Want a fairly cheap turntable
Oct 3, 2007 at 7:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

niko-time

100+ Head-Fier
It can cost around £80 and it has to be new and not from eBay as my grandparents are buying it.

I'm a vinyl noob to be honest; I use a Arcam Delta 290 as an amp, I don't think it has a built in phono stage (is that the correct terminology?)

I'm not too fussed about sound quality as I won't be listening using it that much. What would be quite good?

Oct 3, 2007 at 8:47 PM Post #3 of 19
I will be using it, but not as frequently as my cd player. I have vinyls lying around, would like to listen to them
smily_headphones1.gif

Basically, whats the best turntable I can get for around £80?

Oct 3, 2007 at 8:55 PM Post #4 of 19
Quote:

Originally Posted by niko-time /img/forum/go_quote.gif
It can cost around £80 and it has to be new and not from eBay as my grandparents are buying it.

I'm a vinyl noob to be honest; I use a Arcam Delta 290 as an amp, I don't think it has a built in phono stage (is that the correct terminology?)

Buying new at that price your choices are limited really to the Pro-Ject Debut or Goldring GR1 in the UK which you should be able to find for 100-130ish.

Don't bother if you find anything cheaper than that as it's a waste of money.

Ask them to buy you a phonostage like the Cambridge Audio 640 from Richer sounds and get yourself a 2nd hand Dual Cs-505 from ebay for anything between 15-40 quid. Try to find a local seller or otherwise someone who konws how to pack a turntable and get it sent by parcelforce insured as the chances iof it arriving broken are pretty high otherwise.

I made a lsit of cheap 2nd hand buys here http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=230443 and http://www.tnt-audio.com/guide/sources_e.html this is a good read for building a Hi-Fi for next to nothing.

Oct 3, 2007 at 9:51 PM Post #5 of 19
Thats REALLY helpful advice. I think I'll just do that, thanks a bunch!

Oct 3, 2007 at 11:37 PM Post #6 of 19