XM5’s Active variable crossfeed
Dec 2, 2008 at 12:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Keppel

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Posts
49
Likes
10
I know that the Practical Devices XM4 and XM5 have active variable crossfeed, but I need some more details from those who are in the know. I have an XM4 (sweet!), but I'm thinking of upgrading to the XM5 because of the new features (sweeter!). Is the crossfeed the same on the new XM5?

This question would ideally be answered by someone who owns both of 'em.
 
Dec 12, 2008 at 8:57 PM Post #2 of 7

Keppel

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Posts
49
Likes
10
A reliable anonymous source has informed me that the crossfeed on the XM5 is implemented in the same way as on the XM4. That being said, I don't think that's exactly the case... I've been doing a little research on Practical Devices' web page and it is different.
 
Dec 12, 2008 at 9:58 PM Post #3 of 7

MaxAmplitude

Member of the Trade: Practical Devices
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Posts
29
Likes
12
The crossfeed on the XM5 is not the same as the crossfeed on the XM4.
The crossfeed on the XM4 and XM5 are activated identically: there's a switch on the front to activate it, and a pot on the back to adjust it from "near-stereo" to "mono."

But the XM5's crossfeed was updated so that it's active. There's an additional powered opamp on the crossfeed module. One of the benefits of this is there is no change in attenuation when you activate the crossfeed. If this extra amp wasn't there, there'd be a change in volume when you hit the switch. The feedback I've gotten from folks on this has been pretty good.

[As far as I know, there are no other portables that have an active variable crossfeed. That's why I built it!]
 
Dec 12, 2008 at 11:54 PM Post #4 of 7

jamato8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Posts
17,977
Likes
2,822
It looks like a lot of thought was put into the amp. Great stuff coming around.
 
Dec 19, 2008 at 2:57 AM Post #6 of 7

GreatDane

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2005
Posts
12,472
Likes
34
Location
Virginia
Quote:

Originally Posted by Keppel
Do any other portables have active variable crossfeed, or is it just XM5?





Quote:

Originally Posted by MaxAmplitude /img/forum/go_quote.gif

[As far as I know, there are no other portables that have an active variable crossfeed. That's why I built it!]




I don't know of any either. I'm looking forward to trying it out...any day now!
 
Dec 19, 2008 at 8:02 PM Post #7 of 7

Solid Snake

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Posts
1,089
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Keppel /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Do any other portables have active variable crossfeed, or is it just XM5?


Based on the table diagram on their website, it looks like that the XM5 is the only one with that feature.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top