Will I see a big difference with a DAC/amp with HD555's on my laptop?
Feb 11, 2010 at 10:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Fandangoya

New Head-Fier
I've had a pair of HD555's for a while, and I generally use my laptop (Dell Latitude D820) to play music on them.

How much would the HD555's benefit from getting a DAC or amp? Which do I need? Both? I'm very new to audio equipment, so bare with me....what exactly is the difference between them?

Would anything serve me well in the $100 range? And how big of a difference in quality are we talking here? To be honest, things sound fine to me right now, but if the HD555's have a lot more potential...I'd love to find it.

Feb 12, 2010 at 12:22 AM Post #2 of 16
Depending on the quality of the DAC, you should notice an improvment in sound quality.
An amplifier is really not required for those headphones. External DAC's can be pricey and I am not sure you would get anything that woudl be noticably better for $100...
Could be wrong, perhaps another has some suggestions for you.

A DAC, takes digital audio information from your system and converts it to analog signals for your headphones. The amplifier just boost the analog output signal.
very simple explanation but it is accurate.

Feb 12, 2010 at 3:26 AM Post #3 of 16
There isn't much potential in HD555 - I own the HD595 - good phone but does not cut it with the big boys. Save the hundred for a good night out or a perhaps HD600 or 650 - then you're in deep. Good night out, my opinion.

Feb 12, 2010 at 3:37 AM Post #4 of 16
HD555 is resolving enough to pick out differences with a bad and a good source. For $100 I cannot think of a better DAC than the uDac. Onboard audio sounds like a mess to me, I'm sure you'll be able to tell the difference. I find my onboard realtek makes the soundstage pretty much non existent compared to a good DAC. It is worthwhile to get a DAC.

Amazon.com: NuForce Icon uDAC: Electronics

Feb 12, 2010 at 4:14 AM Post #5 of 16
Quote: