Why isn't there a 64 bit version of Foobar2000 ?
Jan 13, 2009 at 4:14 PM Post #24 of 46

progo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Posts
1,592
Likes
14
There won't be a difference between 32 and 64 bits. The buffer can be of any size (below the per-process limits but there's no player that buffers whole playlists to RAM) and it has nothing to do with the number of bits. The 64 bit version just might be bit more memory consuming since the basic data types will be 64 bit in size instead of 32.

And if you've observed the CPU usage rates, you'll notice they aren't 100% when you play music.
 
Jan 13, 2009 at 5:07 PM Post #26 of 46

HeadLover

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Posts
1,114
Likes
11
Thank you!
Hope to see a 64bit version one day
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Jan 13, 2009 at 9:18 PM Post #27 of 46

ZephyrSapphire

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Posts
2,192
Likes
13
True. I seriously don't see a point of having a 64 bit version a lot of people use 32 bit AND foobar is has already fulfilled one of its goal to be a LIGHTWEIGHT program. It's utterly pointless IMO if the developer were to do it, they'd just be porting it anyways, rather than taking advantage of 64 bit.
 
Jan 13, 2009 at 11:31 PM Post #28 of 46

joe_cool

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Posts
1,151
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by HeadLover /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Instead of reading a 32 bit block each time, you can read 64bit.


Modern processors (Pentium and later) read the data bus 64-bits wide already. A 64-bit CPU and OS allows you to have a 64-bit ADDRESS bus (more memory, not faster).
 
Jan 14, 2009 at 12:03 PM Post #29 of 46

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
75
Quote:

Originally Posted by HeadLover /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Thank you!
Hope to see a 64bit version one day
smily_headphones1.gif



You probably will!
When Microsoft drop 32-bit, and go 64-bit only for their Windows OS'.
 
Jan 14, 2009 at 7:58 PM Post #30 of 46

Alai

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Posts
765
Likes
10
How many times does a person have to say it? IT TAKES TIME AND ENERGY. Just because you only have to sit back and relax and enjoy the product, doesn't mean it doesn't cost something. TINSTAFL. That's why. If benefit<cost, then why?

Quote:

Originally Posted by HeadLover /img/forum/go_quote.gif
amm, yes by why not ?
If I can use my CPU even more, why not ?
I don't think anyone that bought a PC on the last 5 years has one that isn't 64 bit.



 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top