Which rock albums to get?
May 6, 2008 at 4:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

fatman711

Member of the Trade: JMoney Audio
I never used to listen to rock but I would like to start.

What are some "must have" rock albums? I am going to learn how to play electric guitar and would like to get a feel of what I will be playing.

I'm listening to another brick in the wall by Pink Floyd and think that the song is quite amazing.

May 6, 2008 at 4:27 AM Post #5 of 41
no idea what type. I'm new to this stuff. All sorts of rock I guess with good guitar solos.

May 6, 2008 at 4:27 AM Post #6 of 41
Here is an eclectic mix of 25 of the most important and greatest rock albums of all time....

Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
The Who - Who's Next
Led Zeppelin - Zoso a.k.a. IV
The Beatles - Abbey Road
The Rolling Stones - Let it Bleed
Jimi Hendrix - Are You Experienced
AC/DC - Back in Black
The Doors - The Doors
The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground & Nico
The Clash - London Calling
U2 - The Joshua Tree
Deep Purple - Machine Head
Rush - Moving Pictures
Yes - Fragile
Bob Dylan - Highway 61
The Allman Brothers Band - Eat a Peach
Lynyrd Skynyrd - Pronounced Lynyrd Skynyrd (First album)
Bruce Springsteen - Born to Run
Queen - A Night at the Opera
Steely Dan - Aja
Jethro Tull - Aqualung
Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
Nirvana - Nevermind
Jeff Buckley - Grace

Grace is my personal favorite, but that is just a sampler of Rock's most important acts, not all of them.....but certainly some of them.

Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin and The Who......are the major bands who are known as "Album bands"

May 6, 2008 at 4:38 AM Post #7 of 41
Buckethead is who you need to listen to, best electric guitarist ever (especially if you're looking for unbelievable solos)
smily_headphones1.gif

Here's a free album;
http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f9/los...ot-ntt-240020/

(see the first post in that thread)