Taking another step towards perfection
Nov 29, 2009 at 11:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

Sephael

Head-Fier
Hi guys!

I've been using my EP-630 for quite a while now, and it seems that the left earphone is kind of broken.. kind of less audible or something, i dont know.

Anyways, my question is:

What would you recommend to someone after the ep 630? Something a little bit more expensive but with better sound quality too
smily_headphones1.gif

My music taste is very wide - Sephael’s Music Profile – Users at Last.fm As you can see on my last.fm profile.

Nov 29, 2009 at 11:54 PM Post #2 of 20
Have you checked if there is any ear wax behind the behind the metal mesh? Your left earphone might be 'kind of less audible' because the driver is blocked by some buildup of earwax.

Nov 30, 2009 at 12:04 AM Post #3 of 20
Check out RE2+Fiio E5 combo, SoundMagic PL50's, NuForce NE-7M`s and MEElectronics Ai-M6. I am no expert but these are well regarded in these forums. I bought the first one recently, and I am pretty happy about it. You should know though, they don`t have too much bass, which I regard as a good thing, especially after the boomy EP-630`s.

Also you should read this awesome review round-up:

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f103/m...7-09-a-453836/

Nov 30, 2009 at 9:52 AM Post #4 of 20
So I've been reading up on the IEMs and decided to pick one of these:

Cyclone PR1 Pro

Soundmagic PL50 (i'm a little concerned with the design of the tips...single flange, a quite flat to top that
frown.gif
Are those tips smaller than those of ep630s or is it just me?)

i MIGHT be getting head-direct RE0... But that depends on how much is the delivery going to rape my wallet and if it's really worth the money without any amp (for the time being).

The main problem is, it's really hard to get any of these here in Europe. I COULD buy them from ebay/amazon/headroom, but the delivery is just..insanely long and/or expensive
frown.gif

Nov 30, 2009 at 9:58 AM Post #5 of 20