Sure SE215 upgrade
Jun 16, 2013 at 12:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

sam-c

New Head-Fier
Hi guys,

Once again I'm back looking for recommendations. I like SE215s in many ways but the sound quality just isn't good enough for me to use on a day-to-day basis, although they are fine for the gym which is what I was after at the time.

In terms of what I like about them; I like the over-the-ear cable which is stiff around the ear, I also like the fact the monitor sits inside the ear as opposed to sticking out. My monster turbines stick out and it means they just fall out and are quite uncomfortable. I also like how comfortable the SE215s are and how well they isolate noise. 

Like I said I'm just looking for something with a bit more from the sound quality. I'm not very good at describing the sound signature I'm after but I love the sound signature of my AKG K550s which I know is a closed over-ear can so not directly comparable its the sort of sound I like as I like clarity and detail but also good amounts of bass as I predominantly listen to EDM and similar genres 

I'm looking to spend between £150 ($235) and £200 ($315) give or take.

Any help much appreciated as always! 

Regards

Sam

Jun 16, 2013 at 2:21 PM Post #2 of 11
Atrio MG7 and Audio Technica CKS1000 are among the best IEM for EDM music and similar genres. 

Jun 16, 2013 at 4:03 PM Post #3 of 11
You could try the Yamaha EPH 100. It can be OTE worn. In terms of clarity and detail they're better. Equally the Vsonic GR07 Bass Edition. But I suppose the natural SE215 upgrade is the SE535.

Jun 17, 2013 at 4:51 PM Post #4 of 11
The Atrio's just dont do it for me, they look pig ugly :/ I'm not so concerned with asthetics but I really dont like the look of those. 

The CKS1000s appear to be a little hard to get hold of in the UK although I will keep having a look and will read up a bit more on them.