Total Noob. HD598, DT880, or something else?
Apr 19, 2013 at 5:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 32

Deceit

New Head-Fier
Hello Head-Fi. I've never given high-end audio equipment much thought because I've always been more keen to spend more money on PC-related gear, and not so much on audio. I think most of it went into expensive displays, actually... but as of right now I'm ready to take the plunge into the wonderful world (or so I've been told) of Head-Fi. I don't want to bore you so I'll get to the crux of this post.

First, it's hard to say exactly "what I am looking for." My understanding of audiophile terminology is quite amateur, even though I do have the glossary open on another page. 

Second, I'm hoping to end within a budget of $250 - 300 USD. I can go higher, but since I don't actually know what "high mid-range" or "really high-end" headphones sound like, I probably won't be missing out on much. Ignorance is bliss, I suppose.

Third, my musical tastes. They primarily revolve around a weird collection of electronica (mostly trance and industrial), metal (mostly very heavy post/avant-garde/sludge/doom, power/symphonic/melodic death), classical (a lot of Baroque & Romantic era stuff, a little less Classical, some more modern e.g. Beethoven, Wagner, Chopin, Bach, Rachmaninoff). 

The way I understand it so far, is that certain characteristics of certain headphones are actually anathema to one another, e.g. a "dark" sounding headphone cannot possibly be "bright" as well. Correct me if I am wrong.

Where does this leave me? I suppose it's simple enough to say that I love the midrange, and I love bass. Hell, I love everything as I've been trained as a classical pianist for the past 14 years or so of my life. I love things that are natural sounding, and I suppose I feel comfortable in saying I love a "big soundstage" even though I don't even know what a "big soundstange" sounds like comparatively to a small one, because more than anything I AM A NOOB.