Starting up a music room need help with amps!! Thanks in advance!
Jul 10, 2011 at 11:11 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

Swatcsi

100+ Head-Fier
I will be moving soon and there is a small rectangular room in the basement and will be setting up a dedicated music room inside. I will be setting up 4 bowers and wilkins CM9 and 2 Bowers and Wilkins PV1 subwoofers. I am also planning to buy one or two of these following headphones: Sennheiser HD800, Beyer Dynamic Tesla T1, or Denon D7000. I would like to know what kind of amps I need for the headphones i.e. tube vs solid state and make/model. A good DAC, and a reciever that can output to two subs. If you have any other speaker/headphone preferences feel free to post them! thanks! Also do i need a amp for the speakers? I'm a newbie in the audiophile world currently all I have is the Shure SRH840, I feel if I'm gonna set up a music room i might as well do it right, and the best it can be.

Jul 11, 2011 at 3:22 AM Post #2 of 15
What's your budget?

I can't be of too much help here, but if you get the HD-800, consider a good tube amp. My personal favorite is the Zana Deux. A great fit with the HD-800 and it makes a fine two-channel preamp, as well.

Jul 11, 2011 at 4:35 AM Post #3 of 15
Buy any McIntosh amps.

Jul 11, 2011 at 5:35 AM Post #4 of 15
If you have this much money to throw around for a dedicated room, i HIGHLY recommend you consult with a custom installer.  They will be able to help you out not only with the amps and such, but also with room treatments so you get the most out of the speakers.  10% of the money spent on this will yield returns easily exceeding double the potential sound quality, instead of stuffing your room with the most expensive gear you can get without attention to the room itself

Jul 11, 2011 at 10:27 AM Post #6 of 15

Quote: