qualify a ~250€ rise in price I think AKG should make that more clear. On the other hand, they clearly compete with the HE-400 that are priced similarly, so...
     
    Comparison to the HE-400
    When you compare these two headphones, the weird V-shaped frequency response of the HE-400 is very noticeable. The HE-400 has a great bass presentation in my opinion, and the texture on drums is brilliant. On the same time, this combined with the rather small soundstage gives you this very intimate and warm sound that can be a bit too much. Vocals also sound a bit strange on the HE-400 when compared to the K712, this is probably related to the dip between 5-6 KHz. HE-400 also has slightly more emphasis on treble, especially sparkling sounds like cymbals, sometimes this works out great, sometimes less so. HE-400 definitely has a higher fun factor, so this does boil down to taste. I would still say though that the rock solid performance of the K712 makes it better overall. There is slightly more sibilance on the HE-400.
     
    AKG K712: Is more neutral, has a larger soundstage, is an more even performer.
    HE-400: More bass impact, slightly more treble, does some material very well while falling short on other, more forgiving with bad recordings
      Plnarmagnaddict and xzez like this.
    1. G Tone
      I just got a pair of the K712's this week and I think your review is spot on.Obviously I need some more time with them,but my initial thoughts are there sound very good depending on the recording,Overall the bass is a little light for my tastes but they do deliver when called upon,and the sound can be  analytical,but that is not necessarily a bad thing.
       
      The K712's would be an excellent studio monitor in my opinion,as I heard some things in recordings I have never heard before such as a singer taking a deep breath before delivering vocals.
      I will add they they definitely need an amplifier to sound their best,and so far they have paired well with my Schiit Lyr/Modi combo.Running them out of my computers audio output does them little justice.
      I too have owned the HE-400's,but ironically I had to EQ to get the bass levels I desired which may contradict many reviews of the planars.Sold them and purchased the Philips Fidelio X 1's,and I am in bass heaven.
      In conclusion you can not go wrong with the AKG K712 as they are comfortable and would be a great all around headphone.
      G Tone, Aug 25, 2016
  8. bpandbass
    The Fairest K7 Variant of Them All
    Written by bpandbass
    Published Jan 1, 2017
    4.5/5,
    Pros - excellent neutrality, excellent soundstage and imaging, neutral and detailed bass, well-balanced treble and mids, comfortable, highly musical for a K7
    Cons - headstrap elastics weaken over time, needs high quality power to extract the bass impact, can sound harsh on the wrong system
    Allow me to preface this review with some background information.
     
    I have experience listening to different present-day AKGs, including the Q701 Quincy Jones Signature, the K702 65th Anniversary Edition (Austrian-made), the K7XX Massdrop First Edition, the K240 Studio, and the K612 Pro. The K7-Series, while highly detailed and comfortable, proved to be a mixed bag for me sonically, with the models being either too intimate sounding, too mid-forward, or too dark. I did believe that these flaws belied a truly great-sounding headphone lurking beneath, but it was simply a matter of sorting out the right acoustic balance. And now I can say for sure that the K712 Pro hits the mark dead on for me, and has become my new favorite neutral open-back headphone. Now onto the review.
     
    Build and Finish:
     
    The K712 Pro resembles the K702 65th Anniversary (Annie) in many ways, from the charcoal-colored matte plastic body, to the colored stitching on the smooth (no bumps) headband, and the colored center ring on the driver housing. But this time it is in a deep orange color accent theme, with the twin headband rails, headstrap stitching, inner driver ring, and cable being orange, rather than the electric blue of the K702 Annie. Some people might not like this color scheme, but I think it stands out nicely, if looking somewhat like it was themed after a KTM motorcycle (coincidentally another Austria-based company). The K712 is well made, but it does feel a little more plasticy than something like a Sennheiser HD600 or HD650, and certainly more than a Beyerdynamic DT880 and DT990. 
     
    The K712 is made in two different places: formerly Vienna, Austria; and presently, Bratislava, Slovakia. AKG users have bemoaned this now complete abandonment of Austrian manufacturing of AKGs, but with the Slovak-made models, you still have a headphone assembled in the European Union. The Austrian-made models like mine have "Made in Austria" silk screened on the center driver cover, while the Slovak models do not have any country-of-origin markings. While I cannot comment about sound or build quality differences between K712s made east and west of the River Danube, those who may want a potential collector's item should opt for an Austrian-made model. 
     
    What it comes with:
     
    The K712 Pro comes with two cables: a 3-metre straight cable, and a 3-meter black corded cable for plugging into mixing consoles. Also included is a satin-lined black velour carrying bag, which other K7s do not feature, so you get a little more for your money with the K712. 
     
    Comfort: 
     
    The K712 Pro features AKG's tried-and-true self-adjusting headband, which features a leather strap suspended by elastic bands. It makes the K712 a highly comfortable headphone, in addition to its moderate weight, but the bad part of this is that the elastic bands will begin to weaken over time and lose their tension. This will cause the headphone and the ear pads to slide down your head over time, and it also means the headphone will not sit firmly on the head. So far as I can tell, the solution to this is either to send the headphone into AKG for an elastic replacement, or perform a DIY fix. 
     
    The ear pads on the K712 are thicker than the older K702 Annie pads, but are not as thick as the K701, K702 and Q701 pads, and are not angled. Despite this, the K712 retains its spacious ear cups, with the padding made from dense memory foam that conforms nicely to the shape of your head to form a comfortable seal. If you wear thin-armed glasses, then you should have no problem wearing the K712. My ears are notorious for have a problem with rubbing up against driver covers, or getting irritated from having the backs of pads rub against them. With the K712, neither of these comfort issues are present, especially considering the moderate clamping force, and the pads that do not collapse like Sennheiser HD650 and Beyerdynamic DT880 and 990 pads often do. The earpads also run fairly cool for my ears.
     
    Sound:
     
    Now this is where we get into the most important distinguishing feature of the K712...
     
    As I mentioned earlier, I have not found all of the K7-series headphones to be the most satisfying to listen to. The Q701 was extremely spacious sounding to my ears, but I found its overly left-right-panned soundstage to be unnatural at times with older stereo recordings, causing all of the music to go in either direction, and making the center image go dead. In addition, I hated the upper midrange hump, which caused horns and saxophones to trigger an immediate cringe from me. So I thought the soundstage and glare needed addressing. Next I owned the K702 Annie. The Annie was a significant departure from the Q701, with what sounded like a large amount of dampening added to it. Instead of the overly-panned soundstage, the Annie now sounded closed in and highly intimate, the treble was significantly darkened, and there was a slight boost in the midbass (the Q701 had good bass extension though). But there was still that funky upper midrange bump that still stood out relative to other frequencies, especially since the treble was decreased and the bass was increased. The pads also did not have quite enough depth, causing my ears to touch the drivers. So next I tried the K7XX, which was a Chinese-made 200-dollar K702 Annie, but with deeper earpads, and a more toned-down upper midrange. Unfortunately for some reason, this combination managed to end up soundnig dull and lifeless, which spoiled that AKG magic. So finally I tried the K712. 
     
    To my ears, the K712 combines a mix between the K702 Annie and the regular K702 or Q701. The headphone overall has an unstressed, fairly musical sound with an overall even tone, and a slight emphasis on the upper midrange and treble. There still is that upper midrange peak at around 1-2,000 Hz, but this time it meshes better with other frequencies since the bass and treble are more even with one another, so the balance ends up sounding less harsh and more neutral, while allowing that presence region boost to contribute to a more musical and engaging sound. The K712 still has that upper midrange increase but just a better tuning of it. Soundstage is great for a headphone of its type, and is the most evenly balanced of any K7 model. It does not pan excessively to the left and right like a K701, K702 or Q701, and it does not sound compressed like a K702 Annie can sound. It has plenty of depth, while imaging and placing instruments accurately. It will not sound out of your head like a Sennheiser HD800, AKG K812, or Sony MDR-MA900 will, but it has better imaging than a Sennheiser HD650, which while being deep sounding can sound blobby with the placement of instruments, and often sounds like a HD600 with simply more depth added. 
     
    Treble:
     
    The treble on the K712 rarely gets harsh, but could possibly sound sibilant with excessively treble-heavy music (even an HD650 can sound sibilant in the right scenario). There is air in the treble, but overall it sounds mostly neutral. In comparison, the K712 is brighter than an HD650 but much less bright than a Beyer DT990. The K712 sounds great with jazz, acoustic and classical, since the treble has smooth presentation, and contributes to good instrument placement. 
     
    Midrange:
     
    The Midrange is where the K712 gets into its stride. The midrange has plenty of detail, and rarely sounds stressed. The K712 sounds more musical than you would imagine, and it does not have a bright or overly warm tone that distracts the listener from enjoying a realistic-sounding song. The midrange to my ears is about as realistic and even as you are going to get in an open back headphone for 500 dollars or less. It makes the K712 much more enjoyable than the Q701, which can be irritating, and the K7XX, which can be overly dull. 
     
    The bass on the K712 Pro is as neutral as it is going to get on a K7. There is plenty of extension down low, with excellent tightness and a clean tone that makes it easy to distinguish notes. In comparison to the HD650 the bass on the K712 is much less warm, and has a tighter sound, with often better extension. The HD650, especially when underamplified, can overly warm in the bass, and that bass tends to contribute to a pleasing and euphonic sound, but at times can get in the way of hearing finer details. While the K712 has a neutral to somewhat leaner physical bass impact at times, with a good amplifier and a good DAC, it can take an EQ boost, and you can get some good performance with bassy music. That said, the K712 only becomes bassy if the sound it is playing is highly bassy; it does not introduce a bass boost if it does not need to. 
     
    K712 Pro vs. K702 Annie
     
    Now just to clarify this, the K712 is NOT a rebranded K702 Annie. The two headphones sound noticeably different, though I have heard some newer Annies have been retuned to more closely resemble the K712 sound. Compared to the original Annie, the K712 sounds more spacious in the soundstage, a tiny bit lighter in the bass, and more lively with a more present treble and a more proportionally-balanced upper midrange. To my ears the K712 is better balanced than the K702 Annie, and less dark. 
     
    Amplification:
     
    First off, do not expect the K712 to sound great plugged directly into an iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch, because it will not. You are going to need to budget in a good amplifier and DAC if you want to enjoy the most this headphone has to offer.
     
    The K712 tends to exhibit the same characteristics that are present on other K7s when it comes to amplification: harsh and thin sounding when underpowered or driven on a bright amplifier, dull when not driven on the right source, and revealing of cheap quality DACs. The K712 has a tendency to be less forgiving with poor amp/DAC matches, and often sounds like what you plug it into-to an extent. 
     
    I have driven the K712 on the Schiit Audio Lyr 2 hybrid tube/solid state headphone amplifier, and the pairing produces good results, with a tight and unstressed sound, though the stock tubes are a little dull. The Schiit Modi tends to not be a very good source DAC with the K712, as it often sucks a ton of bass impact out of most headphones, and sounds compressed, so I would look at a better quality DAC, or one with a better sound, like an HRT Music Streamer, or Meridian Audio Director. A good sounding and detailed DAC is crucial to the K712, so make sure not to overlook that requirement. 
     
    I have heard of people running the K712 off of OTL tube amps like a Darkvoice 336SE, and achieving pleasing results, but do keep in mind that an OTL amp like the Darkvoice or Bottlehead Crack is not going to be the best for impedance matching, as the K712 has a fairly low impedance of 62 ohms, and that impedance tends to stay dead even throughout the frequency spectrum, unlike the Sennheiser HD650. So either a hybrid amp like the Schiit Vali 2, Lyr 2 or Mjolnir 2, or an OTC amp like the Woo Audio WA6 or WA7 would likely be the better option if you choose to run the K712 on a tube-based system. Solid state amps are an excellent choice with their lower distortion figures, lower noice floor and lower output impedance than most tube amps. 
     
    As for being driven on a 2-in-1 portable DAC and amp unit, I have been experimenting with both the new Oppo Digital HA-2SE, and the famed Chord Electronics Mojo, costing USD $300 and $600, respectively.
     
    The HA2-SE uses the newer ESS Sabre ES9028Q2M DAC chip, which Oppo claims provides a quieter noise floor than the previous Sabre chip in the HA-2. While I do not have the two to compare, I can say that the HA2-SE makes for a very good pairing with the K712 Pro, extracting a good amount of detail, while driving the K712 loud and maintaining a tight and spacious sound. Some people do not like Sabre-based DACs because of their harshness in the upper midrange and lower treble, known as the "Sabre Glare". I do notice some Sabre Glare on the HA2-SE but it does not prove to be a deal breaker, though this glare does not always bode well with the upper midrange emphasis on the K712, and can make the K712 occasionally shouty or blare sometimes. This does not dissuade me from recommending the K712 with the HA-2SE. They make for a pairing that is a great deal enjoyable, and the bass boost switch on the Oppo can add a nice rumble to the K712 when your music calls for it. 
     
    But the winner so far is the Chord Mojo. The Chord Mojo is twice the price of the HA2-SE, but handles the K712 excellently, and it should. There is no lack of power and performance, and while the Mojo does not necessarily sound quite as spacious as the HA2-SE on the K712, it makes the headphone sound less stressed and more effortless, with more detailed bass and better imaging, and a less bright tone. That said, the Mojo is considerably more expensive than a K712, so if you cannot justify purchasing it, I can absolutely recommend the K712 with the HA2-SE. 
     
    That concludes my review of the K712. Thank you for reading this lengthy writeup, and if you are in the 300-500 dollar market for a neutral open back headphone, and are willing to give an AKG a try, I can safely recommend the K712 Pro. If you like transparent and neutral-sounding headphones, and want a lighter-feeling headphone with more soundstage than an HD600, and a less metallic sound than a DT880 or DT990, then I do not think you will go wrong with the AKG K712 Pro.
  9. Oktyabr
    What niche do these fill? All dressed up and no place to go!
    Written by Oktyabr
    Published Jan 2, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent, mostly neutral, full range sound, comfortable, detachable cable and replaceable ear pads
    Cons - Delicate construction, expensive, need a high current amp with lots of headroom to sound their best
    One headphone for all people? I think the K712 tries very hard to please everyone and in doing this misses the boat in focusing on being the best at any one thing. Great headphones but it's not that simple! Well built but delicate. Much better pricing through Amazon than the $699 MSRP but unless you already own a suitable amplifier you are probably going to end up budgeting for one of those too. With tons of competition between $150 and the $700 MSRP it's actual value comes into question, especially when some of their biggest competition bears the name of the same manufacturer. They have a big sound stage, but not the biggest. They have extended bass, but aren't really for bassheads. They are detailed and analytical, great for critical listening, but not as good at this as even some of their older models. They are fairly neutral but are they actually a serious solution for the sound professional? Who are these really made for?

    K712 vs memories of K701:

    These are the first AKG K7 series I've heard in something like four years, after I sold my K701, mostly because the *bumped* headband caused me discomfort. The K712 is FAR more comfortable, on my decidedly large head. From memory (on the same amp, source and music) it seems like the K701 was brighter, perhaps more "neutral", whatever that means. The K712 certainly do NOT want for bass! By contrast my memory of the K701 was a lighter on the bottom end, more forward in the mids and perhaps more "bright" on top which in particular made them a very revealing listening experience. I remember a good portion of music sounded so bad on them (compared to the stuff that sounded SUPERB) that I didn't even want to hear certain songs on the K701. Every recording and mastering error was revealed. The K712 seems more "forgiving" of bad quality recordings for some reason. I also remember the K701 having a more spacious sound stage but perhaps that's just because I've been listening to M50s in their absence...

    K712 vs ATH-M50:

    To my ears the biggest difference between the K712 I just got and the M50 I've been listening to for quite some time is the obvious trait of whether or not one is closed or open backed. Historically its often that fans of the competition like to say the AKG open backed cans lack bass. AKG paid attention and first released the Q701 (which I have not heard) that was said to have improved the bottom end and now the K712, which have bass in spades! The M50 by comparison is often noted as having a LOT of bass, often trading blows with cans like the Beats... and winning. I found the K712 was VERY close to the M50 in the bottom region. The K712 also definitely sounds bigger, more spacious, more "speaker like", than the M50.

    The K712 is more resolving, more detailed than the M50. At first, when I was really listening close for any obvious sonic flaws I kept catching things that made me think one or possibly both drivers were somehow messed up. I'd throw the M50s on and listen to the segment in question again and sure enough, there it was. The M50s showed it too but seemed like it just wasn't as obvious. This happened on songs I thought I knew pretty well, too! At one point I heard a sound in the rear of the left stage that made me think my 18 year old son was trying to get my attention (sounded like his quiet baritone.) I took the left cup off and turned around in my chair to see what he wanted... an no one was there! With good recordings the K712 can make things you've never noticed before jump out of the music at you... Almost "hairs standing up on the back of your neck" spooky how this happens. Putting the M50s back on my head and listening very closely, sure enough, there was that sound was again. The M50s produced the same sound but it was so awash in the rest of the audio that I had just never noticed it before. The M50 is a great, capable, pair of headphones. They don't resolve details quite as well as the K712, nor do they have the same sort of spacious sound stage (no closed back can I've ever heard are any different in this regard) but... they are less than half the price of the K712! This shouldn't be interpreted as a deficiency in the K712 but rather a testament of just how good the M50 IS. It's what I consider "the point of diminishing returns". The K712 DOES sound better, to my ears, but you pay twice as much and do not, arguably, receive twice the value.

    COMFORT:

    Comfort, since my masochistic love/hate relationship with the bumpy K701 a few years ago, is now the top of my list to check off when buying headphones.  A pair of cans you seldom use, no matter how good the SQ, are the worst ones of all!  The K712 is very comfortable from the smooth headband to the velour covered memory foam ear pads.  The clamping force, if anything, might actually be on the "too light" end of things.  They haven't fallen off my head yet but lots of head movement as a test will reveal these slide around a bit more than most will find ideal.  

    BUILD QUALITY:

    Bitter sweet trade offs. Far more comfortable than the K701 I used to have. No more bumps on the headband! The "memory foam", velour covered ear pads are super comfy too... BUT take very good care of them! AKG wants almost $50... EACH... to sell you replacements! The K712 is one of the largest earphones I've ever tried. HUGE ear cups help produce it's outstanding sound stage and fidelity. And yet these are extremely light as well. But that also means there isn't a whole lot of metal in them. All in all these feel exquisitely "delicate", like a beautiful hummingbird or dragonfly. I wouldn't want to sit on them. The velour bag that is included is a nice thought but really, for these cans I'd much rather have a solid hard case to put them in when I'm traveling. Not exactly flimsy but "built like a tank" (or a pair of M50) does not come to mind.

    SOUND QUALITY:

    Like it's relatives the K712 thrives on current and voltage stability. Yes, you can plug them into an iphone or the headphone jack on your computer or something but to really hear them at their best will require a good quality amplifier, the more powerful the better. The K712 is a highly dynamic headphone, sound reproduction wise, and can go from revealing the softest, quietest subtleties to thunderous drum crashes instantly, without sounding strained, but it takes a well built amplifier that will provide plenty of headroom to really make it happen. But given what it thirsts for these are a real treat with just about any music. They are full of bass, nice mids and detailed highs... But do none of these things extraordinarily well! I think I would trade some of this "improved bass" for a slightly more analytical presentation in the mids and treble, like I remember the K701 as having. That said I perceive no weakness in their sound either. Nothing too bright, too boomy, too "fatiguing".

    Some critics of the older models liked to claim that these are only good for classical or possibly acoustic jazz. I never felt that way about my K701 and with the K712 it becomes a meaningless point for debate. Vivaldi, Eminem, Rammstein, Kroke, Benny Bailey, Shpongle, Pink Floyd, Dianna Krall and Three Dog Night all sound excellent on these 'phones. I listen to a wide range of musical genres and I have yet to sample any of them that made me think these weren't excellent headphones for that particular flavor of music.

    VALUE:

    Replaceable ear pads, even at a bit of a premium price, nice. Replaceable cables are a nice feature that any headphone over $200 should have. The K712 includes two cables, one straight and one coiled, and both are just the right lengths for practical use. Well machined, gold plated screw-on adapter from going to the gold plated 1/8" plug to the larger 1/4" size. Velour travel bag? Does anyone really put a $700 pair of headphones in a fancy pillow case? AKG could have kept that and lowered the price another $20 or something.

    With an MSRP of $699 I think AKG was very brazen in the market it wanted to challenge. Not that I've heard any $700 headphones but for THAT kind of money I think they had better leave zero room for complaints. The K712 aren't that. At Amazon's price around $350 I think they become a much more solid contender although some of their stiffest competition also wears the AKG badge. Priced much lower than the K712 perhaps a K702 or Q701 would have fallen a bit more in the middle between the K712 and the K701, sound quality wise, perhaps not quite as much bass and lower mids but slightly more detail and neutrality? Off the cuff I think that if I would have paid anything close to the MSRP for these cans I'd probably be sending them back and buying BOTH the K702 and Q701 just to find out for myself! But at anything close to $350...
      risenfallen and Solarium like this.
  10. DivineCurrent
    Overall Awesome headphones!
    Written by DivineCurrent
    Published Aug 21, 2014
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Good balance throughout frequency, not sibilant, balanced, great for casual listening
    Cons - Upfront sound, slight peak around 2khz sometimes annoying
    This is going to be a short review, just letting you know in advance.
    I listen to mostly contemporary pop, classic rock, as well as a little classical. In my search for a good headphone to use for all around listening, I stumbled across these, and I must say I'm quite impressed!
    For me, the bass is absolutely perfect. Of all the headphone I've heard, these have the best quality bass I've heard. It's not just the quantity, but the control that really sets these apart. It even extends down below 20 khz, barely audible but you can feel it!
    Aside from the improved bass performance, it's overall very balanced, but I like to nitpick so I must comment on just one flaw these phones have. In the lower treble, the 2kz has a peak that sounds somewhat unnatural in some recordings. It doesn't bother me that much, but sometimes it makes poorly mastered recordings sound strident and compressed, therefore less "airy" sound. I just EQ it down by 2 decibels, and it sounds almost perfect. 
    The treble not sibilant at all, and it's very detailed yet not fatiguing to listen to. I've read that some people think there's not enough mids, but that's only an illusion created by that 2 khz peak, it has very good mids. 
    Overall, very solid headphones for the price, other competing headphone such as the Beyerdynamic DT 880 and Sennheiser HD 600 will have a tough time beating it.
    1. buson160man
      I feel pretty much the same about my akg 701s they sound kind of like your description of the k712 . I suppose there is a family resemblance in the way they sound .
        But recently I have upgraded the headphone cable on my audeze lcd 2 v2 headphone and it has astronomically catapulted my opinion of them to a new level . The sound with their stock leash was definitely limiting the performance of the lcd2 . With the cable pro reverie cable it is now light years and I mean light years ahead of the k701 . But that took a headphone cable that costs almost 640 usd to attain that performance . Which is more than the price of the akg 701 .My opinion of the akg 701 is still very high especially for a mid priced headphone. it is definitely an overachiever.
      buson160man, Aug 22, 2014