Upgrade path, what to look for
Sep 5, 2012 at 12:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

lastsd

Head-Fier
Hi, been reading the forum for quite a while but first post.

I recently built a new desktop and got interested in audio part of it.
I am new to whole audio aspect. Before the new computer, I have used:

* $10 sony IE
* sony N15 noise cancelling (for traveling)
* Creative Audio sound blaster silencer (USB) game headset

Basically nothing much. So I wanted to start with basic.
My planned set up was
Xonar DG/DGX($25 with MIR) + JVC HA-RX700 ($52)
* note these are Canadian price(a lot of products are much more expansive than U.S.)

But I found Pioneer SE-MJ551(updated version of MJ5) on clearance and got it.
It used to be $100 up here but I see that in US it is going around $45.
So far it is better than any headphone I own, although sometimes it is a bit uncomfortable after long use(over 2 hours). Haven't "burn" the headphone yet, not sure if I actually will.

I read quite a bit of guides but I didn't see my model on any of them.
So my question is, what should be my upgrade plan?
I am not planning to buy another set right now but want to know which items I should look out for.

Purpose: gaming 70%, music 30%
* but I don't mine having 2 separate headphone for music and gaming. I could use Pioneer 551 for one of the purpose and get another one for the other purpose. 

Budget: probably less than $150. Most likely looking for a good sale since I don't need it right now.

Style: I would like a over ear since I have already got on-ear (551), in ear (sony N15)

Type: open/close doesn't matter much to me.

Portable: doesn't have to be very portable

1. How does Pionner se-mj551 compare to head phones like JVC HA-RX700($50), Samson SR850($100), Grago 60($100)? (would it be a significant upgrade?)
2. If someone has time and can show me something like this
My current head set -> next set of items -> another set of items -> etc.
That would be great.