Simple OptoPlay Mod... WOW!!!
post-780885
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
So I own an Audiotrak/ESI OptoPlay 2.0...

http://www.audiotrack.net/esi/php/optoplay.php

Well, I typed this whole long post and then somehow I pressed back on my keyboard so I lost everything. To make things short...

I took the MS6308 (Mosa Electronics) opamp/headphone driver out and just connected the in to out on the unit, and when connected to the PPA, the sound is just phenomenal.

I would say this is even better than the Echo MIA MIDI I had before. Although I can't do A/B this is clearly the best I've ever heard.

So basically I reduced the number of opamps in the path from 2 to 1, right? Well it sounds exactly like that, seems like a layer of filth has been removed from my music. Really, everything is just so much smoother yet so much more detailed, just very natural and fluid and just... REAL! Haha. I can't close my jaws right now..

Anyhow. I assume the same thing will work with the Transit as well?

Anyhow. Back to listening... I will post more impressions soon...
 
     Share This Post       
post-780886
Post #2 of 30

Glassman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
1,830
Reaction score
11
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Posts
1,830
Likes
11
any pictures of the inside? which DAC does it use? some AKM or Wolfson?
 
     Share This Post       
post-780889
Post #3 of 30

Haribo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
113
Reaction score
0
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Posts
113
Likes
0
     Share This Post       
post-780911
Post #4 of 30

Glassman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
1,830
Reaction score
11
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Posts
1,830
Likes
11
I wasn't expecting such info on Audiotrak's site and knowing OptoPlay I didn't even checked that site.. thanks for noting it..
 
     Share This Post       
post-780919
Post #5 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
Yup, it's the AK4353.

I will post some pics later, but not now... gotta enjoy the music first...
 
     Share This Post       
post-780935
Post #6 of 30

dip16amp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
430
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Posts
430
Likes
10
Was there any DC offset on the output of it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-780950
Post #7 of 30

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Sounds like the same type of results the RME bypass mod gives. I will have to do this for Jasper994 who has an Optoplay.
 
     Share This Post       
post-780952
Post #8 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by dip16amp
Was there any DC offset on the output of it?


Nope. Zero volts of DC.
 
     Share This Post       
post-781614
Post #9 of 30

McKajVah

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 23, 2004
Messages
55
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 23, 2004
Posts
55
Likes
10
Does anyone know how the AKM sound compared to PCM2702?

Hmmm...the optoplay seems to be cheap $59.
 
     Share This Post       
post-782263
Post #10 of 30

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
The question is, does it still drive headphones directly? or does the mod result in the necessity of a separate amp?
 
     Share This Post       
post-782273
Post #11 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jasper994
The question is, does it still drive headphones directly? or does the mod result in the necessity of a separate amp?


No, the OptoPlay can't drive headphones directly anymore. Even at full volume with E888 earbuds, the sound is faint at best.

But it does a terrific job at providing an amp with good signal!


If you want it to drive headphones, a good mod would be replacing the crap MS6308 with a better dual opamp that will be driven at 5V such as the OPA2132?
 
     Share This Post       
post-782294
Post #12 of 30

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by doobooloo
No, the OptoPlay can't drive headphones directly anymore. Even at full volume with E888 earbuds, the sound is faint at best.

But it does a terrific job at providing an amp with good signal!


If you want it to drive headphones, a good mod would be replacing the crap MS6308 with a better dual opamp that will be driven at 5V such as the OPA2132?



That might be a very good idea... thank you!
 
     Share This Post       
post-782867
Post #13 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jasper994
That might be a very good idea... thank you!



Keep us updated with the results!
 
     Share This Post       
post-782939
Post #14 of 30

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
Peter,

Any opinions? Have you heard/read anything about the op amp he's talking about?
 
     Share This Post       
post-782952
Post #15 of 30

doobooloo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
2,544
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Posts
2,544
Likes
11
Actually...

The OPA2132 probably won't work since it requires +/- 2.5V...

Hmm. What could work in this position?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top