SoundMagic PL-12 Review + Mod
May 26, 2013 at 6:40 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

SoundN00b

New Head-Fier
Hello all, 

This is my first attempt at a review as I'm fairly new to the audiophile world. I got the SoundMagic PL-12 mostly as a gym and outdoor IEMs because I got tired of the cheap 10$ Sony ones I bought at a local shop a while back which would make my ears bleed :)

Here is the link to them at Mp4nation
Price: $14.50

This review is based on approximately 8 hours of break in and the following mods:

1. Removed the grill from the tunnel
2. Inserted a small piece of foam into the tunnel to protect the driver
3. Put on bi-flanges

The idea is from another post on the forums here I believe.

Pre-mod Sound:

I will keep this short since I didn't like the sound prior to the mods very much. Out of the box they sounded very grainy and muffled with non existent bass which I kind of expected from reading around. Breaking them in will remove the grainyness and open them somewhat but they will still lack in the bass department. The highs quite clear overall and present no harshness unlike my previous cheap IEMs although they cut off somewhat short and lack vibrance. They don't extend as much as it should to provide that tingle and precise detail you would want. The mids are quite forward and vocals are very present but still a little muffled. The soundstage has decent width but lacks depth, as for the bass it feels very flat without any thump or texture to it.

The Mods:
The idea here was to open the sound more, increase the sound stage in hopes of more depth, remove some of the mid muffle and increase the bass

Post-mod Sound: