Which orthodynamics sound best with Schiit Lyr?
Feb 25, 2012 at 6:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

jfrocke

Head-Fier
I have a Schiit Lyr on order. I'll initially be using HD600's and Foxtex T50RP's (haven't even heard these yet but have them on order). I chose the Lyr partially because of the ability to drive some of the more difficult to drive orthodynamics.

For those of you that own (or owned) the Lyr - what are your sonic impressions of it driving the LCD-2/3 or HE5/500/6? Not sure what I might actually be able to listen to before purchase so I am hoping to narrow it down before purchasing from a vendor that offers a return policy.

I listen to a wide variety of music - generally well recorded audiophile stuff + classic rock + occassionally some classical. I'm a newbie at headphones so I can't offer much comparison to what I have heard. Right now I am using UE TF10's with the iBasso D7. I like this combination and will keep them for use with my laptop. I find this combination a bit warm in the mids, highs are clean, could use a little more bass. Thanks

Feb 26, 2012 at 7:02 PM Post #2 of 5
The headphones almost always make a much bigger difference than the amp so you should concentrate on that instead since the Lyr should have the power for whatever you throw at it.

Feb 27, 2012 at 4:14 PM Post #5 of 5
Heya,