Westone 3 and Portable AMPs
Feb 5, 2009 at 3:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

chengilang

New Head-Fier
Having searched the forums, I thought this thread can help me and others regarding their new Westone 3s.

To the experienced users on the forums what would you suggest as the best portable amp to pair with Westone 3?

Which portable amp is the best at eliminating the hiss in the Westone 3s?

Thanks

Feb 5, 2009 at 3:49 PM Post #3 of 26
I am not sure. I am relatively new to IEMs. I plugged my new W3 into my macbook pro and when i have no music playing i would hear a hiss. i would still hear it when the music is on low.

Feb 5, 2009 at 3:52 PM Post #4 of 26
it is probably from your mac. did you tried on another source? I do not heard any hiss when using my iphone. since you are using mac as a source, you may want to take a look at Pico, Predator, and iBasso amps with DAC.

Feb 5, 2009 at 4:22 PM Post #7 of 26
the source is the problem not Westone 3. it is clear to me because i had the same issue.

i am using right now iaudio x5l +w3 +um56 combo and there is allmost no hiss but it is hearable. I've tested W3 with amp/dac - audiotrak dr.dac 2 connected to my pc via usb [ i wanted to use dac not some ****ty sb x-fi frm my pc]. There is NO hiss.not even slightly. Dr.Dac 2 is really great amp and i can honestly say that W3 aren't the problem here - your mac is. Change Your source mate and the problem will dissapear.

Feb 5, 2009 at 4:28 PM Post #8 of 26
i see, when i put it into an ipod it is fine. Thanks alot guys.

Back on topic which amp would you suggest for Westone 3 IEM? Or does it depend on the mp3 player you are using?

Feb 5, 2009 at 4:39 PM Post #10 of 26
sorry for being a new listener, i have no clue what is a dac.

I really don't have a budget. I would say something that works the best with Westone 3. It would be cool if it was portable too, like a Fiio E5.