Used car for under $4000?
May 22, 2010 at 8:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

Kirosia

Headphoneus Supremus
I'm looking at getting my first daily driver. My short list currently consists of old model integras and civics. I've been driving my dad's auto SUV for the past six years and I would like to try and learn stick. Any recommendations, I live in MA and my budget is 4K including maintenance, repairs, replacements. 

May 22, 2010 at 9:55 PM Post #3 of 27
Just find a local used car lot, and haggle them down - theyre all hurting lately, and will do anything to make a sale

i bought my 1995 corolla 3 years ago for $1500 cash - great investment, when you consider that it has only cost $500/year for the car, plus 30mpg efficiency, it is probably the most cost effective driving experience EVER

May 23, 2010 at 12:57 AM Post #4 of 27
The cheapest (respectable) used car dealership I've ever seen is Blue Knob Auto. They manage to keep prices so low because unlike every other car dealership I've seen, they make money on quantity of sales - 700+ cars sold per month. Turnover is often a day or less. Absolutely ridiculous.  I bought a car from them last year. What I paid then is still less than what the car is worth now, including all the miles I've added on.

If you can manage the drive to one of their two locations, I would highly recommend it.

May 23, 2010 at 1:07 AM Post #5 of 27
wow, all the vehicles on that link use an automatic transmission...I guess you guys don't like it manual in the US? can you pass your driving test on an automatic and not even know how to use a manual?

May 23, 2010 at 1:42 AM Post #6 of 27
^Yes, you don't need to know hot to operate a manual shifter to have a license. In fact, in many states, if you are over 18 years of age, you don't even need to pass a driving test. You just come in, fill out some forms, take a short *written* test that any 5th grader could pass, and you get a license.

May 23, 2010 at 2:36 AM Post #7 of 27