The future of electrostatic speakers - Graphene
Aug 22, 2009 at 10:05 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

chobint

100+ Head-Fier
Graphene
Graphene - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A ridiculously strong, conductive and apparently stable material produced in labs, is stronger than titanium, more flexible than steel, and is conductive enough to be touted as the future replacement for the modern microchip.

The first two things my mind jumped to were:
1) Incredibly light vehicles (planes, sports/race cars, bikes, etc)
2) Incredibly light membranes inside of electrostatic speakers.

I have no experience with ribbon tweeters (or stats for that matter), but the general buzz on the net seems to be "Wow these sound incredible, but they blow SO EASILY!!!". I can only imagine the power handling, quickness and durability of a speaker made from graphene.

It's a long shot in the dark, but who knows. 20 years ago computers could hardly put out 256 colors, and now we are struggling to write programs parallelized/optomized enough to utilize all the cores on modern supercomputer.

Aug 22, 2009 at 11:25 PM Post #3 of 13
Is it similar to carbon fiber?

ES speakers have a long way to go, especially in soundstage, lower-frequency, and placement. But you can't argue with clarity and sonics...

Aug 22, 2009 at 11:31 PM Post #4 of 13
Quote:

Originally Posted by DeusEx /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Is it similar to carbon fiber?

ES speakers have a long way to go, especially in soundstage, lower-frequency, and placement. But you can't argue with clarity and sonics...

It's a 2-D sheet of carbon atoms.

Honestly, I don't think that it has applications on a macro-scale. It may be a very strong substance, but keep in mind, what is strong on a scale of atom is not as effective on a larger scale (see spider silk).

Aug 22, 2009 at 11:58 PM Post #6 of 13