Should I get a DAP?
Nov 21, 2023 at 1:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

KaiFi

500+ Head-Fier
I've never owned a DAP before. I've always just listened to music from my laptop + portable DAC/amp + over-ear headphones. But I'm beginning to question the setup I've been using for the past ten years.

I've always been interested in DAPs, but to me they always seemed quite expensive and geared toward IEMs. I really have no intention of using IEMs as they just don't work for me. Would getting a DAP be worth it if I'm planning on using one with full-size headphones?

Also, although 90% of my listening would be from streaming services, which I'm sure are available on most DAPs, I'd also have some local files and I don't really know how well DAPs handle local files either.

Can anyone more familiar with DAPs give me any advice?

Nov 21, 2023 at 1:39 PM Post #2 of 19
I owned few mid tier DAP's and sold them, way to heavy for me on the go. I mainly stream music too and the interface of Shanling/Fiio DAP's felt a bit sluggish compared to iphone. When auditioning for HP's had a chance to listen through higher end DAP SP2000, while sounding good it's not worth the cost to me. There are plenty battery powered dac/amps for semi portable use which gives much better bang for $. A big fan of dongles though. You can plug it into laptop/iphone without worrying that firmware can gets outdated. When I really need portability I just stick with bluetooth dongle as I don't mind a decrease in SQ on the go.

Nov 21, 2023 at 2:15 PM Post #3 of 19
I've never owned a DAP before. I've always just listened to music from my laptop + portable DAC/amp + over-ear headphones. But I'm beginning to question the setup I've been using for the past ten years.