The right to bear arms
Feb 15, 2006 at 11:50 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

Lavalamp

100+ Head-Fier
Do you own a firearm?

Have you ever fired a shot in anger?

I live in a society with very stringent gun controls, and I'm curious to hear about other people's experiences.

Feb 15, 2006 at 12:37 PM Post #2 of 25
YEP -

Wife and I have concealed weapons permit, and we carry everywhere. The Wife and Daughter and I were just at the range yesterday, doing our twice monthly practice, keeping sharp - haven't even cleaned the weapons yet. We each typically shoot between 100 and 200 rounds each session.

Do a search on "gun, guns, and/or weapons" at this site, and I am sure you will find a lot of reading on my opinion and everyone with an opinion who felt like posting.

I reload my own ammo. I am a Range Safety Officer at the local gun range, I teach shooting and gun safety at the range, and have apprenticed with a Gunsmith for a period of time. I have taken several training courses, the first of which I took in about 1971, while I was in the United States Merchant Marine Academy. There I was on the Rifle and Pistol Team.

I buy them, have sold a few of them (Long ago), and have traded them. All my family's guns are locked up (except our carry pieces) in a large, heavy, bolted to the foundation, fire rated, armored safe. the only times that my weapon is out of my reach is when I enter places where it is prohibited by law, and then it is locked in a travel safe not too far away. My carry weapon is loaded at all times, except for cleaning (usually twice a week).