What Thorens table should I be looking for?
Jan 7, 2007 at 1:37 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

fetus

Head-Fier
I came to the conclusion that this Dual 1241 is just not worth my time to fix up into great condition, thus being the audio enthusiast that I am, I was somewhat swayed into thinking about getting a Thorens table.
First, are there any other turntables that I should be looking at that could be found used for a good price on ebay or something to that nature? I see a few tables by Rega and Linn but I have little knowledge about them, should I be looking for their tables and not Thorens
Second, if Thorens really are a worthy turntable, which Thorens tables are worth my time and which should I skip over?

My price range is about $150.

Jan 7, 2007 at 1:53 AM Post #2 of 9
That's a little too low of a budget for the turntables you're considering. You'll probably have to up that a bit. Look for a TD-160 or 165. Those are usually pretty reasonable.

See ya
Steve

Jan 7, 2007 at 9:19 AM Post #3 of 9
fetus: What's wrong with your 1241? That's a nice table, if it's still in good working condition....

Anyway, to the Thorenses: Fine to excellent are the TD126/127/226 and the TD520/521 as well as the comparatively rare direct drives models TD524/738 (a bit less the TD535) and the TD2001/3001, very good the TD160(especially the Super version)/147 as well as the TD320 and a bit less the TD165/145/166/146 as well as the TD316/318.

Can't really comment that much on models like the TD104/105, TD110/115, TD124, TD125 and the TD150, 'cause I've rarely ever heard these.