What is the most IMMERSIVE headphones?
Jul 19, 2019 at 4:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

xgeekgammax

New Head-Fier
I am currently saving up for a LCD-X. I am not a sound engineer or a DJ. I watch movies and play games and mostly get high and listen to different types of music. I like feeling immersed in what I listen to and upgrading to V-MODA for a punchy bass and Hifiman - Sundara (for my first experience of a wide sound stage) has helped me achieve that. I'm trying to bump it up another notch. There's alot of talk of mixing and referencing but I am just a leisure listener. any recommendations?
ideally its <$1300 but feel free to suggest your own pick for the most immersive headphone out there.

P.S. I understand that this is also subjective to each person's experience of immersion.

Jul 19, 2019 at 5:31 PM Post #2 of 5
I have no experience with the LCD-X and very little experience with planar magnetic headphones for that matter, but in my experience, the most immersive dynamic transducer headphones i've owned would be (in order of most immersive to least):

Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature.
(a big gap) then:
Fostex TH-X00 Purple Heart
Ultrasone Pro 900

All three have a fun sound signature, but the P9 has the highest level of sound quality and is much closer to neutral/reference level. The P9 easily has the most 3 dimensional sound stage, though the TH-X00 Purple Heart has the widest. The Pro 900 has a very energetic sound signature and it's easy to get caught up in the music, especially electronic music (such as EDM), but the P9 has even more energy..

Jul 19, 2019 at 8:13 PM Post #4 of 5