Schiit Happened: The Story of the World's Most Improbable Start-Up
post-15040968
Post #48,016 of 66,221

Pietro Cozzi Tinin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
3,711
Reaction score
8,261
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Posts
3,711
Likes
8,261
Age
56
A wise man once said, "Continually worrying about the Next Big Thing leaves you empty handed."
Now that makes me wonder what that first big thing, that he's not having in his hands, is, because most men are left standing with their bananas in their hands.
 
post-15041024
Post #48,018 of 66,221

mp29k

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
164
Reaction score
222
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Posts
164
Likes
222
Perfect. The lack of bass is actually good thing for me because my wife hears when I listen from another room and asks me to reduce the volume. Extra mids can improve the sound at the max volume that is still not bothering others. Freya S should be a perfect match.
But I'm still waiting for Rag 2 reviews for better picture.
Please share how the pairing of Freya S and Aegir is when you get them. That is my intended next step (upgrade Saga to Freya S)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15041091
Post #48,019 of 66,221

judson_w

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 20, 2018
Messages
375
Reaction score
674
Location
Bellingham, WA
Joined
Apr 20, 2018
Location
Bellingham, WA
Posts
375
Likes
674
@Jason Stoddard - A minor wording issue with the Saga S/+ and Freya S/+ Spec pages. The Saga ones state:

Inputs: 5 RCA pairs, selectable via front switch or remote
Outputs: 2 RCA pairs, selectable via front switch or remote
Given what "selectable via front switch or remote" means for the inputs, it makes it sound like you can select which pair of RCA outputs you want running rather than you can select whether it is passive or buffered output.

The Freya pages also state that the outputs can be selectable via front switch or remote.

Perhaps for the Sagas, it could say something like
"Outputs: 2 RCA pairs, both active while preamp is on
Passive or Active stages selectable via front switch or remote"

And the Freya S having "Gain stages selectable via front switch or remote" and Freya + having "JFET and Tube Stages selectable via front switch or remote".

I apologize if this has been brought up before; I did search this thread of "selectable via front switch or remote" and found nothing.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: motberg and Rensek
post-15041095
Post #48,020 of 66,221

Androxylo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
34
Reaction score
6
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Posts
34
Likes
6
It's definitely not completely void of bass, lol. I mean the overall sound feels full to me. Just wish it had a bit more of the fun low-end pep that Vidar had.
Also, when someone is at home I mostly listen for classical music, because it's usually not using much of low end. So nobody hears me. After your posts I guess Aegir should be much better at classical than Vidar, because its main weakness is not in play here.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15041130
Post #48,021 of 66,221

Pietro Cozzi Tinin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
3,711
Reaction score
8,261
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Posts
3,711
Likes
8,261
Age
56
Perfect. The lack of bass is actually good thing for me because my wife hears when I listen from another room and asks me to reduce the volume. Extra mids can improve the sound at the max volume that is still not bothering others. Freya S should be a perfect match.
But I'm still waiting for Rag 2 reviews for better picture.
You should file for divorce pronto.
 
post-15041150
Post #48,022 of 66,221

RickB

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
2,337
Reaction score
3,918
Location
Bad Simulation
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Location
Bad Simulation
Posts
2,337
Likes
3,918
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Rensek
post-15041154
Post #48,023 of 66,221

leonthebumme

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
88
Reaction score
225
Location
Seattle
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Location
Seattle
Posts
88
Likes
225
Also, when someone is at home I mostly listen for classical music, because it's usually not using much of low end. So nobody hears me. After your posts I guess Aegir should be much better at classical than Vidar, because its main weakness is not in play here.
Aegir sounds great with classical. One other thing to consider is the efficiency of your speakers. I don't know how well a single Aegir would perform with lower efficiency speakers.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15041167
Post #48,024 of 66,221

Pietro Cozzi Tinin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
3,711
Reaction score
8,261
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Posts
3,711
Likes
8,261
Age
56
Or, you know, he can use this new-fangled invention called headphones.
Now that's a modern touch. I like it.
It's a momentarily electronic divorce.
 
post-15041169
Post #48,025 of 66,221

Ableza

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
13,946
Location
Valley of the Sun
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Location
Valley of the Sun
Posts
4,239
Likes
13,946
Now that's a modern touch. I like it.
It's a momentarily electronic divorce.
It's the same lifestyle hack that has kept me married to the current wife for 25 years. :)
 
post-15041614
Post #48,027 of 66,221

earnmyturns

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 1, 2015
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
3,076
Location
SF Bay Area
Joined
Aug 1, 2015
Location
SF Bay Area
Posts
1,940
Likes
3,076
I'm debating buying the yggy a2, but if there's a new dac/streamer coming soon I would regret not waiting ?
Multiple past discussions indicated that Schiit are unwilling to get into the streamer software support mess. As for new DACs, Mike mentioned some new experiments recently on his thread. Whether they'll yield anything, time will tell. And earlier he had talked about the Unison USB board under test, which might bring the USB input of the current Schiit modular DACs to the top of the input choices.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15041785
Post #48,028 of 66,221

Derrick Swart

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
946
Reaction score
1,066
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Posts
946
Likes
1,066
Need some advice. I am in the fortunate situation that the termites ate my house. No joke, but on the bright side: gives me a new floor and electricity in my listening room. Dedicated groups for my amps and dac will make an improvement but to go even further; any recommendation on the circuit breakers to use? I understood that it is best to avoid the automatic ones.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: US Blues
post-15041933
Post #48,029 of 66,221

Timster

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2017
Messages
425
Reaction score
926
Location
Ballarat, Australia
Joined
Mar 24, 2017
Location
Ballarat, Australia
Posts
425
Likes
926
but to go even further; any recommendation on the circuit breakers to use? I understood that it is best to avoid the automatic ones.
All circuit breakers are automatic, but when in the "On" position are passing the power through just like a switch.
If you didn't want any "automatics" in the path, you would need to use fuses not breakers, but I'm not sure they would be allowed now, depends on the local regs for the supply.
Circuit breakers would also be hard wired, whereas fuses would have exposed contacts and possible corrosion over time.
Your local supply regs may also require an earth leakage.residual current devices.... these too are automatic and detect current flow to ground and shut off the power.... There are an important safety device.

Honestly, I don't think you (or anyone) would notice the difference with or without Breakers/RCDs/Fuses. So for sure, get dedicated supply lines/circuits to the room but that would be it for me. Of course, YMMV :)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Paladin79
post-15041934
Post #48,030 of 66,221

Pietro Cozzi Tinin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
3,711
Reaction score
8,261
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Location
Delft, The Netherlands
Posts
3,711
Likes
8,261
Age
56
Multiple past discussions indicated that Schiit are unwilling to get into the streamer software support mess. As for new DACs, Mike mentioned some new experiments recently on his thread. Whether they'll yield anything, time will tell. And earlier he had talked about the Unison USB board under test, which might bring the USB input of the current Schiit modular DACs to the top of the input choices.
It wouldn't surprise me if they trashed that principle and made a transport/dac.
Software and updates are easily outsourced. They did that with part of the design of SOL too.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: ScubaMan2017

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 22, Guests: 55)

Top