So uh, how insane do your friends think you are for getting into the high end headphone game?
Nov 27, 2009 at 4:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

grape ape

100+ Head-Fier
I've been buying mid-fi and hi-fi headphones for about 10 years starting off with grado sr-80's and I've gone through all of the upper-end headphones of major manufacturer's (senn, grado, alessandro, AKG, AT et al). I've owned a few headphone preamps, portable amps, interconnects, tried to understand burn-in, all of it. One thing that's remained constant is that my fiends and especially girlfriends have thought and still think I'm insane for getting into this hobby. I'm not arguing with them. At my income level I probably am nuts for spending too much on gear.

How do your friends, family or partners feel about the hobby?

Nov 27, 2009 at 5:05 PM Post #2 of 31
It is looked at as good by my friends. They know that without a distraction I may use my intellect for evil ways resulting in the end of the world.

Nov 27, 2009 at 5:12 PM Post #4 of 31
Quote:

Originally Posted by 3X0 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
They tell other people that don't know me that they know a guy who spent over a thousand dollars on headphones.

OOH, that's a good one. I should have put that in the poll options. I've been that person before too. I haven't spent a grand on headphones yet but I'm sure that it'll happen one day.

Nov 27, 2009 at 5:42 PM Post #6 of 31
I don't really see my situation but voted "dude, you're nuts".
smily_headphones1.gif

Nov 27, 2009 at 5:48 PM Post #7 of 31
They think I'm pretty insane and that it's a huge waste of money. It usually goes something like this:

"So my tube amp is coming in today, I can't wait"
"Oh cool, is that for your surround sound system?"
"No, it's for my headphones"
"O_o What the hell is wrong with you? Hey Bob, guess what he just bought for his HEADPHONES!"