What Portable Player should I go for?
Oct 3, 2009 at 4:56 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Loque

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

I am a veteran of Minidisc players and a big fan of decent sound quality. Eventually I decided to go over to lossless audio, and I bought a Cowon s9. It's a lovely player but I have just returned it due to the fact that it was woefully unreliable, and I didn't want to put up with it.

So basically I am looking for a new player. I'm not really sure what to go for so suggestions would be appreciated. I am looking to spend about £200-250 on it, but really have no idea what to go for. Sound quality is paramount, and it's pretty much the bottom line. I'd be coupling it with a pair of decent headphones as well of course, but I'm just not sure on the player.

It'd have to be something around 16GB+, and FLAC Compatibility is an absolute must. I don't mind going a bit old school, if there is something that I have to hunt around for on ebay to grab a hold of then so be it.

Thanks

Oct 3, 2009 at 6:23 AM Post #2 of 18
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loque /img/forum/go_quote.gif

It'd have to be something around 16GB+, and FLAC Compatibility is an absolute must. I don't mind going a bit old school, if there is something that I have to hunt around for on ebay to grab a hold of then so be it.

I started out with the same mandate, but rapidly settled for 320K vbr when I realised that -

1. you greatly limit your choices by insisting on native FLAC capability - Rockbox isnt the Swiss Army knife many would have you believe : check the supported players

2. if I thought Fang was ever going to make commercial quantities, I'd recommend the HiFiMan, but that doesnt look like happening

3. at 50, I find the audible differences between 320k and FLAC very small indeed.

End of the day, I dont see how you could go too far wrong with a Cowon S9, but I dont have your ears.

Oct 3, 2009 at 6:48 AM Post #4 of 18