Triple Flange tip fit problem
Sep 4, 2012 at 3:40 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

darkinners

Head-Fier
I've been using Triple flanges tip on my Westone 4 for almost 2 months, just because it sounded the best with the Westone 4.
This is the first time I use Triple Flange for long use(3-6 hours a day).

At first they were raping my ear canal, made my ear canal incredibly itchy but after 3 or 4 days,
I used to them, now they feel very comfortable and sounded the best and great isolation.

One problem though, after 2 weeks or so of use, the flange's shape gone weird.

see, the flange folded, they are the stock triple flanges came with W4. 
I am wondering if this is normal? Or that means my canal not fit with Triple flange? (this would suck, I really love the SQ and isolation on these)

I did cut out the tip like below "A" 2nd cut position to fit m ears better.

any experience user can tell me what to do to avoid this? Thanks

maybe I can use other brand's triple flange , cut other position? or I simply not suitable to use Triple Flange? 
Thanks a lot for the help.

Sep 4, 2012 at 4:22 AM Post #2 of 7
 Try these triple flanges, since they dont have a stem, it doesnt need any cutting work, I am not sure if it fits on W4, but you can give a try. These are my favorite tips for isolation and SQ, and are cheap too!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/MEElectronics-Eartips-for-Sports-Fi-S6-M6-M6P-A161P-A151-earphones-Clear-/140821138554?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&var=&hash=item20c9980c7a

Sep 4, 2012 at 5:49 AM Post #3 of 7
MEElectronics tips don't fit.  They're too big.

After heavy use, silicone tips will sometimes conform to the shape of your ears.  Don't worry as long as they're comfortable and sound good.

Etymotic makes smaller, frosted tips.  Futuresonics, Klipsch and Shure also make tips that fit Westones.

Sep 4, 2012 at 6:46 AM Post #4 of 7
You may want to make a switch to some Comply Foam P-Series Tips.