What to do??? Interested in a Portable Amp, but not sure which one?!
Feb 24, 2008 at 6:36 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

TSi

1000+ Head-Fier
Hey all

Basically, I'm actually getting ready to "upgrade" soon to an amped setup for portable use.
Right not, I'm using a Samsung P2 (dont think I'll switch dap for a while) and all it has is a headphone out, and no line out (or i dont think so at least). I will be using custom IEMS (Livewires / FreQs) with this setup. I will also be using 320bitrate mp3s / aacs, so in terms of sound quality, it shouldnt be too low.

I am kinda new to the amp / dac business, so im just looking around for what may be the "best" to do. Also, I would like to have a usb in or something so that I can maybe plug it to my macbook too when I am not on the go.

A few things to first note:
- portability
- price range (less than 250$ for sure, if possible, give me a few recommendation from below 100$, 100-150$, 150-200$, and 200-250$ so i have a choice)
- looks (i prsonally dont want something that looks "cheap")
- usb? (if possible, for macbook)

I am not sure to whether get a portable amp, a portable dac, or a combined portable piece of hardware. If i do not need a portable dac, i guess a portable amp would do fine.

Thanks a lot all!

Feb 24, 2008 at 7:05 AM Post #2 of 25
I can list a few, but can only recommend the one I have, which is the Corda 2Move.

Corda 2Move ($248.00)
iBasso D2
iBassi D1
Corda Headsix
RSA "The Tomahawk" (295.00 and no DAC)

These are in your price range, anything else I know of is above your budget.

The 2Move isn't the most portable amp out there, but it's smaller than my iPod 5.5g, but thicker. That should give you a general idea about it's size.

About iem's, I know a lot of amps have very high gain, especially iems with low current needs. I'll let other members chime in about that specifically.

Feb 24, 2008 at 7:30 AM Post #4 of 25
Feb 24, 2008 at 5:36 PM Post #7 of 25