Sennheiser HD495 still alive?
Sep 20, 2007 at 3:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

dimm0k

100+ Head-Fier
Anyone out there with a pair of these? I've had mine for a while now and while I do enjoy the sound it produces I'm not too happy about getting the pads on them replaced so I'm wondering if anyone out there with these headphones have found ways around replacing these hard to find pads.

Sep 20, 2007 at 8:21 PM Post #3 of 10
Hey dimm0k what amp are you using to drive your 495s?

Sep 21, 2007 at 12:19 AM Post #4 of 10
When I bought these headphones back in the day I didn't do much research so I was under the impression that headphones were pretty much all the same. I have not used these headphones for much since leaving college in 2001 and when I do I've had them connected to my computer's headphone jack. I'm still new to all this headphone business so I currently have a cheap CMoy off eBay...

I was actually on the Sennheiser site last night but couldn't get past adding the pads to my cart... looks like it's fixed now. Sucks that there's no replacement pad for the headband though... Anyway thank you for the reminder!

Sep 21, 2007 at 12:54 AM Post #5 of 10
As I recall, the 495's were pretty power hungry to sound their best. Using them straight out of a portable player couldn't cut it. But give them a decent basic amp, like a CMOY or HR Airhead, and they opened up nicely.

Sep 21, 2007 at 1:14 AM Post #6 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by jpelg /img/forum/go_quote.gif
As I recall, the 495's were pretty power hungry to sound their best. Using them straight out of a portable player couldn't cut it. But give them a decent basic amp, like a CMOY or HR Airhead, and they opened up nicely.