Tube Amp Maintenance?
Mar 9, 2010 at 11:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Necrolic

1000+ Head-Fier
I'm maybe picking up a WA6 some time soon, and I have no experience whatsoever with tube amps at this point in time. I realize there is some maintenance required to keep them performing at their best, but I have no idea what this maintenance consists of.

Are there any guides around here that would tell me what I need to know (what to do to keep it performing well, how often to do it, etc.)?

Mar 10, 2010 at 12:30 AM Post #2 of 12
From time to time it's probably good to check your connections and keep spray some of a deoxit to prevent anykind of oxidation. Also, IMO, it's not good to tube roll excessively because it is possible to wear out the tube sockets. I would say after maybe 20 years or so, you can check to see if the caps are not bloated. If they are replace them.

Mar 10, 2010 at 1:24 AM Post #3 of 12
Most headphone amps are self-biasing. Some big tube power amps (for speakers) require you to bias the tubes. But the WA6 is self-biasing. So unless you hear some sort of distortion or static coming from the amp, that might indicate a tube going bad, there is no required maintenance. I do agree with Spareribs that one has to be careful not to do TOO much tube rolling, or socket replacement could become needed.

Mar 10, 2010 at 6:38 AM Post #4 of 12
skylab could please explain in simple terms how the self-biasing works?
Do you recomend the use of Silclear (silver grease) to treat tube pins?
How can one clean a tube's metal base (6SN7W for example) without causing any damage to the markings and/or base?
Sorry If I digressed a bit.
Thanks

Mar 10, 2010 at 7:06 AM Post #5 of 12
Tubes are biased at a certain voltage to get the optimal performance according to its design.

Without getting too complicated, tubes have to run at a certain voltage, and then the voltage goes up and down depending on the signal.