Wall power "experiments" - some personal observation and q's
Dec 5, 2008 at 9:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

krisjan

100+ Head-Fier
I am new to the DIY stuff - but have decided to venture into this area - hoping to build my first amp (probably a cmoy) soon - i already purchased some equipment and 4 the moment i am just looking at an existing cmoy i purchased (eBay View About Me for biosciencegeek).

Ok so one of the issues in this whole amp is re the power supply source. After reading Op-Amp Power Supply Quality Considerations and also considering the obvious disadvantages of batteries (depleting and causing distortion) i decided to try wall-power to see if there are audible differences. I asked BSG re the wall-wart (on the site he recommends Regulated and Filtered Universal 300mA AC Adapter - RadioShack.com - is this one switch-mode?) since i live in ZA and obviously different shops here etc. He was very helpful but didn't mention that linear-regulated is the way to go for audio amps...so in the end i just took an existing ac/dc adapter intended for powering a handheld spotlight - specs 12V,300ma - i modded the plug, making sure of polarity, and tried it - it seemed great...if i turn up the volume very high (with no source coming in) i hear some noise, but this is identical to the noise with a 9v battery loaded, so doesn't seem as if (audibly) anything is added by the psu.