Senn HD-555 Cable options
Mar 29, 2006 at 4:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Horatio

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Posts
15
Likes
0
Hi there. I've had a look around for some cable choices for my Sennheiser HD-555 'phones and I can't seem to find anything. Maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places?

The main reason is that I'd like a shorter cable but I'm interested in any options available.

Also, are there any accessories for the 'phones like I see for the HD-650s?

Many thanks!

Greg
 
Mar 29, 2006 at 5:40 PM Post #2 of 10

cmirza

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 31, 2005
Posts
1,145
Likes
10
The cord on the HD555 is hardwired. The only way you could replace it/shorten it is to diy or find someone on Head-Fi that you could send your headphones to and would do the recabling/retermination for you.
 
Mar 30, 2006 at 1:48 AM Post #5 of 10

Horatio

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Posts
15
Likes
0
oh OK....but it doesn't need de-soldered; I just pulled the cable out myself. I took picrtures which I can post if you'd like.....
In any case, it sounds like any options are pretty much up to me

Thanks again!

Greg
 
Mar 30, 2006 at 4:37 AM Post #6 of 10

Senn20

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 5, 2005
Posts
552
Likes
11
To do the job right there is a little soldering involved. It's best to get rid of the connectors and solder the new wire directly to the drivers.
 
Apr 3, 2006 at 3:45 AM Post #9 of 10

Horatio

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Posts
15
Likes
0
They work just fine.

I'm a newbie (like no one noticed
biggrin.gif
) so could someone give me a really good explanation on what you folks mean by "hardwired"? To me it means that something is permanently fixed (as in directly soldered) to something else. Everything else is connected by....connectors, I guess.

Here's the pictures I took;






Thanks, as always!

Greg
 
Aug 25, 2018 at 3:18 PM Post #10 of 10

desmo975

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Posts
7
Likes
0
Location
Barcelona
I also have hd555 and I would like to know if it is possible change the connector to a balanced output. there are 4 cable:
red = right? left? + or -?
blue = right? left? + or -?
white = right? left? + or -?
black = right? left? + or -?

anyone have tried to mod the hd55 to balanced?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top